We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“plastic Bhuddas on your way and beautiful monastery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze)

Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze)
Ranked #18 of 808 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A steep climb to reach, but efforts are rewarded with over 12,000 Buddhas both outside and inside the temple. There is no admission fee. A small restaurant at the top offers refreshments, but bring your own water for the trail.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“plastic Bhuddas on your way and beautiful monastery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

You start your way up with many many maaaany steps up. Along your way there are one by one placed statues of Buddha. All different with different face expressions, sizes of belly on pose. However they all are made of plastic and some are a little damaged, but hey! It is still impressive and most likely you will not find it on a typical tourist guides. As I have heard it is due to reason that place does not meet some safety regulations. Well, I did not find anything dangerous there, apart from mosquitos who were eating me badly, but I am delicious so that was expected :) So if you taste good you better get some spray to fight them.

The monastery is truly beautiful and you go for a predicting your future there. Basically you pick the jar full of wooden sticks you knee in front of the "altar" and thinking your questions (rather it is love, work or else what) you shake the jar until one stick falls out. Then you go with this stick to the lady working there pay some money sorry don't remember how much but it was a little) and get a piece of paper with written Chinese characters. You must have Chinese speaker with you as then you go to the predicted who is reading your luck or lack of it in future, but he speaks Cantonese...

It is a beautiful place to visit, go for it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anna z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    602
    141
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A worthwhile climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a place we always take our visitors to. It is a side to Hong Kong we rarely see. The climb is a long one, but there are benches on the way and it is not too steep. I am not fit, but can make it to the top. Don't forget to take water.
I love the different Buddhas, they are so cheerful

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SerenSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Worth taking the train out to Sha Tin and climbing the steps. Lots to see at the top and great views. Take plenty of water and don't be fooled by the fake monks begging at the bottom of the steps.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bongoheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pack a water bottle or ten”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My sister and I started out by asking the concierge of the nearby mall where the entrance of the monastery was. She showed us a narrow foot path with a small yellow sign signalling the way to the entrance. The first golden buddha you see marks the start of the climb. Yes, climb! It's a long way up to the actual monastery. The path is lined with different buddhas that watch over the long, winding stairway. How far up is it? If you're in the bottom, you can't see the end of the trail - not until the 60th buddha!
Our mistake was visiting the place in September at 12 noon in what felt like 100 degree weather. My sister made it to the final bend, but when she saw that the last few meters were the steepest, she waved the white flag and opted out. I made it all the way up and it was worth the climb. The place was fantastic. The buddhas ranged in size from tiny to gigantic and the atmosphere was solemn. In order to fully appreciate it, this place has to be witnessed first hand.
A few tips: Avoid going going in the middle of summer, in the hottest time of the day without a bottle of water. This is an active monastery where people come to worship, be courteous and observe the rules: no food, no turning the place into the park, and speak quietly.
Definitely pencil in this place when you take a trip to Hong Kong.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rayfloret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful golden statues lining the route up to the monastery. Quite a climb in the heat of the summer!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze) also viewed

 

Been to Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing