We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a local joint, dressed up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #176 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 19, 2014

1. They announced my room number loudly at the reception. (Hey, I'm a single lady traveller... no need for potential stalkers... thanks!)
2. Quick check-in, the junior staffers seemed more eager and professional.
3. Clearly the concierge and reception folks don't get along. (Not the business of guests, but don't let that spill over to service, thank you very much!)_
4. Only one senior manager (sorry forgot his name) seemed experienced enough to clean up service-level messes.
5. The gym is a farce, something that the hotel's cleaning ladies laugh about too... ;) it is a windowless (seemed so) room with hardly any space between machines jammed together. And hardly any ventilation. Imagine the sweat fumes building up! Yikes!
6. Guests become too dependent on the shuttle bus. Yes you can walk but if you're travelling with folks who can't go the distance, there would be huge challenges.
7. Housekeeping is decent. Toilets (in both my rooms; got upgraded after a service boo-boo) were pretty well scrubbed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wongpriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I was with the family on my last visit and we took 3 rooms in total. All the rooms were spacious with living room and bedroom having a separation (as requested) and the beds were comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and the location is quite central for us which we wanted it to be as we were tired of Kawloon and wanted a change.

We will be back soon.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Threefingered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I had a great room, very spacious with own sitting room. Did find bed very hard. I did find it weird that there wasn't complimentary bottled water in the rooms to drink as its recommend not to drink the water from the tap. I had dinner in the 3rd floor restaurant - very nice and great service. I liked that the tram stop was straight out side. It did take about an hour to get to the main shopping district.

Jon on concierge was great, took the time to explain near attractions and how the tram system worked as it was my first time to Hong Kong.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank JLS_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had a pleasant stay in this hotel in end of May 2014. The room rate was reasonable with free upgrade offer. The rooms were spacious compared with other hotels in same district. The bed with soft mattress were comfortable and I slept very well at night. Staff service was very good. They were very polite and patient.

Although it is not close to Hong Kong Central, the transportation is still convenient. There are trams in front of the hotel main entrance and many bus stops are outsides the hotel.I will stay in this hotel again when I come to Hong Kong next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Pros : Location. Central of Des Voeux Road. Hotel entrance and lobby looks good.there are three lifts. Trams to kennedy market and 5B buses stop right outside the hotel. 2.3 HKD to HK central and it takes ~ 5 mins

Cons : small rooms by international standards and so-so by HK std. Coir beds. Hotel DOES NOT provide drinking water. the ones in the fridge is 3x the cost of same water sold in 711. I think the lady at the desk was vic / vicky. she was rude . willey was courteous. .

Nothing great about this place. come, sleep, go. you can forget this easily unless you have any other out of the way supernatural experiences here. wanted to give 2.5, but not possible..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gop G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Hotel is very average. Rooms are specious compared to other hotel in HK. But A/C does not have a heater, so watch out in winter. The bed is hard, it was good for my back pain, but people with no pain will definitely find it uncomfortable.

The buffet breakfast is very very average at HK@ 77, so better go to dozen of nearby local fast food chains. MTR (subway) is 20 minutes walk away, not nearby in HK heat. But trams and buses stops are just out side the Hotel.

Staff are just blanks, do not make any effort to welcome you or make you feel good. They really lack hospitality trainings.

Hotel is good only if you receive really good discounts on rooms rates only, on average rate the hotel is expensive compared to the services and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in May 2014. Actually, its has only one contra - it is old. The rest is just great. If you book a double room - then you'll be given a great big room for sure. It has a proper spacy bathroom with a shower cabin and a choice of big queen bed or two regular beds. The location is ok, still the MTR is not close. But taking a tram is easy and the stop is nearby. Restaurants and 7-11s around work till very late. The staff in the lobby is great and can speak good English. Also, there's a guy asking for your room number near the elevators for extra security. It is quite useful, especially over the weekends when many Philipino and Indonesian domestic helpers hang around everywhere in Hong Kong and in hotels as well. I definitely will stay in this hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Grand City Hotel
#177 of 725 in Hong Kong
185 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#480 of 725 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#93 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $76 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing