We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“At the right price - fine for a night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #160 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
lincs UK
Level Contributor
399 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“At the right price - fine for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The price we paid for this hotel for one night including a check out at 16.00 hours represented good value for money.Staff were very friendly & helpful, beds firm - the type we like. Quiet room overlooked some rather dingy apartments at the back of the hotel - but not so different from many hotels. I am sure in its day this would have been a very 'posh' hotel, but it has been overtaken. Breakfast was a bit limited.

Internet facilities available - able to check in for flight - but could not print boarding passes - printer not working

The airport shuttle buses do not run to this side of the Island. A taxi from Central was approx $40HK plus $10HK for 2 pieces of luggage - make sure you have the name of the hotel writen in Chinese. A free shuttle bus ran from the hotel about every 45 mins to Central - which we used on all other occasions including when we departed. Lots of public buses & trams ran past the front door - ask a member of staff for help

The area around the hotel was full of small shops - you could find most types of food to buy locally.

For dinner we went to the Lonely Planet recommended Kwun Kee Restaurant - some 10 mins walk away (down the the side of McDonalds), ask a member of staff for directions. There is also a Chinese restaurant on site & locals were eating there & it was Monday night after all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    450
    253
    68
    47
See reviews for
150
204
153
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I used to live in Hong Kong and we chose this hotel because it was close to my old neighborhood. It's in a great area if you want to have the traditional Hong Kong experience. The restaurants around are very typical of Hong Kong and so are the shops. It's close to some of the historical areas. Unfortunately, they don't have heating and the rooms can get cold if you are traveling in the winter so it would be good to keep that in mind. Also keep in mind that it is difficult to switch from twin beds to a double and vice versa. We made a mistake while booking and found out it's expensive to change. It's also not possible to simply shift the beds since they can't be moved!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siloysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is simple with only one restaurant but what is great is the location and rooms. Rooms on a higher floor offer beautiful view of the bay and also are nice and spacious. So you can have a great room with a great view for a faction of a price as against other hotels in this area.
The tram station is just in front of the hotel and so its very convenient for commuting within the city. Staff is professional.
As there is only 1 restaurant serving only Chinese fare and breakfast was not included, did not try the food.
But the area is totally dead and quite in evenings and if you are looking for action and excitement which is HK is famous for, you can look at other areas instead.

Stayed here twice and both stays were pleasant.

Go for it for affordable rooms in a business location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhruvdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/a
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights while waiting to join a larger group on the Kowloon side, glad I was here first. The hotel was a bit farther from Hong Kong Station than I had envisioned, but it gave me the opportunity to ride the double deck buses with the typhoon windows. If you can manage it, get a room that faces the water.

The room was excellent, bed was very comfortable and it had a giant shower. I would not hesitate staying here again, but would prefer being somewhere closer to TST or Central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purelywasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Remember it's Hong Kong. The room is spacious considering the price i paid was very reasonable and they updated me to a suite. furniture and facility is a bit old but functioning, tidy and clean. Only the position of the TV comparing to bed is a little weird.
Location is a short tram/taxi transit away from Sheung Kwan, so it's convenient. Staff were efficient. The hotel lobby is not very bright but you don't live in the lobby anyway.
It was totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissEchoechoecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed and experiance was good , also there is Jain temple near by in Tim sha sui We were welcomed with a little hicup at the front desk but was quickly resolved by GRO Eunice. We went to our room to settle down and Room Service came with a small fruit plate. Indeed a very good...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDJAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysian
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is more of a functional hotel rather than a pleasant hotel. I was visiting with my friend in HK.

1. The beds are extremely hard. It was impossible to get comfortable in the bed as I do not like my bed that firm.

2. It was clean and the furniture was dated however we hardly hang out in the room.

3. The show was powerful however it was a really small cubicle.

4. It was really conienent location for the tram which was great for all the travels.

5. The rooms are really cold and we asked for additional duvets as there were none in the room.

Overall, it was an OK hotel however will most probable not give it a try again for my next visit to HK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#345 of 703 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Grand City Hotel
#175 of 703 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#461 of 703 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#140 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#93 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#74 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing