We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and central”
Review of Xi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xi Hotel
Ranked #164 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great location. Close to bars, restaurants and shops. Clean room. The brekkie was shocking. Might as well not include it. Housekeeping staff was noisy and unfriendly.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank chineseswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Xi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just stayed one night here this week and was satisfied with our short stay ..first impressions were not good, no welcome, very mundane business like attitudes from reception staff. But I guess we are not here to make new friends with hotel staff so we overlooked this. Perfect location, centre of everything, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and even train station.
Room was comfortable and clean, hot water was a bit of a problem, took ages to get warm.
After researching places to stay, The Minden appeared a better alternative than many in terms of value. Prices in Hong Kong are outrageously high unless you want to stay in a tiny little box, the room at The Minden, was reasonable price in comparison to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I will start by saying that is is a review based on a short stay as I moved out of this hotel on th first night due to the excessive amount of noise coming from the nightclub in the street below. The staff gave me another room which wasn't much better, so as I hadn't unpacked I left for another hotel. It must be said the staff were very kind and helped me find another hotel and called a cab, just an unfortunate location. Otherwise the rooms seemed clean and relatively spacious for Hong Kong. It's also hard to find, even with instructions in Chinese and calling the hotel my driver had some trouble finding it.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room which looks down onto the small street below, the noise funnels upwards.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinababe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Read good reviews about Minden and decided to booked it for my trip in May.
Have a pleasant 2 night stay there.

1) Counter staff - friendly, helpful and polite.

2) Room - decent size, clean, comfortable bed and good size bathroom.They even placed an air purifer in the room which I counted as a bonus.

3) Breakfast - limited and basic spread with items like bread, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea.

4) Location - near K12 Mall and less than 5 min walk to East Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. Thus can hop on the MTR to visit shopping malls and places of interest easily.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floor as there are a number of pubs around the area and might get noisy in the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy_Lim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The minded hotel is situated in Tsim sa Sui,heart of the city. Easy access to shoppers paradise.
It has a seven eleven next to door so can buy things from there 24/7.5 min walk to the ferry terminal,near by mtr station .the hotel rooms are small but comfortable only in night it becomes noisy as pubs are adjacent to it,but that really is no issue as the bed is quiet comfortable you fall asleep soon,it has a free broadband Internet .overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepika-will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Cost us about $400 CYN taxi from airport (inc the toll fees). The place is a few blocks to shops in main street. Few bars and clubs in street, and a handy 711 below. Rooms are small but thats normal here. Its clean and tidy. Take a print of map so taxi can find hotel as its a little side street.
Breakfast is basic but ok. Would reccomend for location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at The Minden in April 2012. We were visiting the Canton Fair in nearby Guangzhou and decided to travel to Hong Kong over the weekend inbetween phases. We stayed there on two occasions.

The Minden has about 20 floors and about 4 rooms per floor. The 1st time we went, we were on the 6th floor. The second time on the 18th (we could even see a bit of the harbour from here). I preffered to be higher up as the night clubs in the street can be a bit noisy. The hotel is very centrally situated and easily accessible. It is a 5 min walk away from the Star Ferry terminal which you can use to visit Hong Kong Island. It is also close to many markets (a 3 min taxi ride). There is a 24 hour store next door to the hotel which is very convenient. Buy your drinks/water from here as the water in the hotel is very very expensive.

The rooms are nice, clean and quite modern. Each room has a flat screen TV and a bar fridge. The ensuite bathrooms are small but exactly what you need. I heard that hotel rooms in Hong Kong is generally quite small; even this was also small it was bigger than I expected. There is also a work desk in each room. Every room also has FREE broadband internet which is a rarity in HK. The comlimentary fruit basket was such a delight after some weird meals in mainland China.

The hotel includes a complimentary breakfast which consists of fruit, coffee/juice, boiled eggs, toast, yoghurt, and pastries. Breakfast is served in the restaurant which has a lovely little outside terrace. You can also order room service but not all the items are available so check with the kitchen.

The hotel also offers a luggage storage facility if you need to book out but still want to sightsee.

I really reccommend this hotel as it is good value for money in a very expensive city and the staff was also very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors due to the noise from the surrounding night clubs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SA-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#135 of 721 in Hong Kong
143 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#162 of 721 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#95 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#119 of 721 in Hong Kong
214 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#65 of 721 in Hong Kong
774 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi Hotel

Address: No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $98 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xi Hotel offers guests an embodiment of style, luxury and convenience while serving visitors at a more coveted level of quality in service and accommodation. Located at an area which occupies the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Xi Hotel will revive the fine art of hospitality.With an emphasis on artistic flair, Xi is perfectly located for shopping and leisure and art appreciation . Xi is also popular among business travelers with all rooms fully equipped to meet various business needs. Either you want a night out in the vibrant city or to stay in and relax in one of its chic, contemporary rooms, Xi can offer it all.Xi perfectly reflects its Chinese characters - heart and happiness - in its service and amenities. From classically-appointed furniture to contemporary art, every corner of Xi radiates an asian flair while staff enthusiastically caters to every wish the guests may have. Your pleasure in staying in this stylish boutique hotel is the hotel's honour as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Xi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minden Hotel Hong Kong
Minden Hong Kong
Xi Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing