We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Hotels.com
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
FindHotel
$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
CheapTickets$105
Travelocity$105
Trip.com$63
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
67
142
81
21
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
142
81
21
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 332 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in a Double Ensuite room with my boyfriend for 4 nights back around Sep-Oct 2011. Made an online booking via http://reservations.bookhostels.com/dragoninnhk.com about 3 months in advance and got imo, good rates (total = HKD1260). Paid 10% deposit online, and the rest in cash upon arrival. The booking confirmation came with directions on how to get to the hostel via MTR, taxi, bus, etc which was really useful.

The hostel is actually just a couple of rooms located in an old apartment building on Argyle Street, Mong Kok. Lift was rather small. Room was also really small. The door, when open at 90 degrees, was just inches away from the bed, and there wasn't much space to stretch your arms fully in the washroom either. But don't let those fool you, the bed was more than enough for the both of us. Room had warm water for showering, shampoo and body wash, towels, flat screen TV, good wi-fi (think it was because we were staying near the reception area) and air-conditioning. Happy with the washroom as it was so clean. Drinking water was available in the corridor.

Location was excellent - very near the Mong Kok MTR Station, with 7-11, eateries and other shops nearby. Get one of those Octopus cards and travel wherever you want using MTR. Reception lady & her Filipino assistant were nice - they advised us about going out on the 2nd day of our trip, as Typhoon Nesat had directly hit Hong Kong at the time. Tickets for various tourist attractions can be purchased from them and there is also a computer with internet available for guests.

If you're looking for hotel standards, this is the wrong place for you. Apart from the size of the room, we were pretty satisfied about our stay as it met all our needs. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

Room tip: Try to stay in a room near the reception area, as we believe that was the reason why our free wi-fi was working better than our friends' who were staying on a different floor.
Date of stay: October 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank swanzwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

the location is very central. MTR station is within walking distance, it's right opposite the ladies' market, sneakers market, a few malls... lots of eateries nearby... bathroom en suite, air conditioner, cold & hot drinking water, wifi, pc with internet connection, tv, water heater, towel, staffs help in calling cab, giving direction, providing tickets for tourist attractions...

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fibby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an ideal hostel for location and budget, right next to the MTR, in amongst the locals in Mong Kok and not too far from an absolute sky scraper of a shopping mall which seems to stretch for up to 15 floors, you're about a 15 minute MTR ride from Hong Kong Island.

Free wireless internet, air conditioning and integrated if but quirky toilet/wetroom are available in or near your room. Rooms can vary in size from a very small single with no window to a huge double with a window, be warned the small single rooms can feel very enclosed with no room to move about.

Staff are friendly and very chatty, computers and printers are available in reception, just one note, I had some difficulty finding the hostel, now this could've of been down to jet lag after a 9 hour flight plus the weather but you're need an eagle eye as the place has two entrances.

There's really no social area or kitchen, it's more rooms in a flat complex rather than a hostel, so I suppose I'm only being picky because it lacked social aspect of travelling, there certainly wasn't a lack of atmosphere living in and amongst the locals.

Room tip: Spend a bit more and get a double rooms, the single rooms are very small
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed one night at Ah Shan hostel, which is also together with Dragon-Inn and A-inn, so when you see reviews bear in mind that they are all the same, the recepction, rates is all in one place. After staying at Dragon hostel for 5 nights we needed one more night and since it was in the same building it made easy for us just to move our things to a different floor. As most hostels you can keep your luggage there if you arrive too early or if you need a place to keep them after checking out. We were gladly surprised with the rooms, impossible not to compare. There was more space than Dragon hostel and a bigger bathroom that made easier to adjust the shower to a better position without need to hold it. They actually had two separated room, one with a double bed, flat screen TV and a fridge and the other bedroom had a bunk bed, a chair, a table and a stool a and some drawers ( plastic narrow chest of drawers). There was also a small table fan. 10l of drinking water, a kettle and 4 plastic cups. Shampoo and shower bath is provided and also towels. Since we got stuck quiet a lot due to typhoon Vicente, rain and a sick child this option would have been better than Dragon Hostel. The corridor to the room was very narrow but enough to pull the luggage. Free wi-fi internet connection is available and it did work. We liked our stay there.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mirna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Pros:
- Excellent location @Mongkok, near to Mongkok MTR
- very clean room
- Lots of eateries nearby
- building consists of local residents & guesthouse. Gives u a good sense of local experience

Cons:
- building looks old & has a "haunted" feeling
- room is extremely small for an Asian. You can't even stretch your arms fully. Be prepare to get a few bruises by bumping into the corners of the beds.
- Eateries nearby are mainly Chinese. Not halal friendly for Muslim friends
- next to lobby smells bad everyday because of fried stink tofu.

Overall:
Just stay for its location if you r on budget. Generally, accommodation in Hong Kong is expensive.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank faithzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews