We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The best hotel in the best location in all of Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #5 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The best hotel in the best location in all of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The location is second to none, right in the heart of Central. The rooms are spotless, tasteful, comfortable and well designed. Every aspect of the overall proposition is first class from the wonderful Mo Bar to the Concierge. Anyone who runs a bar should visit the Mo Bar to see how it should be done. Customer experience is at the heart of the entire proposition from check in to check out. All staff without exception offer first class service without being obtrusive. They really have the blueprint for the perfect hotel. I've stayed before with my husband and this time with our infant daughter and it could not have been better. Having experienced a number of HK hotels the Landmark Mandarin stands head and shoulders above them all. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    88
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
219
90
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I used to work at a five star hotel, so I know all internal hotel books describing luxury services very well. An the Landmark Mandarin Oriental not even maintains these standards, but even exceedes them. This is a new hotel, nicely furnished, really very good cleaned (!). Qualitative bath amenities by Apivita (love them soo much!); two small chocolate pralines every evening at turndown service. Very good and punctual in-room dining (we've always had breakfast at our room). Excellent Amber restaurant with wine lunches on weekends (set Micheline star menu, wines accompanying it). Very pleasant and efficient staff at concierge desk and reception and bellman and all of them - really. The one minor point is -no view, the hotel is surrounded by office buildings, but as for me this is not the question at all if you get such kind of really excellent hospitality services every day of your stay there. Wifi wasn't slow, as some of travelers write, but I was checking my emails and downloading pics, not watching YouTube. Fitness Center is quite well equipped although small I ' d rather say, and opens at 6 am, which is very practical if you travel on business. Spa is great, but prices are high enough (but this is a Spa at a luxury hotel). So I highly recommend this hotel for staying on business and romantic trips in HK

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had a catch-up meeting with some students at the Amber Bar, which is a small but quiet and pleasant bar on the 7th floor (I think) of the Landmark Mandarin Oriental.

We originally tried to secure a table at the MO Bar, but no tables were available. The MO Bar staff kindly suggested we try the 7th floor bar, which turned out well. I don't think the Amber Bar serves food, but the drink selection was more than ideal. The bar had tasteful decor and I didn't feel squeezed in. The Bar staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
454 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Updating a previous review (from Last Year) on this amazing property. You're living above Landmark with all the restaurants and shops it has to offer. The LMOH feels more like a boutique hotel than the world-class property it has become. We made use of the Spa as well as breakfast in the MO Bar. If you can get a reservation, the fabulous Amber restaurant (recently ranked top 50 on Pellegrino list!). If you can splash out the cash, then definitely try and be here in the centre of it all...

In a city with high prices and high standards, the LMOH stands out with few rivals including Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons and W Hotel HK.

Room Tip: Select Corner Deluxe Rooms with large tubs (think ovular) that are NOT jetted...so all the cleaner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed in L600 Deluxe and it was superb ! esp the round bath tub and the spaciousness !
Location was superb in Central district !
Helpful staffs from front desk to housekeepers.
Spa is a must ! What entice me more was the heated indoor pool !
I m a frequent traveller to HK, and have stayed in Ritz Carlton HK, W Hotel HK, Marco Polo Gateway, Marco Polo Prince, Langham Place hotel and recently Four Seasons HK, BUT nothing beats Landmark Mandarin eventho there were no seaview or whatsoever. But again, who needs the view when i can have easy access to all the branded goods and good food with high tech in room entertainments!

Conclusion - chose this hotel, you won't regret it.

P/S: I don't normally do reviews for hotels, this is my second, the first being a complaint being made to a hotel in Bali. And yes, Landmark Mandarin deserves my time to spare.

Room Tip: chose a L600 room ! and try out the Spa !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely room with great bath and shower. Beautifully decorated too. It's central location allows easy access to all areas of Hong Kong central but with the knowledge that you can return to comfort and luxury of your room. All the staff are polite and really helpful. The pool and spa are luxurious too. The hotel even smell nice!

My only gripe is that the WiFi access is extra.

This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in a great location. Service and quality of accommodations are excellent, and my stay was problem free. Do not expect a beautiful view out your window, as the hotel is wedged between numerous other tall buildings. It's very expensive, but luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,657 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: The Landmark, 15 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is one of Asia's most luxurious, stylish and contemporary hotels. This sophisticated Forbes five-star Hong Kong hotel is ideally located at The Landmark in the heart of Central, a few steps from most of Hong Kong's key commercial buildings as well as opulent shopping districts with the highest concentration of luxury brands in Asia. Amongst the many Hong Kong hotels, The Landmark Mandarin Oriental sets the standard for bespoke service and stylish sophistication. State-of-the-art technology compliments alluring interiors in all 113 rooms and suites with amongst the largest hotel rooms designed for pure sensory indulgence. Chef Richard Ekkebus helms the kitchen at Amber the Michelin two-star restaurant, whilst world-renowned musical talents play in the unparalleled exclusivity of MO Bar, equally popular on Sundays for its indulgent lobster lunch. Also, escape Hong Kong's urban bustle at The Oriental Spa with rejuvenating yoga and Pilates plus the pure pleasures of exclusive facials, body treatments and award-winning signature treatments by the finest therapists in this internationally renowned Hong Kong hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental
Landmark Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing