We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap but cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #186 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap but cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you stay here, get a suite,very cheap large room, some Hong Kong hotel rooms are small, views of harbour,central location , don't pay for overpriced hotels book this. The pictures only show you the worst things. I would give it 8/10

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    427
    235
    60
    44
See reviews for
142
191
139
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rooms are neat and clean and staff is friendly but at the price paid I would have expected a fat better breakfast menu than the current buffet breakfast served. Breakfast was quite awful. Also no real place to sit down and have a nice cup of coffee during the day at the hotel. The Cafe is in the hotel but is cold atmosphere and also not friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford, mi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with my overnight stay here. The hotel is a beautiful older hotel with nice touches. Free wifi and large rooms make it feel homey. It's located at west end of city (so it is quiet and safe) and right in front is local $2.30 HKD tram ride to/from where the action is. Room was reasonable (but Hong Kong taxes added another 50% to cost :) Still I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t5825db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was my third time staying at the Ramada HK and the first time with two kids (1 and 3 years old). Overall, another positive value for money experience:

+room is very big and features a sliding door into the bedroom which is great as can close when the kids are asleep and watch TV
+decor is a bit retro (which I like in a way as I could imagine what the place was like 20 years ago) but room is very clean
+lots of counter / table top space which is very useful when you have young kids (e.g. space to dry bottles)
+I've always had a great view of the harbour which the kids love
+service is pretty decent and prompt
+location is pretty central without paying for Central prices
+hotel shuttle to Sheung Wan and Central stations is great and from there everything is accessible (Disney Land, Central, ferries, etc)
+reasonable number of restaurants are in the area (not fine dining, but pretty much what we were looking for) in addition a number of convenience stores and grocery stores
+tram goes by in front of hotel which didn't cause any noise and was fun for the kids to ride
+free wifi in lobby was fast

My only points for improvement (although they wouldn't impact my decision to stay again)
-elevators can be slow, especially when large tour groups check in
-shower in bathroom is very small

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked the hotel through a travel website and got a good deal on the room. Had a Queen suite as part of the free upgrade package. 1st room we were in was very dated and had dark green carpet and smelt a bit. Probably due to not being used for a while. Asked to move which was no issue and 2nd room had much nicer carpet which meant it seemed lighter and bigger.

Room size is good for HK, but still not huge. Bathroom is fine.

Would we come back... yes, but we would also look at alternatives first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel very busy! Not updated. Room clean, but not best.
Free wifi at the room very slow :(((
Good for short stay. Bed very hard, but OK for me!
I have small suite, size is good, not small, with working area and seating sofa.
Airconditioner very noise and not well working.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 884888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Extremely handy to everything. Staff were extremely helpful and informative giving directions for trains, buses and taxis. Nothing too much trouble. Kept us well inform throughout our first Typhoon experience.
Make a point of always staying here when travelling to Hong Kong.
The rooms are not large but we only need them for showering and sleeping - we were to busy seeing the sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#256 of 697 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Grand City Hotel
#178 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#367 of 697 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
#281 of 697 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#72 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing