We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Will Stay Here Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanson Place Hotel
Ranked #19 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We Will Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

This is the second time that we are staying at Lanson Place, Hong Kong. We loved its location in Causeway Bay-a stone's throw from the Causeway Bay MTR, great food outlets at Jardine's Bazaar, good shopping at Times Square. The room is big for HK standards and there is a small kitchenette if you need to heat up food in the microwave or cook a meal. This time, our room was in an L-shaped configuration. The bedroom was a little tight but the living and study space was slightly bigger. The furnishings and fittings are still in good condition.
When we checked in for our stay, we were a little annoyed that we had to wait for our room to be ready even though it was 21/2 hours past the check-in time. I was a little taken aback too when one of the bath towels that I wanted to use had 5 holes on it. Nevertheless, the housekeeping team was prompt with providing us with good quality towels when we requested for it.
We will stay here again when we next visit HK.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Too close to other buildings
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culturevulture2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    429
    69
    17
    4
See reviews for
248
425
102
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

My first impression could not have been better - when arriving at the hotel at 9am after a long-haul flight from Australia, I was not only given a room straight away, but was also upgraded one category and invited to have breakfast right away.

All the staff I encountered were very courteous, professional and helpful. The room was lovely, with floor-to ceiling-windows and an inland view, which became spectacular at night. A very comfortable bed (more than enough pillows :), nice raindance-shower, swivel-flat-screen TV inserted in a mirror-wall, free fruit juices, water and cookies, complimentary broadband internet - I was amost reluctant to leave the room for exploring the city during my short stopover, but the location is so good that you just walk out of the door and are in the middle of everything.

The continental breakfast is taken in the lounge, sitting on sofas or upholstered chairs, which lends it a very casual atmosphere, but may be a bit uncomfortable for some. More fresh fruit and cheese wouldn't have hurt.

In summary I had a most enjoyable stay in a luxurious, but not over-the-top hotel. It is relaxed, comfortable, not stuffy or pretentious. Will definitely book again when next in Hong Kong!

  • Liked — Quiet luxury in a busy city
  • Disliked — That I spent only one night...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_J71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

We've been traveling to Hong Kong twice a year for the past few years, and each time we've stayed at a different hotel. All were nice, but none have compared with the Lanson Place for location, service, and quality of accommodations. From the moment that Cecilia checked us in, we felt completely at home. The assistant manager was an absolute delight, as was Andrew, the concierge who always seemed to know the right place to recommend for dinner. There's a number of very good restaurants nearby, and a movie theatre. Plus, it's not a long walk to either the metro or the Time Square shopping center, and only a short cab ride to the HK convention center. Unfortunately they don't have a restaurant, but they serve an excellent continental breakfast (included in the price), and there's a jazz duo that performs on weekends. On Sunday, after trying unsuccessfully to find a nearby protestant church service in English, we discovered that the Catholic church across the street offered a service at 11am that was completely in English. We decided to give it a try, and It was wonderful. This hotel is a gem. We recommend it highly, and will visit again soon. Lori and Barry, St. Petersburg, Florida

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Need better lighting in the bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SheasPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2007

We stayed at the Lanson Plc 2 nights & moved on to Disneyland Hotel after that. We booked the LP, after reading nice reviews, but we had a different experience. When we checked into the hotel, there was a power trip, but it took a while before the problem was identified & solved. We put in a request for 2 additional pillows during booking; we didn't get them. I had to make 2 calls to housekeeping, & it occurred to me they prob ran out of pillows, as the 2nd pillow was in fact a cushion in a pillow case ! We didn't mind the continental breakfast but it was uncomfortable eating from the sofas in the lounge lobby. Yes, hotel is clean & modern in design & staff are polite. But it lacked warmth & was clinical in the atmosphere. I tend to agree with one of the earlier reviewers over the functionality of the kitchen area and the lack of a bath tub - it really hit us hard when we realised there isn't any. Design of the room is awkward, & not great when you have young kids. There seems to be a lot of storage. With the kitchen & storage, the bedroom area is tiny. I would prob think this hotel works for the business travellers ; its got a nice biz cte. We were very much disapppointed ; fortunately we had a more relaxing & enjoyable time at the Disneyland Hotel (pls see separate review).

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — Design of the room, Lack of bathtub, Not comfortable bed & pillows, Location, Lack warmth
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

this place is a wonderful home in Hong Kong. We liked everyting about it!!
(specially the view at night, overlooking the citylights from our bed! nice)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 3Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

Lanson Place is a calm oasis, something I appreciate given Hong Kong's frenetic intensity.

It's location is ideal being in Causeway Bay. Somewhat unknown to taxis, suggest they take you to the Regal and from there the hotel is a 2 minute walk.

Checking in and out is simple without fuss.

The room is clean and comfortable and offers free cabled and wireless internet without any complications such as passwords/accounts.

The staff are genuinely friendly and speak English.

There is a great laundry 50m away (Keswick Street), open from 8am 7 days a week, 24 hr turnaround, maybe, and a bargain at HKD28 for a week's worth of washing.

Breakfast is simple, a bit limited in variety if staying more than 5 days but definitely edible and it's nice to get complimentary decent newspapers such as the Financial Times.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnSSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

Revisiting Hong Kong after many years we wanted to ensure that we got a decent place to stay at a reasonable rate. We booked directly with the hotel and were pleased with the price of approx. £120 a night. The hotel is tucked away near to the HK Regal. What we got was a wonderful room beautifully apportioned with a small lounge, kitchen, large bed and a shower room with wc. The main impression was of glass and, once you had got used to the fact that the toilet was also surrounded by glass (albeit shaded glass at the bottom) it became second nature. They have made great use of limited space with the flat screen TV in the centre of the room, swinging on a pivot so that it can be seen either in the lounge or from the bed.
The staff could not have been more helpful and, even though our credit card didn't swipe properly when we first got there (an over protective bank not following instructions!!) there were no problems and we were allowed until the following day to sort it out. The staff could not be more helpful at all times and the concierge(s) were extremely good in sorting out any requirements.
The hotel is situated to the east of Hong Kong but with the very efficient bus and subway system all points are easy to reach. Even the taxis are not too expensive.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a delight.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,361 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#16 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
TUVE
#22 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Property: Lanson Place Hotel
Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing