We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,241)
Filter reviews
2,241 results
Traveler rating
981
876
281
73
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
876
281
73
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef mickeymickey mousedisneyland parkstudio loungedisney characterspiano shaped poolshuttle bus to disneylanddisney storehidden mickeyshong kong disneylandgames roommagical staysunny bayhotel groundsenchanted gardencharacter breakfastswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,435 - 1,440 of 2,241 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We have just returned from our wonderful trip to Hong Kong and China. We stayed at Disney's Hollywood Hotel for 2 nights on Dec 31st - Jan 2nd, and again for one night on Jan 7th.

For the Dec 31 - Jan 2 trip my husband, 5 year old daughter and 3 year old son had a seaview room with 2 twin beds. Compared to our hotel in TST (Prince Hotel), it was considerably smaller but very, very clean and comfortable. One tip for travellers with small children - you can hire strollers from the hotel reception for $50HK per day. It is much better to hire them from the hotel rather than in the park as it is quite a walk from the shuttle bus to the park entrance - especially when your son weighs 18kg and insists on being picked up. We learnt this the hard way!! I could not fault the hotel on service or cleanliness. It was just excellent.

On our last morning we had the Character Breakfast in the Enchanted Garden Restaurant at the Disneyland Hotel. This was VERY overpriced and only 3 characters (Minnie Mouse, Goofy and Pluto) arrived in the 2 hour session. Because of the number of people in the restaurant only Minnie and Goofy came near us, and even then it was only for a couple of minutes. The food was overcooked and looked like it had been sitting there for a while - I would definitely give this a miss. We then caught a cab to the airport which cost about $158HK.

For our second trip, we also travelled with my Dad. As we had our Octopus cards for the MTR we caught the train from the airport to Disneyland. Big mistake if there are more than 2 adults!! It cost more than $70HK each adult and probably half that for the kids, so it would have been cheaper to get a taxi. Our trip back to the airport cost about $130HK in a cab.

This time we had garden view rooms, and when we checked in we were given adjoining rooms. I can honestly say that these rooms were just as good, so I wouldn't spend the extra money on seaview rooms. As it was quite late by the time we arrived, we ate dinner in the Lounge downstairs. The food was quite good and reasonably priced (not as expensive as I thought it would be)

All in all, I would definitetly recommend this hotel to my friends and am looking forward to going back again!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Except for the long check in (waited 45 minutes), everything else was great. Customer service from just about everybody was excellent. Room big enough to sleep 2 adults and 2 kids. Relatively big rooms for HK standards. They are short of their attendance targets thus is very eager to offer deals and free upgrades. No difference between 3 types of room other than view. If you don't plan on watching fireworks from room (much better to watch from park anyway), no point in paying more for the park view room. After taking their deals into consideration, it is quite reasonably priced to stay at the Hollywood Hotel. Breakfast and dinner buffets at Chef Mickey are expensive unless you got special deals but both offer excellent food. Would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeedyG-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed in Hollywood Hotel during its first month of operations when HK Disneyland just opened. So everthing was fantastic frm the reception, to the rooms and the buffet restaurant outlet. Disney characters were everywhere and kids can take photos with the characters to their hearts desire, my kids even played with Goofey at the swimming pool.

The food was not included in our package .The Mickey restaurant at the ground floor was pricey but the food selection was superb.They even had a special cake done for my youngest son who was celebrating his birthday on that day.

The room was not so big but the experience staying in a Disneyland hotel was magical.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Celebrating a daughter's 7th birthday is no mean task. For this particular birthday, we decided to celebrate it at Hong Kong Disneyland. Traveling with small children (aged 7 and 2) we decided to shell out a few more dollars and book at the Hollywood Hotel instead of a city hotel for convenience's sake.

Overall, the experience was nothing short of magical for the kids and convenient for the parents. From check in to the rooms, the smiles couldn't be wiped off the face of the young ones. Despite the 2PM check-in, we were given rooms upon arrival with no extra charge. The rooms were ample in size (got the run of the mill "garden view" rooms with two double beds). No room service, but the soda and ice machines were just across the room down the hall and there's also a reasonably-priced resto downstairs. Being so close to the theme park, one has the option of a 10-15 minute walk to the main entrance or a 5 minute bus ride. We chose the latter as the kids couldn't contain themselves at the thought of 600-750 seconds before reaching Disneyland park. The bus comes every 3-5 minutes.

A variety of food choices are available, but the most kid-friendly is Chef Mickey with its themed buffets. Kid-friendly activities at the Malibu Toy Shop is also available, though the staff don't seem to follow the schedules for story telling and face painting as advertised in the front desk.

Check out is also hassle free and the staff at the hotel is pretty fluent in English. Access to public transport is also very convenient with an MTR, bus and taxi depot nearby.

Bottom line: If traveling with small children, HK Disney is the way to go - park is not too overwhelming in size and the Disney Hotels (particularly Hollywood) are enough to keep kids busy and parents sane.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank viajeroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This was our second trip to Hong Kong, last time we stayed at the Hong Kong Disney hotel. We were very happy with the Disney Hollywood hotel, as it was very centrally located (close to Disneyland, and close to the MTR for quick access to all of Hong Kong by train).

We primarily stayed here to be close to Disneyland, as we have a 3 year old daughter and knew that during the week we stayed in Hong Kong we would spend at least 2-3 days at Disneyland.

We had a small hiccup at the beginning of our stay, as the hotel car services didn't meet us at the airport as promised, but we quickly got the resolved and only lost about 30 minutes.

The staff at the hotel is very friendly, speak excellent English and our very kid friendly. Especially at the kids play center, which is one of the best features of this hotel for families with kids. We have previously stayed at Marriott Vacation Club hotels because of the great kid centers they have, and found the one at the Disney hotel a pleasant surprise. Our daughter made friends with a number of the staff at the kids center and really enjoyed playing there everyday. There is no similar service at the other Disney hotel in Hong Kong, even though they advertise a similar service.

The biggest problem with this hotel is a real lack of western friendly food services, which is also a serious problem at Disneyland. The hotel has no room service and of the four on-site restaurants only the pool-side restaurant is any good. The main restaurant (Chef Mickey) is a buffet and has very little good western food at either breakfast or dinner. The lounge restaurant only had a set menu, which didn't appear to include anything decent and the cafe was only reasonable for breakfast.

This hotel is also really lacking a convenience store, which is pretty common at hotels in China/Hong Kong. There are drinks available in the Toy store, but the selection is limited and there are no sundries available.

The service here was excellent, including the use of the hotel car to and from Disneyland, which we got because of the mix-up at the airport.

Many times during the week the Disney characters were at the hotel (including Goofy, Chip & Dale, Donald, etc.) and they spent a fair amount of time roaming the hallways, going outside and at the kids play center.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to families with small kids, for the great location, excellent kid friendly staff and the kids activity center. But if you don't like Chinese food you should prepare to eat elsewhere or be frustrated.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews