We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for independent travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Two MacDonnell Road
Ranked #129 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed in 2 Macdonnell Road in December 2013. The serviced apartments are a reasonable size (I had a junior suite) which by HK standards was average. The cooking facilities are good and there is a supermarket just across the road under the YMCA. On one side you can walk through the Botannical Gardens, the other walk down through Hong Kong Park through to Pacific Place Shopping Centre (head for the Conrad and Shangri La Hotels). The staff are friendly and could not do more to make my stay comfortable. The 12A bus is excellent to get you to and from Central or Admiralty MTR stations, which means you don't have to endure a long arduous walk up the hill. 12A leaves from outside CHARTER HOUSE in Central which makes it very convenient from Central MTR. Overall an excellent hotel for those who would prefer to cook their own meals.

Room Tip: 3001 was a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

I lived at Two MacDonnell Road for 4 months - it was chosen by my company and was only about an 8-minute walk from my office and maybe 12 minutes from the main part of Central. The location is really nice (and apparently MacDonnell road is a 'prestigious address' in Hong Kong), taking the longer walk down MacDonnell Road in the morning was nice and peaceful. The Park-n-shop supermarket being literally across the street, along with a couple of decent restaurants and massage places (never managed to make it for a massage, so I can't attest to that) was definitely very useful. Taxis were usually easy to get, though sometimes would be 'stolen' by people across the street :o( The service was always polite and professional bordering on friendly, and the room service food was good, with a 'set meal' changing daily. I never ate in the actual restaurant, though. The gym had a decent view, given the location high up in the mid-levels, but the air was pretty dead, and there was no 'changing area' to speak of - fair enough, I guess it's a small hotel. The studios are small for a longer stay, I ended up moving into an Exec suite, and would recommend that. The prices are a bit steep, though, for the facilities and service being altogether average-to-good, but I guess that's Hong Kong for you...!

Room Tip: Don't recommend studio for more than short stays. Exec suite has a good amount of space for long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This review is relevant only for the Coffee Shop at 2 Macdonnel Road.
We stepped into the cafe at about 7.30 pm for dinner.
We had ordered the Fillet of Sole & Nasi Goreng, the service was pretty fast & food was tasty.
However, from 8.15pm, after a few minutes of getting our dinner, we were asked to "Hurry up" as they close the shop at 9pm. Finally at 8.30, when we finished with our dinner, we were (politely) asked to leave since the shop had to be closed at 9pm.
I wasnt too pleased that even though they were open for dinner till 9pm, we were being rushed & had to leave half hour before closing.
Location wise, our table was at the end, near the windows, which gave us great views of the city.
Overall, great food, good views but you are rushed to leave soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LaVoyageurMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at Two MacDonnell Road for 6 weeks when I moved to HK in October 2010. It was absolutely fine as a base to start with but could do with a microwave in room. The hot plate was a little dodgy but I was out and about, exploring my new home. The gym is adequate, laundry service efficient and room service was ok.

I know it's used for a few companies (most people I knew in my company who were expats had stayed here at some point) so it may not be the best place to be on holiday. It is centrally located though and I loved wandering across to the Zoological gardens to see the monkeys at the weekends. Handy minibus service down into town too.

Room Tip: The high floor tip others have given will enhance your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location- a bit far from metro, take some time to walk up there. But there is a bus at metro Admiralty can take you up there. The area is residence, not so much shop or store. Quiet at night. When you go back late, you might need to take taxi. Not in the downtown. It is not far from the mountain railway, take about 10mins walk to the station. Taking taxi wont cost you much.

No breakfast. With Gym. Wifi accessed.

Room- clean, because they dont have standard for my friends and me, they upgraded us to business suites, spacious, with simple kitchen, cozy living room. But for no reason,their aircon is freezing! I need to ask housekeeping to give me blanket, otherwise i would have to fight with my friend for quilt. With great view from room.

There are one tiny cvs around, and one supermarket, basically you can get anything you want, if you want to cook for your own.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you like to be in the center of the action, this probably isn't the hotel for you. It's located on a quiet residential street, and nearly everything is a taxi ride away. That said, the hotel is clean, the staff friendly, and the prices reasonable. Studio, one- and two-bedroom units are more like apartments than hotel rooms and seem to attract a lot of business people on short-term assignments. A free shuttle to downtown central runs early in the morning and again from about 5 to 7 p.m.

Room Tip: The higher priced executive suites offer nice views of downtown Hong Kong, especially from the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights and was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. I forgot to ask for a high floor with a view (as per previous reviews here on Tripadvisor) and think this is probably very good advice.

2 MacDonnell Road is functional. If you can get a good price, need to be near this area and don't need to stay too long then it's an OK service apartment.

The staff are pretty helpful, the internet connectivity is good and (for Hong Kong) the room size was good.

The service apartment is located in a residential area and therefore there is not much near by for food, bars, shops, etc. There is a good super market opposite in the YWCA building.

The gym is basic. If you plan to lift weights then know a routine with relatively light dumbbells. There are some great urban run routes near by for runners, especially Bowen road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#172 of 729 in Hong Kong
684 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 729 in Hong Kong
859 reviews
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#132 of 729 in Hong Kong
403 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#95 of 729 in Hong Kong
630 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#65 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two MacDonnell Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two MacDonnell Road

Address: 2 Macdonnell Road | Mid-Levels, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $130 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Two MacDonnell Road 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hong Kong Island, Two MacDonnell Road enjoys a commanding position in the sightseeing, restaurants, shopping hub of Hong Kong. Situated only 1.2 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The facilities and services provided by Two MacDonnell Road ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like disabled facilities, airport transfer, car park, business center, coffee shop. The hotel features 213 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including television, microwave, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access - wireless, satellite/cable TV. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including fitness center, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Hong Kong, make Two MacDonnell Road your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Two MacDonnell Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Macdonnell Road
Two Macdonnell Road Hotel Hong Kong
Two Macdonnell Road Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing