We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #90 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We LOVED the hotel! All the little Mickey and Disney touches really added to the magic that is Disneyland!! The breakfast was great, the rooms were excellent, and being able to watch the fireworks from the park view rooms was great, especially with little children! I don't think you would want to stay here for your entire time in HK, but whilst visiting Disneyland it is awesome!

Room Tip: Get a park view so you can watch the fireworks,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liv_skehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    765
    245
    59
    23
See reviews for
1,129
131
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hollywood hotel is great! It is slightly less expensive than the Disneyland Hotel and it has all the basics and is really clean and spacious in the rooms. There is some nice restaurants, but its mostly quick service. No character dining (only at Disneyland hotel). The pool is a lot of fun. THere is a water slide and the water is temperature controlled so you can swim in all seasons! The transport system is very efficient and quite quick. I would suggest this hotel if you are traveling with older kids and do not plan on spending much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

First time to visit the magic kingdom and travelled with wife and 2 kids 5&3. This was for the children and we wanted it to be as enjoyable and memorable for them (and us). So we agreed to spend more.

Location: 15 minutes from the airport and fare was reasonable (HK$ 130). One of only 2 hotels inside the park you cannot be any more convenient than that. Shuttle buses are constant and a trip to the park takes less than 8 mins on my count. Twice I had to go back (Papa I'm tired. /Mama I want to go the the bathroom) so this sort of nightmare was spared to me as we can just zip back anytime.

Check in/out: a few days before the trip we requested a check in earlier than 3pm and later than 11am checkout to coincide with our flights (our flight in was 9am)- they responded promptly that they couldn't. So that's that for customer service. There was a long line at check in luckily there's a tv Lounge for the kiddos playing Disney Cartoons so at least they were distracted and reigned in their obvious excitement to go to the park. TIP: buy park tickets here and charge to your room- you will be saved from trying to pull back running children later while you pay for park tickets

They do provide luggage storage so we dumped our stuff there and went to do what we came to do: Disneyland and returned 3pm for our check in

Rooms: for the price you paid you expect something better but I knew this was a disney hotel and centrally located so I was willing to let this one go. We requested and were given a queen bed so all 4 of us fit comfortably. View to the garden/pool/and see were very good from our top floor room (9th). The bathroom had cute disney items (soap, toiletries, paper cups slippers) that made the kids beam with smiles. Mini bar was standard fare, there's the usual complimentary bottled water so no complaints.

Food: ugh too pricey and too bland but then again we were willing to pay for a $50 cheeseburger and a $50 spaghetti. The Mickey inspired ketchup made my daughters smile so they were successful in making things easier. They gave free balloons too. TIP: the deli at the far corner of the ground floor near the pool is a more reasonable place for chow.

Staff: I've been all over China they still don't get what customer service is. This is a Disney Resort the least you can do is smile more often. Waiters are like robots, same as chambermaids. The only genuine smiles were from the doormen and luggage valets outside (Mr. Kim an elderly man was very friendly to my kids). But then again, this is China.

Links to the city: buses, taxis abound but we chose to take the Disneyland MTR right at the park entrance, a Disney inspired, one stop train service to Sunny Bay interchange. Kids love trains- they will love the Disneyland train even more.

Overall: if you have toddlers, HKG can be a daunting place to travel in.Staying within Disneyland will cost more definitely, but the peace of mind, convenience, and enjoyment factor of your children is priceless. For their 7th and 5th birthdays we will come back- and this is where we'll stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Mickey Mouse is all around. Convenient for children to enjoy the theme park survey and fun stuff. We bought two-day ticket to enter the park so we have a lot of time to explore the park. We were greeted by friendly staff, they took good care of our luggage, helping us with the check-in and attentive to your questions. The room is spacious, new and clean. Large-screen TV, two double-bed give you comfort. The bathroom is clean with amenities for kids too. Love the cute small towels folded with bow-tied to be small animals...my room had a bird and a rabbit. My child loves it too. Large Mickey metal wall decoration was gorgeous!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Trinidad, Benguet, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Date of stay: April 6-8, 2013

PROS:
1. Hotel is a 15 minute ride to and from the Hongkong International Airport, and, a 5 minute ride to and from the Disneyland Theme Park.
2. Hotel rooms, facilities, food and dining areas all have touches of the Disney trademark. Good and clean rooms, facilities and dining areas.
3. Hotel staff and crew are helpful and accomodating.
4. Hotel has an outside pool area.
5. Hotel has scenic views and places for various photo opportunities and to wile away the time.
6. Hotel has an outside playground area for kids.
7. Hotel provides a bus shuttle service (free of charge for guests) going to theme park and back to the hotel.
8. You can purchase Disney theme park entrance tickets at the hotel receptionist. They also provide foreign exchange currency services.
9. There is a Disney souveneir shop inside the hotel.
10.There is a place in the hotel where you can leave your bags or luggage while waiting for your room or waiting for your service going to the airport.

CONS:
1. Hotel is located far from the city and other business establishments. So one is left with no other alternative but to eat at the hotel or at the Disney theme park.
2. Food and dining at the hotel is very expensive (especially at Chef Mickey and Studio Lounge). There is also the Hollywood and Dine restaurant but it is also a pricey compared to other dining establishments in the city.
3. Although the hotel staff and crew speak basic english you have to really understand what they are saying since they speak in a garbled manner and with a heavy accent.
4. Mickey Mouse did not make an appearance (as advertised) during the two times we ate breakfast at Chef Mickey. There were also no appearance of other Disney characters inside the hotel the whole duration of our stay at the Hotel.
5. Room rates are a bit expensive (although cheaper than the nearby Disneyland Hotel) compared to other hotels in the city.
6. Check in time is 2:00 to 3:00 P.M. So if you arrive early at the hotel you have to wait until awhile.

Tips:
1. If you have money to spend and you want to enjoy the whole Disney experience then this Hotel (or the nearby Disneyland Hotel) is definitely for you. If you are on a budget try other cheaper hotels in the city.
2. Bring a three pronged socket with you for the charging of your phones and other devices since all of the outlets in the rooms have outlets built only for such kind of outlet. Also check if your are plugging your device at the 110V or 220V outlet since the hotel rooms have both to avoid any damage to your electronic devices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location of the hotel is good as it near to the disneyland and the services overall is average.they provide transportation to go to disneyland every 10 mins. I'm sorry to say the room is quite average but not worth the price.one more things most of the staff doesnt speak english. just stay there for one night dont have time to do adventure surround the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you can get over the price, it's a nice place to stay -- I was particularly taken with the shampoo and conditioners whose caps were little mouse ears. Those definitely went home as a souvenir along with the stacked paper coffee cups in three sizes (like Russian nesting dolls), think Dad, Mom, Kid -- which also went for the disposable slippers in Dad/Mom/Kid. I was a little confused about this until a friend pointed out that China has a one child per family policy and the light bulb went off.

Great modern rooms. Ice machine right down the hall.

I found the restaurants a little lacking:
-Fast serve with some fresh, some pre-packaged
-Buffet (Chef Mickey)
-Bar/Lounge with big screen running Disney movies

Had dinner in the Bar/Lounge and the food was good and the drinks strong. It was a little odd with all the parents and kids watching the movie playing. Personally I ate sitting at the bar rather than one of the tables.

Had breakfast in the fast serve -- they had a very strange interpretation of a "western breakfast" but it held me until I could take the free (and frequent) shuttle to the park.

Checked out before I took the shuttle to the park and left my baggage with the bell desk -- and they are efficient! One would hope so considering the number of bags they store each morning.

The theme of Disney Hollywood Hotel is very art deco, and they have done it tastefully. The other hotel on the property is more Victorian-era themed (and more expensive).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkStephenSouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#47 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#52 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hollywood Hotel

Property: Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Address: Lantau Island, Hong Kong Disneyland, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the glitz and grandeur of classic Hollywood at this richly appointed hotel. Be front-and-center during an international buffet with Mickey Mouse, "take 5" in the piano-shaped pool or stroll through a lush garden courtyard of vintage cars and famous landmarks. Combining stunning Art-Deco architecture with a dash of Disney magic, Disney's Hollywood Hotel invites you to stay in a place where you're the star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneys
Disney's Hollywood Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing