We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, cheap, great location.”
Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ah Shan Hostel
Ranked #19 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small rooms, cheap, great location.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here Nov 2012 for 4 nights with two friends. Rooms are small, but clean. Fresh towels everyday. Beds are comfortable. Price wise, this is one of the best deals you can get for a budget hostel in Hongkong.

One thing though, the bathroom for the private rooms are TINY - at least for the room we had. You're better of choosing the room with common bath.

The place is very strategic. The ladies market and the MTR are just stones throw away.

TIP: If you're going to Disneyland and other attractions, ask the office for vouchers. You can get around 10-20 HKD discounts with the vouchers. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    130
    73
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
64
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Changchun, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ah Shan Hostel the nights of the 23rd and 24th of January. Hong Kong was our second stop of a 3 week tour of Southeast Asia. The most important things to me are cleanliness and location, and the Ah Shan had them both. The rooms were very small (we stayed here with another couple, so it was a tight squeeze); but from what I could tell, that's just Hong Kong. The bathroom was very small, but we're teachers in China, so we're kind of used to that. The beds had clean sheets, and the bathroom was clean. I don't think they changed our sheets for the second night; so if you're staying here a long time and want clean sheets everyday, then this might not be the place for you. The only issue we had with our room was the fact that our toilet wasn't working properly. But, it wasn't a big deal because you just had to fill the tank up with water from the shower and it would flush just fine. The only other thing I would say is make sure you are at the front desk around the time of your check-in, or at least have some way of contacting them. Our plane was delayed, and we didn't get in till 2 AM. We told the Ah Shan that we would be there around midnight, but we had no way of contacting them to tell them otherwise. Another guest let us in, and it wasn't a problem; but just make sure you have some way of getting into the building if you come later than your check-in time. If you're looking for a conveniently located and low-priced hostel with a clean bed in Hong Kong, then this is the place for you. If you're looking for a Hilton-like experience, then don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

6 friends travelled from Mainland China for an extended Weekend stay in Hong Kong - Ah Shan ticked all the boxes for us, making it affordable and possible! We stayed in 3 twin rooms which were clean and comfortable with towels provided. Small, yes - but this didn't matter, as in Hong Kong, the place to be is out and about in this fantastic city where there is always something to do and see at any time of the night or day! Our rooms were more than adequate for our needs, used only minimally - for sleep, showering and changing, and dropping off bags of shopping!!! If anything, the size of the rooms provided great amusement and happy memories - as one friend put it - where else can you find such a time-saving bathroom, where you are able to use the toilet, shower and brush your teeth all at the same time! I always recommend Ah Shan!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

As a family of 4 it's hard work finding anything in HK for under $150 a night, so this place has a few big ticks. It's cheep, clean and in an amazing location. BUT it is bloody small. Our room measured 3mX3m, and that ain't much fun with Master Kungfoo and Little Miss Gymnast.
That asside, it is what it is, and everything inside the room was really clean, the staff are lovely and the water was hot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayAnythingNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Not easy to find this hostel, we had to ask around. Location-wise it's at the heart of Mongkok, only a few meters from the MTR. Rooms were small unlike the advertised photos.

Food is available in the vicinity at any time. There's a convenience store and mcD across the street. Some rooms are on top floors and you have to queue for about 10mins if you want to use the elevator.

The bigger rooms have ensuite baths, smaller ones share with others. Toilet paper and drinking water (hot&cold) is free.

Good for travelers who stay in hostels just to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreekitik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights at twin bed room with bathroom.
the location is good in Mongkok.
it's 50m away from the Mongkok subway station.
and is in front of 'Ladies Market'.
...
the building is so old, and the room is too small but is clean.
remember...it's "Cheap" hostel in Hongkong.
...
I could use a laundry and a baggage keeping services with reasonable prices.
...
the manager(?) who can speak english is very kind. (almost all is family...maybe)
but some crew was unfriendly, and I had to move to other building with my baggages at the last night.
because...there was no more rooms in the same building (ok..it's Hong-Kong!)...the hostel has many rooms in other buildings.
...
so many people use a small elevator. and the elevator is not working for very early morning hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosAHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Really hard to find especially night time, for us, we arrived late and hv to struggle to find the building there. we can't imagine how small the gate to the building was. But after abt 30minutes walking n asking around, finally we met the door, is right in front of a busy street. We were assigned to a room at the next building, the room were modified from previously an apartment, look like a studio suites (if u don't bothered to look from outside). According to the management person, the hotel has 72 rooms which scattered around the area in nearby building. the room that we were in was quiet n privacy, more like an mini apartment. Interior clean n comfortable, we hv no complain at all. For a westener, please consider the space in toilet n the super single size bed, no legroom at all for a 6" footer n couple. NOt recommended! A lot of foods around 24hrs, near to everywhere cos it is in the city, MTR stations at every corners. Overall, satisfied with the stay for 5nights. Cross the road and you will reach Ladies Market, walk the opposite way is Fa Yuen street, good shopping area. Variety of foods nearby, try the porridge. MTR station just around the corner. Near to Nathan Road, shopping's heaven. Buses and transport to town were so convenient.

Room Tip: Lift were quite old, small and slow, possible choose a lower floor if available. A/c is old type. Sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanfcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,282 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,235 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#9 of 157 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Property: Ah Shan Hostel
Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing