We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay here again, but ... only on upper floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Ranked #89 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I will stay here again, but ... only on upper floors”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel: one night on my way to Clark and one night on my way back. I have two completely different impressions. The first night our room was located on upper floor with fantastic view to harbor – really great, the room was not big, but was very - very cozy. There are huge windows from floor to ceiling. It is great! But another night was not so pleasant – we got a room on 7th floor. The room was even bigger, the same type of furniture, the same huge windows, but … the view was scarring and depressing! The walls of very ugly non-renovated buildings are situated just in front of our room and we can not see anything else. May be I am not paying so much attention to this fact, If the windows were not so huge. But the windows occupied almost a half of the room’s walls. It is difficult to understand the architect who created such project in such place.
This hotel is situated very convenient. The bus-stop (bus 21A to airport) is just 5 min walk from the hotel; all great shops, museums, parks are around the hotel. The famous Star Alley is just 5 min walk. Location is definitely perfect.
The area in front of the hotel is safe and looks quite fine.
Breakfast was good, but it was not something amazing.
Service and staff were perfect: friendly, smiling, polite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andersen_andersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    1,130
    334
    89
    55
See reviews for
549
958
198
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very good reception.
The boys that hanlde bags at ground floor are excellent.
Good location of hotel.
The rooms are clean and very nice.
Very good but little expensive (for kids) breakfast.
Could have little more information of hotel in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is quite new, I think I read 5-7 years old. It is conveniently located to the MTR railway network and only two blocks walk to busy Nathan Road. It is a somewhat further walk to the ferry terminal.
Check-in/out
We arrived early prior to normal checking and wanted to leave our luggage at the hotel. We had booked a superior gold room. While checking in it was suggested we could upgrade to Club harbour view room and including breakfast the cost would be an additional $A55. We agreed and it proved to be money well spent. I asked for a quiet corner room and was informed there was one available but not till 5 PM. This did not concern us and we agreed.
Room 2913
Located on the 29th floor with magnificent views across the harbour and to Hong Kong Island. Quite spacious by Asian standards with all amenities you would expect in a quality hotel.
Meals
Only had breakfast at the hotel, and it was satisfactory by Asian standards. Service by the staff was excellent.
Service
At all-times service was friendly, efficient and accommodating.
We had only one issue, and I am not sure where the blame lies with this.
As part of our booking we were offered an “Express Airport Ticket” which was included.
So what is a departure “Express Airport Ticket”?
Departure from where??? The hotel? One would assume so, as you are booking a hotel!
But it would seem not. We were informed that the Express Airport Ticket was a train trip from Kowloon Station to the Airport. Kowloon Station is not close by, far from it. We were informed we could get a shuttle bus a block away which required us to carry our luggage to that point.
My expectation was quite different from what was offered. When I raised this with management, there seemed to be some confusion as to who was offering this incentive. To her credit, Kris Chue the Guest Services Manager did everything possible to resolve the issue. She is to be commended for her consideration, tact and diplomacy.

As our flight was around midnight, we asked if we could leave our luggage and collect that around 8 pm. We also asked if we could use a room to change into more comfortable airline travel. This was agreed and when we arrived at the hotel Elaine Lam, the Executive Assistant Manager greeted us and said a room would be available with a shower if we wished. This was a godsend to us as the weather was surprisingly warm for a Hong Kong winter. We also used the Club Room for some refreshments. Elaine went out of her way to make sure every comfort was offered to us. A very big thanks from two weary travellers.

Room Tip: From trip advisor we had read the upgrade to a Club harbour view room, including breakfast was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I need not add more to the chorus of well-deserved accolades for this hotel; even the room temperature control setting works, and the complimentary South China Morning Post every morning is nice. The location is superb; as well as it is on the route & also a short walk (less then 150 m) from the airport bus (Citybus No.A21) bus-stop.

So the minor negatives are:
(1) no complimentary coffee satchets/tea bags in the room.
(2) housekeeping seems to be very stingy about replacing the toiletries - 2 of us have to share 1 tube (obviously not enough) of body gel, shampoo, body lotion everyday. We have to asked for more to be sent every night.
(3) some amenities are designed obviously for tall American pilots; the bathroom side-shelf is placed about 6 ft high, same for the small movable vanity mirror (for shaving), bathrobe & bath towels (HUGE), and even the umbrella (LONG) in the room. Too bad we are Asian sized.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuangMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would recommend Panorama Hotels to anybody who is planning their visit to Hong Kong. It is confidently located, close to MTR, waterfront, great restaurants, shopping areas, etc. Last but not least, the hotel restaurant is pretty good too. One night, being completely exhausted from exploring the city, we chose to have a dinner at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the quality, taste and service. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Next time my wife and I are in Hong Kong, we are staying at Panorama!

Room Tip: The very last room at the end of a corridor has better views and a better layout. Try to book Club H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room may be small (even for the Club floor) but the beds and pillows were heavenly. Big bay glass windows for a panoramic view (if you have a room with the right facing). Rooms are new and very clean. Don't think you can put in an extra bed. Good ventilation too. Convenient location. Very reasonable rates. Although some taxi drivers may not be familiar with the hotel.

Only problem is the long queues at the front desk and one harried male staff who need to temper his tone on queries made. The Club floor desk staff were very professional and helpful.

Other than a couple of not too friendly staff members, everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8_Eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have just returned from 7 nights in Hong Kong at this hotel. Stayed in Gold Superior rooms on Level 21. Package included breakfast every day. Cannot fault this hotel. Staff are efficient, they were always available when I had a query, they gave us complimentary late check out, rooms were spotless and well serviced every day. Loads of restaurants within a 2 minute walk - try Stonegrill in the building next door - there is an excellent French restaurant round the corner, a supermarket in the K1 building around the corner in Hanoi Rd.

Travel from airport was a breeze via the train and the bus (K3 from Kowloon station) to the Hyatt around the corner - then a very short walk to the hotel.

Tip - do not keep your room keys near other credit cards - it can erase data from the room keys.

All in all a great holiday with family was made even better by a great hotel! Breakfast on Level 38 started each day the right way!

Room Tip: Try to go for the Gold Superior or above - if you don't smoke make it clear you don't want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynmore58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,857 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,637 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,917 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama by Rhombus

Property: Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Address: 8A Hart Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama by Rhombus 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus is the tallest triangular deluxe business hotel overlooking Victoria Harbour in Tsim Sha Tsui. A mere 2-minute walk from the MTR East Tsim Sha Tsui Station, one stop from the MTR Hung Hom Station and a 5-minute drive from the Hong Kong China Ferry Terminal. Contemporary guestrooms range in Silver to Gold and Club HarbourView to Executive Club HarbourView, featuring floor-to-ceiling windows and breathtaking views of Victoria Harbour or the city. Each guestroom is equipped with complimentary handy smartphone with unlimited local & international calls*, and unlimited mobile internet. Located at the lobby level, Cafe Express offers casual dining experience while AVA Restaurant Slash Bar on the 38th floor with a breathtaking Victoria Harbour views is set to impress. Other facilities include Rhombus Club Executive Lounge, Meeting Rooms, Fitness Centre, Business Centre and Sky Garden *International calls can be made to USA, China, Singapore, Australia and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Panorama by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama By Rhombus Hotel
Panorama Hotel Hong Kong
Panorama By Rhombus Hong Kong
Hotel Panorama Hong Kong
Hotel Panorama By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing