We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #91 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The family room is big enough for 4 persons. We had a wonderful and comfortable stay. I especially love the pool area..a great place for relaxation. Plus, the buffet dinner in Chef Mickey is superb! Kids would certainly enjoy staying in aplace surrounded by "mickey". ^_^

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT_Wandering_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Hollywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in march this year and receive a nice welcome back badge from reception. Previous we stayed at park view room to enjoy the fireworks from our window. Though that was nice, we felt the room feels a bit dark in the day. Our garden view room this time feels nice and bright prob because we experience very sunny weather. Rooms are perfectly adequate and beds comfortable. One negative was when we requested an extra towel for our child, there was a red stain on it and that was unacceptable as cleanliness is utmost importance so there are occasional lapses. Having say that, we will still return as it is convenient for Disneyland and having stayed on a few occasions, that was my first incident of stained towel so hopefully it doesn't happen again. As we stayed 3 nights, we used the pool this time and beside a lovely sloping pool, that was a powerful warm jacuzzi we enjoyed. Do note pool opening is seasonal.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank TeoLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had stayed in both Disneyland Resort (Oct 2012) and Hollywood Hotel (Sep 2013). I had noticed the differences in the atmosphere, recreation, restaurants, merchandise outlet, and resort design as these factors will determine one's choice.

a) Atmosphere
The atmosphere here is far better with visiting Goofy at the swimming pool at about 5.30pm but it is not frequent and does follow schedule. It just happened that Goofy came and had a swim and played with children at the pool, throwing balls, etc. This is important bcos Goofy's presence had given happiness to the kids (adults too). I don't get to see Disney characters in Disneyland resort though. There was also an appearance of Donald Duck in the lobby where kids queue up for the photoshot but again this was not following schedule.

Chef Mickey's appearance was all season, all day, which makes Hollywood Hotel having better atmosphere when it comes to "theme" for disney accomodation. I don't see any disney characters at all in Disneyland Resort.

b) Recreation
Swimming pool in both resorts are the same in size with a heated "spa" pool next to the swimming pool. The extra in Disneyland Resort is there is an indoor pool which Hollywood Hotel does not have. However, guests can go over for an indoor swim (in case there was typhoon which hotel management will shutdown outdoor pools).

In Hollywood Hotel, there is truly a lack of indoor activities...the Malibu Games Room is very small, barely can put 20 ppl. The makeshift kids colouring recreation and storytelling are all make shift activities for kids. I didnt go to the gymn (not sure if it exists).

There is a playground though, next to the swimming pool and it is small with just 2 slides. In my opinion, they should expand it to cater for so many kids in the hotel.

c) Restaurants
Both resorts have more than 3 restaurants, equally expensive and not to expect good food in return. Chef Mickey @ Hollywood Hotel is definitely a plus. You wont Mickey at any restaurants in Disneyland Resort though. Patronised the restaurants in both resorts, nothing much to say except....avoid if you can. In fact, I took MTR to Tsing Yi and had breakfast and dinner at Maritime Square for a much lower budget with good food.

d) Merchandise Outlets
Both resorts had 1 merchandise outlet selling the same thing at the disney park but lesser varieties. Meant for last minute shoppers. Nothing fanciful.

e) Resort Design
Hollywood Hotel is designed based on Hollywood theme but frankly I dont quite see how Hollywood it is except 2 cars are parked stationary at the garden part of the hotel, nothing fanciful. The hotel room is acceptable, smaller and has 3 types of views, I chosed park view so that can see fireworks.

Disneyland Resort is designed based on Victorian architecture and this you can see the way the deco and interior design, even in the lobby you can see chandeliers, huge windows, high ceiling at the lobby.Room is more spacious than Hollywood Hotel.

But I personally prefer Hollywood Hotel as the rooms are deco with disney cups, paintings and wall deco are all disney themes. U wont see this at the Disneyland Resort.

Bedding wise, double beds in Hollywood Hotel can actually sleep 2 adults per bed, hence it is possible to have 4 adults in a room.

COST
Finally, Hollywood Hotel is cheaper by at least HK$60-100. I chose Hollywood Hotel for the atmosphere, knowing disney characters are hidden and will make its appearance. This is important, otherwise why stay here?

HOW ABOUT STAYING IN HOTELS IN HK ISLAND?
In my opinion, hotels in HK island is so expensive that it may be worth to stay at Hollywood Hotel, though travel time at least (30mins) is wasted to get to Sunny Bay - Disneyland. I ever stayed in the considerably good hotel for family in TST and also Sheung Wan and it cost HK$250-$300 per night and the rooms are so small in TST/Sheung Wan which makes it worth to consider to stay at Hollywood Hotel (HK$220 promo).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Disney's hotel formula in America is replicated perfectly in Hong Kong. An underwhelming room offered at a high price on a beautifully landscaped property. This was definitely the "dumpiest" room I stayed at in Hong Kong as it felt like a cheaper hotel in America. Disney gets away with it because you are on their property and have convenient shuttle service to the Disneyland park.. This is a great place to stay your final night in Hong Kong before going to the airport.

The theme of the hotel and the landscaping are truly top notch as they are in most Disney hotels. I felt like I was back in good old California. The pool was very nice as was the hot tub. They have some fun "American" exhibits around the property such as 50's styles cars and other Hollywood-esque themes. A nice place to spend a few hours!

The rooms, as stated previously, are completely underwhelming. The beds are hard as a rock and the room is tiny overall. Want an iron and ironing board? Forget it! We had to request one from housekeeping but it was brought very quickly. You won't spend much time in the hotel room so maybe that's why Disney hotel rooms are typically disappointing no matter the location.

Service at this hotel is excellent. Check in, the baggage room, hotel restaurant, and shuttle service were quick and efficient. We had dinner at the lobby "lounge" and it actually had pretty decent food, another surprise that isn't typical of Disney food. They definitely appeal to western tastes with their menu selections.

Overall, I am glad I stayed here and it was worth an additional fee to face the city and the theme park as i could watch the fireworks from my room. Getting to the airport by taxi was a breeze the next morning so this is a wonderful final stop on a journey to Hong Kong. You can also get to the hotel very easily from anywhere in Hong Kong as they have a subway line that goes directly to the Disneyland park.

Disney was nearly empty the Thursday we went so it was a real treat. 5 minute waits all day to get on rides? Sign me up! This was a highlight of the Disney experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everyshadeofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you're young at heart or family with kids then this is one of the best hotel in HK to stay especially if you're going to visit Disneyland. The hotel never fail to excite us maybe because the kids are inlove with Minnie and Mickey Mouse.

Rooms were big enough for family of four since you'll find 2 big comfy beds. Everything is in accordance with the theme retro Mickey and I love the hotel detailing on it.

Bathrooms are okay and kiddie friendly since Tub is basically low with cute and matching toiletries. Complete Amenities were provided like blower, bathrobe, iron, ref, tv, coffee and tea facilities.

Service is good with shuttle that'll take you to the park at a regular basis. You should try Chef Mickey though a bit expensive but still worth to try.

All in all I love it though will try the other hotel next time since this is already our second time here. Kudos :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunawayMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited Disney and it was really comfortable to stay in this hotel. Access to disney park with free bus rides are very easy. No time wastage if you are visiting Disney for 2 days. Otherwsie travel from Hong Kong main island is very time consuming. The rooms are set with disney themes. The restaurant is also good with even option for Indian food. The check in process was little long and delayed due to over crowd and non availability of rooms. Pls book well in advance to get good rate and even availability. It gets filled very fast.

Room Tip: you can try sea facing room for better view but you dont have enough time at hotel to really enjoy t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKSBangalore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think the best advice is - look at everything from a kids perspective and you wont be disappointed. After 4 nights staying at the Holiday Inn in Kowloon receiving very grown up service - it does take a bit of getting used to staying in a Disney Hotel. However it wasn't as bad as I had expected and its location right near the park is perhaps the biggest drawcard. Saying that my 11 year old was in awe with the place, in particular having her photo taken with Chef Mickey at breakfast. The room itself was spacious enough, the beds comfortable and lots of little Disney amenities. We didn't eat in the main restaurant as it was full when we arrived, however grabbed a bite in the diner which was edible not incredible. The highlight of course was the buffet breakfast and photos with Mickey. The swimming pool is fantastic for kids, complete with cave and waterslide, which was very well supervised by 2 lifeguards. Overall I was happy with the hotel (we only stayed 2 nights which was enough) but would perhaps look at paying extra next time for Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacstar351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#58 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,972 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#181 of 721 in Hong Kong
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,047 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hollywood Hotel

Address: Lantau Island, Hong Kong Disneyland, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $202 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the glitz and grandeur of classic Hollywood at this richly appointed hotel. Be front-and-center during an international buffet with Mickey Mouse, "take 5" in the piano-shaped pool or stroll through a lush garden courtyard of vintage cars and famous landmarks. Combining stunning Art-Deco architecture with a dash of Disney magic, Disney's Hollywood Hotel invites you to stay in a place where you're the star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneys
Disney's Hollywood Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing