We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #176 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is good value for money, staff were pretty ok but expected much more from Ramada. It was a bit away from the airport as I used it for my transit. There are buses going right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanami1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ramada is one of the many Hotels in Hong Kong but it has nothing that made it stand out as special. Rooms were clean, as they should be in a hotel and the staff were friendly. The included breakfast was not very good for western customers and the staff did not make you feel as though we were welcome, it was more you are in our way feeling from the staff. Would not suit wheel chair access as the dining room was down a flight of stairs and it would be a hassle to get to with a wheel chair. For the money we paid I would have thought the hotel would be better. If the price was $50 a night it would be good value up to $70 would still be ok, but for what I paid I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Place is roomy and service is decent. Biggest issue is I killed 3 cockroaches in my room. But this is HK and like NYC where I live I feel this is just common especially around the neighborhood surrounding it. $100 a night USD I expected a little better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This has become a regular haunt on my visits to Hong Kong. It is well situated with the tram outside the door and close to the airport express and ferries. Overall the rooms are well laid out and if a bit dated, clean and functional. Since they introduced free wifi a year or so ago any objection to using them has gone and there is a convenience store and a Starbucks next door.

Its worth walking to the hotel from Central, if only to smell and see the dried sea food markets

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel exterior was nothing to shout about and I was apprehensive at my choice. The reception had seen a better day. But the staff work very very hard and they catered to my every request.

Service is superb front desk sorted out reservation issues, engineering speedily fixed my internet. House keeping was prompt, efficient and kept the room spotless.

But top management is lousy.

I slept my first evening only to be woken by a warm swerage smell coming into the room. But I was not sure. It was 3 am and I just shrug it off. The second night it hit again but this time stronger forcing me to open the windows and run the air con blower full blast. I still could not figure the stench. On my last nite I found the source at 5 am. By this time I had caught a sore throat from the inhalation of these foul fumes. It was coming from the toilet and it was evident that a sewer line was busted or backing up. Towels to the toilet door gaps made things bearable.

I told the staff and they were profusely apologetic. I even sent an email with incriminating pictures of towels used the night before. But not a squeak, and not an offer of discount or remorse from their CEO of the group whom I had sent my email to.

Next time stay at SOFITEL. The price is almost the same and rest assuredly they would take their service seriously.

Yours sincerely.

M Williams

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mightymo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent location, service and complete value for money. Very good connectivity for public transport and a free shuttle service to central. The hotel staff is very disciplined and are very courteous with timely service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Aditya Kumar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada HK in April 2013, we highly recommend the hotel, great location ++. If you want a real Hong Kong experience! this is the place. Great value for money! The Tram stops directly at the front of the hotel and can catch the trams just down the road to go into Sheung Wan to catch the MTR. The staff were very friendly, however we did get a room with twin beds, but we didn't mind as we placed the beds together anyway. You have a 7-11 store just up from the hotel on the Des Voeux Road! There is also a great place to eat called the King Prawn vietnamese restaurant just up the road, and at the end of the day, we only slept in room, as we spent more time out and about than in the room. If you do travel to Hong Kong we highly recommend that you purchase a octopus card at the airport, it's the best thing, you can use it on all public transport. The best shopping is in Kowloon, Mong Kok especially for mobile phones, electronics & markets to barter for a good price. Definitely going back at the end of the year, it's the best place, nicest people, great food, restaurants every where & the best sites. It's all about what you make of it.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheeriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Grand City Hotel
#177 of 725 in Hong Kong
185 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#91 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,784 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#479 of 725 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $76 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splitty, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing