We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

You know you're in for something good when this is how it all starts: Long international flight to Hong Kong. You get off the plane and are pleasantly surprised to see a guy at the end of the ramp holding a sign with your name. He takes your bag, puts you on a buggy, whisks you past the throngs at Hong Kong airport and you're the first in line at immigration. He's waiting for you after immigration, helps you with you bag, gets your airport express train ticket and gets you settled on the train to Hong Kong station. Airport meet and greet is a complimentary service provided by the Landmark Mandarin. Granted they get you with the room rate but still this is a great service and plenty of 5 star hotels will nickel and dime you at every turn despite exorbitant room rates.

I stayed at 3 Mandarin Oriental properties (in Kuala Lumpur and the "old" Mandarin Oriential in Hong Kong) back to back so was able to get a good basis for comparison. The Landmark had the best room in my opinion -- a contemporary/modern style different from other MO properties. See attached pictures of room 912. I agree with the other reviewer that described this room as a bathroom with an attached bed. No fighting with your spouse for bathroom counter space necessary. You can have your own sink and plenty of space to spread out -- in fact you can have a party in this bathroom. Water pressure in the rain shower was fantastic. The separate sitting/living area is also great addition to the room.

Location is ideal for sightseeing with the MTR next door, plenty of dining and shopping options at your doorstep.

Service is worthy of Mandarin Oriental standards -- they get it right. Always at your beck and call...email them something to print and its under your door in 2 minutes. Having stayed at the "old" Mandarin Oriental which is also a great hotel -- this would be my choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runningshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    99
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
111
244
105
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Landmark cannot be faulted. If you are a business traveller than there is no better hotel in Hong Kong. The service is second to none, the food is world class and it is at the perfect location. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benhmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 851 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

As a frequent guest of this hotel, we were 'royally' welcomed with what could be termed as a red carpet, white glove treatment by the entire staff, who were at our disposal with warmth and genuine hospitality throughout our entire stay.

The LMOHK is Central's crown jewel in every sense - service, location, and one-of-a-kind rooms (L600 & L900 series). Location is simply the best in Hong Kong side and the impeccable service levels can blow your mind away. The rooms are something else - not your typical boring hotel room but very unique. The bathrooms are awesomely designed and the only negative is that it makes you never want to leave your room!

We will happily return on our next visit to Hong Kong and had planned to spend the New Year there but was very disappointed that our last minute change of plans prevented us from staying there. We look foward to another visit in the near future and can only recommend this hotel to any traveller looking to experience the MO way.

Two thumbs up to LMOHK and thank you for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PourPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We spent 12 days at the Landmark Mandarin and loved it. The staff was the best, especially the Mo Bar breakfast staff and the front door staff. The location was perfect, we walked to most things; SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong districts, Star ferry, Peak tram, etc. Everything else was quickly accessed via the subway in basement of the Landmark complex. The only not great thing was our view (looked into the side of another building), but I am not sure this Mandarin has great views due to its central business district location. I worked in the room a lot, so a better view would have been nice, but the location, staff and spa made up for it.. If possible ask, there might be better views here than ours. There are at least two other Mandarin Oriental hotels in Hong Kong (the older one in Central closer to the harbour and one in Causeway Bay) if you want views, one of these might be better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cglendinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hotel is not like othr mandarin orientals. the crowed is more western and not so much asian. We had a suite and it was amazing. very specius with one bedroom seperate living room and a huge bathroom with a nice jakuzzi in the middel. Of corsoue the price was not low but you get what you pay. Its right next t the MTR Central Station and in the hotel you have shopping arcades. Stuff is friendly and the hotel is very very clean. you can walk to everywhere in a few minutes and the can organize you everything what you want. Definetly a nice hotel in the heart of Hong Kong Island

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I loved the Landmark MO spacious rooms , as we are a family travellign with 2 kids.The location of the hotel is convenient located next to the designer Landmark mall.Since the hotel doesnt have alot of restaurants to choose from .There is an array of restaurants to choose frm in the adjacent malls(zuma,nice french cafes etc).But it was abit trying to shop while pushing my toddler in the trolley,as there are many steps connecting the malls together,you must map out where are the elevators , and in which building.But shopping was a blast!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulips76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I have stayed at the Landmark Mandarin Oriental a few times, and I believe it is the only truly impressive spa/boutique hotel in Hong Kong. The rooms are truly spacious and everything from the soap to the bed forces you to relax. The spa is the gem at the center of what makes this hotel truly special -- in addition to the various treatment options for a fee, there are also "aqua experiences" that are free for the guests to use.

Some travelers have complained that the hotel is located close to other office buildings, which is not entirely unfounded. However, unless you stay in Kowloon, it is simply a fact of life that the buildings in Central Hong Kong are extremely concentrated. (By the way, the Four Seasons does offer better views in Central Hong Kong, but be forewarned that the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the heard of Central.)

The service is extremely friendly, and like any Mandarin Oriental, they go beyond the call of duty to see to it that you are comforable. With that said, I think that the pace and level of the service may leave business travelers frustrated. Although the service is superb on many levels, there are some times when it is spotty, particularly the concierge and bell services. One time, the bell service brought up five dfferent sets of bags before correctly identifying and sendig up my bags. In addition, I have found that the attention to detail that is evident at its sister property (the "old" Mandarin Oriental) is notably absent from the Landmark, and I get the distinct impression that the hotel is used as a "training ground" for staff at the "old" Mandarin Oriental.

As for the food, the in-room dining and the buffet breakfast is demonstrably not as good as at the "old" Mandarin Oriental, although very delicious. There are more healthy options available than at the sister property, which is consistent with the Landmark's role as a spa boutique. I should note that I have not eaten at Amber, which I understand to be the Landmark's best restaurant.

All in all, an excellent hotel, especially if you are going to Hong Kong for a leisure stay. Any deficiencies are only apparent because I have stayed at the original Mandarin Oriental, which is a true "landmark" in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aFan4HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,192 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: The Landmark, 15 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is one of the most luxurious and fashionable hotel in the world located in the heart of Central. All of the 109 spacious guestrooms have just been refurbished. Dining is exceptional. Amber offers the finest modern French cuisine while MO Bar is the stylish all-day-dining venue famous for its creative cocktails. The Oriental Spa is the urban sanctuary for relaxation and wellness, completed with yoga, Pilates and fitness. This chic hotel is one of the 9 hotels worldwide awarded Forbes Travel Guide Triple five stars distinction across all categories for hotel, restaurant and spa. Located in Central, the hub of shopping, entertainment and finance, The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is connected to the Landmark Atrium where more than 200 world's top luxury brands can be found. What makes the hotel unique is its proximity to local pastimes, hot spots and cool discoveries. Only 10-15 minutes away on foot, guests can expect popular local eateries, bars and clubs, some of Hong Kong's best tailors, creative local designer fashion pieces, as well as one of Hong Kong's oldest temples and Asia's longest outdoor covered escalators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental
Landmark Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing