We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Shopping destination”
Review of Mongkok

Mongkok
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.70*
and up
Mongkok Foodie Tour
Ranked #31 of 819 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its busy streets and shopping
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Ultimate Shopping destination”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The place is always busy and heavily crowded. It is great for shopping. Bargaining is a MUST and do not hesitate. Also do not compare the price with your country since it is damn cheaper in HK. Also be careful of your belongings since it is heavily crowded.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Arvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    1,139
    424
    43
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place To Visit”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wauv Wauv Wauv! What life and atmosphere. We have been there many times but it never ceases to amaze me. Just love it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Koh Shen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great street shopping. Do NOT be affraid to bargin with the vendor. Asking price is always high! Had a great time. Found some interesting trinkets and toys for the grandkids

Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Place living up to it's Name as the Busy Corner”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my wife spend a day exploring the Mong Kok area on 10th Dec 2012. We took the Silka Far East Hotel’s free shuttle bus to the Langham Place in Mong Kok, a shopping mall/hotel/office complex. This shopping mall caters more for up market products and there is an air-con food court with a wide range of food choice located at the 4th storey of the shopping mall. Mong kok is a very popular place with both the tourists and the locals and the shops in Mong Kok cater for both the “rich and the poor” as the prices of the merchandise offer for sales stretches from one end to the other.

The Ladies Market (famed for it’s ladies products) is one of the main attractions in Mong Kok. The stalls along the Tung Choi Street and Fa Yuen Street is a typical sight of a oriental street market i.e. there is a wide range of merchandise on sales and they are priced very cheap. Everyone passing through these stalls would be tempted to pick up some merchandise either for themselves or for their love ones back home.

There are also many eateries the Mong Kok and the surrounding area and we ended up trying out the Barbecue Pork Rice, Panfried Leeks Dumplings, Black Sesame Paste and the Supreme Beef Brisket Soup before calling it a day. Personally, I enjoyed my day spent at Mong Kok and would recommend my friends to make a trip there when they visit Hong Kong.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyTay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A quick tip for camera geeks from a local”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

FIRST OFF: Mong Kok is one of the most crowded places on earth. No joke. If you want to dodge the crowds, best go on a weekday before 4pm!! I do, and I even live there.

When I have foreign friends visit they always want to hit up Mong Kok for the latest gear.
And here I'm going to list the places to go in case you get bewildered by the crowds, noise, lights...
1) Wing Shing Photo Supplies (at the top of MK on Sai Yeung Choi Street - the main shopping street). I check out their prices now and again, and it's fairly average. They sell genuine stuff but their service is a bit stiff. This is because of their status in the area. Otherwise feel free to test cameras etc
2) Sim City - is a mall with a tiny entrance off the main shopping street. Inside has got probably 10 various sized camera stores. The one to look at is Tin Cheung which is a franchise. Their prices are generally cheaper than Wing Shing but have less stock. There are also other smaller stores selling Chinese generic gear like filters, step rings, cheap tripods etc. If you're into used gear there are a few stores that sell. They are legitimate but as always caveat empour.
3) Broadway/Fortress etc - These are the giant electronic chain stores and they have at least two on the main street. I've never bought from them before as photography is not their specialty but sometimes they have good deals.
PS: There are no public bathrooms in the area but there is one in the largest Broadway store beside McDonalds.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank edwin_lee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongkok also viewed

 

Been to Mongkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing