We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would recommend for friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“would recommend for friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Introduction: we traveled in a group of 9 people. 4 people shared a room and another 5 shared another room. the room we consisted of 1 double decker and 2 single beds with a private bathroom. As according to other reviews, i have expected the hostel to be small, but the rooms are clean. even though they look old, it's still acceptable for a person like me, who was worried about the old musty smell. THANK GOD! there's no musty smell and at least there weren't black or brown stains on the walls/ceiling/toilet.

pros:
clean, friendly receptionist, excellent location for MTR/food/night markets, can refill water, hairdryer and wifi password will be given if asked.

cons:
small (very small bathroom),
constantly have to wait for elevator and we always decided to climb the stairs instead (but have to BE CAREFUL not to step on any feces 'cos there're sign written "do not defecation here" in Chinese. fortunately, we didn't see any unbearable stuff while climbing the stairs).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyznin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    178
    93
    17
    11
See reviews for
81
71
98
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa City, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We did have quite of a struggle finding where Sincere House was in Argyle Street. The shops at 82 and 84 were located at the opposite side of the street! But we found it soon enough. Like so many others we picked this hostel because of its excellent reviews online, and it didn't disappoint. We got one of the shabbier rooms though, and Stanley explained that water from the next room COULD seep out so they had to put towels along the wall lining on the floor.

Good thing the water didn't really seep out! We paid a little over HKD 1,000 for three nights. There's hot water and wifi. You could also use the computers in their office.

Stanley was nice, and on his office you could see post cards and messages from his past clients all over the world echoing this. He was very helpful with directions. Not that you'd need to ask about them a lot, because the hostel was really in the middle of everything.

If you just need somewhere to sleep and would otherwise be out the whole day, then book this place.

Room Tip: There's a window room at the end of the hall with its own bathroom. But I think that's more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subtlety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Maybe the most crappy hotel we have stayed in.
The carpet and curtains were ripped and stained, the towels had brown stains on them and our room was tiny, hot and stuffy.
Lobby is pretty fancy, staff at the check in the night is unfriendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

went here on Jan 2010 and 2012
as most of the rooms in HK are quite small so we decided here by knowing its accessible to almost anywhere. for a first timer, it's a bit challenging finding this in the middle of crowded city
room are pretty small but we ensure the bathroom is ensuite
nothing to whined as we rarely stay in the room. its just perfect for B&B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

for what this place is, one of many hostels in a very old and cramped multi-story building in one of the most densely populated districts in all of hong kong, maybe even all of china, this place is great and takes care of most of your needs.

as it is a hostel, it has all the basics covered: clean rooms and sheets, AC, power adapter rentals (a life saver), wifi (though signal is weak in areas other than the lobby) and a great location in kowloon. staff is helpful with basics, some speak english.

i stayed in a tiny private single with common bathroom and in a dorm. both were fine, but bathrooms small in each case and my AC did not work well in my private room. seems very safe -- there's a guy at the main front door and security cameras all over the place. if you stay in the dorms, you can leave your stuff in the lobby where there is someone there 24 hours and they chain your luggage to a wall. night staffer guy was kind and entertaining.

what i liked best was the ambience and location of the place. basically in ground zero of kowloon and really atmospheric... a total real and authentic asian experience that nothing else can match.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Okay, the room was small, shower was right above the toilet, small tv, no window. If you're okay with that then you can consider this. I was with my girlfriend, it wasn't the most romantic place to be at, but all we really wanted was a decent place to stay. The a/c was working, heater working, theres wifi (but weaker signal in the room), so we had a good stay overall.

The people at the reception are very helpful too. They have good usd=hkd rates so we just exchanged currencies there. Moire importantly, the location is very good. Short walk to the night market, hawkers, and mong kok mtr. This is a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bemazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This review I will be covering the Pro & Cons.

Pro
-Cheap
-air-con
-clean
-comfortable
-provide free room service
-free wifi

Cons
-room kind of small
-not sound proof (able to hear next door sound)
-bathroom very small

Overall, it's really very basic hostel that provide all the basic needs.

If you are on a tight budget, this hostel could be the best choice. :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KennethLZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#105 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hostel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Property: Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Address: Room 707, 7/F Sincere House, 83 Argyle St, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Dragon Hostel Hong Kong 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dragon Hostel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing