We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
561 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location: Bang in central
Hotel: Small, part of multi-use development with offices, retail; indoor pool, spa, 2 restaurants
Room: The best I've ever stayed at
Positives: Great room, good service
Negatives: No great views, breakfast in restaurants not served until 7am
TA ranking at time of writing: #16/508

This was my 1st stay at the Landmark Mandarin Oriental and was impressed by the warm welcome and quick check-in. The hotel is right in the middle of HK Central close to an MTR station, straddled by buses and tram on either side and walkable (with light luggage) from IFC/HK station. There are 2 restaurants, one which doubles up as a bar by night. I didn't make use of the pool/spa services.

Mine was a corner room with windows on all fronts - bedroom, bathroom and living room. I must add here that I did prefer this room over the one at Upper House because of optimal use of space. The bathroom had 2 entrances - 1 each from living and bedroom. The room was very cosy with a long sofa and a king size bed, walk in wardrobe; bathroom had 2 wash basins, shower + bathtub.

Now to not so good things. I wish that the switches around the room had some indication. Also, both restaurants start serving breakfast at 7am, would've thought that service started earlier, I think they may be serving in the room before that, but I hadn't checked. Also, given that the hotel is within a larger complex that houses retail shops, I had 1 sleepless night (until mid-night) with some work going on next door; the staff was kind to offer me a room swap onto the other side but assured me that the work would stop at 9pm and hence I didn't opt for it, the work did stop at 9pm that evening.

All in all, a great hotel, good service, very well located. Will certainly opt when I'm in HK next.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    96
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
103
236
99
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Landmark Mandarin Oriental is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at--perhaps the very best. From arrival to departure, the service was extraordinarily good--so good that it made me reconsider how I treat my clients and others around me. Every staff member seems genuinely concerned about everything having to do with your stay.

The room itself was beautiful. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom, with a huge tub, is the best I've ever seen.

The hotel's restaurant, Amber (two Michelin stars), is fabulous, as is the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan_90401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Upon checking in according to my husband, the receptionist did not want us to wait because our room was still being made up, they immediately upgraded us to a suite. From the doorman to the reception desk, the staff was very accommodating. We could not ask for more, all the amenities in the suite were beyond our expectations. The Mo Bar was great, music, food, ambiance was super.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nothing but praise for this top class hotel ideally located in Central. I love the fact that the staff remember your name and greet you so charmingly everyday. Rooms are very nicely furnished and ooze class as does the rest of the hotel. Mo bar is cool and doubles as a super buffet breakfast room in the mornings.

Other nice touches included being handed water bottles when going out (very humid in June) and a souvenir note book with 2 Mo bar CDs. Use of the spa before leaving for the airport to change and freshen up was also greatly appreciated.

If you get the chance to stay here then you should.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YachtieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Landmark Mandarin for 5 days in June on business. The service was fantastic and the location was perfect - In the heart of central Hong Kong with access to the rail system (and the mall) without having to walk outside in the rain / sweltering summer humidity. The room service menu was good. The hotel restaurant Amber provided fussy, but delicious food. Rooms were spacious and expertly appointed - the bed was excellent and the bathroom was enormous. The gym was adequate with cardio, some weights and very nice lap pool which was seldom in use. In my opinion, the only drawback to this property is the lack of view compared to other options in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Situated in great central location the hotel is - as often with Mandarin Oriental - a great one. During my brief stay service was world class.
The room was spacious spotlessly clean and perfectly appointed. Ideal for a business trip, although the Mo bar downstairs sure looks like a lot of fun and the spa is fantastic....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElBar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My boss told me to choose a convenient hotel for a work trip in Hong Kong. I chose this, as our meetings were at the ICBC tower. The convenience of this hotel allowed us to walk to our meetings (not a great idea due to the summer humidity)

My room was very large and had a modern design for the bathroom. I thought the bathroom was poorly designed because it was inconvenient. The bathtub was in the center; one has to walk around it to get between the toilet and the showers. Also, the lights and buttons were confusing to use, especially since I arrived at 1 am.

The room service was poor for a high end hotel. I called for an iron board and nail clipper at 830 am. I had to follow up at 930 am, and the items finally came at 1000 am. I think there was a communication gap between the different employee groups at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamdmarkMandarin, Director of Public Relations at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your compliments; while at the same time, it is with regret to learn about some of your disappointments. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your valuable feedback has been brought to our attention and please rest assured that we will take every necessary step to address these important issues. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, we would be most grateful to hear again from you.

Best regards,
Jessica Chong
Director of Public Relations

jessicac@mohg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,361 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: The Landmark, 15 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is one of the most luxurious and fashionable hotel in the world located in the heart of Central. All of the 109 spacious guestrooms have just been refurbished. Dining is exceptional. Amber offers the finest modern French cuisine while MO Bar is the stylish all-day-dining venue famous for its creative cocktails. The Oriental Spa is the urban sanctuary for relaxation and wellness, completed with yoga, Pilates and fitness. This chic hotel is one of the 9 hotels worldwide awarded Forbes Travel Guide Triple five stars distinction across all categories for hotel, restaurant and spa. Located in Central, the hub of shopping, entertainment and finance, The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is connected to the Landmark Atrium where more than 200 world's top luxury brands can be found. What makes the hotel unique is its proximity to local pastimes, hot spots and cool discoveries. Only 10-15 minutes away on foot, guests can expect popular local eateries, bars and clubs, some of Hong Kong's best tailors, creative local designer fashion pieces, as well as one of Hong Kong's oldest temples and Asia's longest outdoor covered escalators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental
Landmark Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing