We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good and reasonable hotel in Hong Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #160 of 701 Hotels in Hong Kong
waterford, mi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good and reasonable hotel in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with my overnight stay here. The hotel is a beautiful older hotel with nice touches. Free wifi and large rooms make it feel homey. It's located at west end of city (so it is quiet and safe) and right in front is local $2.30 HKD tram ride to/from where the action is. Room was reasonable (but Hong Kong taxes added another 50% to cost :) Still I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t5825db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    449
    252
    68
    46
See reviews for
150
203
152
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was my third time staying at the Ramada HK and the first time with two kids (1 and 3 years old). Overall, another positive value for money experience:

+room is very big and features a sliding door into the bedroom which is great as can close when the kids are asleep and watch TV
+decor is a bit retro (which I like in a way as I could imagine what the place was like 20 years ago) but room is very clean
+lots of counter / table top space which is very useful when you have young kids (e.g. space to dry bottles)
+I've always had a great view of the harbour which the kids love
+service is pretty decent and prompt
+location is pretty central without paying for Central prices
+hotel shuttle to Sheung Wan and Central stations is great and from there everything is accessible (Disney Land, Central, ferries, etc)
+reasonable number of restaurants are in the area (not fine dining, but pretty much what we were looking for) in addition a number of convenience stores and grocery stores
+tram goes by in front of hotel which didn't cause any noise and was fun for the kids to ride
+free wifi in lobby was fast

My only points for improvement (although they wouldn't impact my decision to stay again)
-elevators can be slow, especially when large tour groups check in
-shower in bathroom is very small

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked the hotel through a travel website and got a good deal on the room. Had a Queen suite as part of the free upgrade package. 1st room we were in was very dated and had dark green carpet and smelt a bit. Probably due to not being used for a while. Asked to move which was no issue and 2nd room had much nicer carpet which meant it seemed lighter and bigger.

Room size is good for HK, but still not huge. Bathroom is fine.

Would we come back... yes, but we would also look at alternatives first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel very busy! Not updated. Room clean, but not best.
Free wifi at the room very slow :(((
Good for short stay. Bed very hard, but OK for me!
I have small suite, size is good, not small, with working area and seating sofa.
Airconditioner very noise and not well working.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 884888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Extremely handy to everything. Staff were extremely helpful and informative giving directions for trains, buses and taxis. Nothing too much trouble. Kept us well inform throughout our first Typhoon experience.
Make a point of always staying here when travelling to Hong Kong.
The rooms are not large but we only need them for showering and sleeping - we were to busy seeing the sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

it is clearly felt some colonial spirit in the hotel - rich rich rich exterior and interior. When you look closer, you find some defects.
We stayed in the hotel in the end of january. I guess it's one of the coldest periods. It was rather cold in the romm we got at first- it was a corner room with 2 glass walls. After one cold night we managed to change it for another which was warmer but anyway we needed to sleep in full equipment and with double blankets. *But i guess it's the peculiarity of the Hong-kong citizens-when we were totally frozen, residents were wearing t-shirts and slippers and turned on air-conditioning at full capacity
The staff of the hotel was rather nice.
The hotel had a very useful shuttle-bus to the centre (it takes about 20 minutes walking from the closest subway station).
It would be better if the hotel offered free wi-fi for guests. Otherwise, you need to buy a card for 30 minutes or 1 hour. Or use PC (there are just 3 machines for the whole hotel)
A safe in the room is a great advantage. You may also use another one at the reception
Good room service
Very convenient location in relation to the airport- you can reach the hotel directly by city bus
It's a good deal for this money!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninelle-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Decent and especially clean hotel with a good location, low rates but no frills. Wifi is free and fast, which I liked a lot about this hotel, but breakfast is medium...
If you are looking for a safe choice that will neither disappoint nor surprise you, thats the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#294 of 701 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Grand City Hotel
#174 of 701 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#462 of 701 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#144 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#90 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#74 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing