We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New discovery in HK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Two MacDonnell Road
Ranked #137 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“New discovery in HK!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

When I visit HK, I prefer to stay in Central. But the hotels are often very expensive when there is an event or exhibition going on. This week was not an exception, with the art fair took place. But fortunately enough I found this hotel(Actually it is a serviced residence, even better!!!!). It's next to the botanical garden in Central, not far away from SOHO and Lan Kwai Fong(But it's complicated to walk to there). 5min walk to the peak tram station, 10 min to the Connaught Rd Central for metro and tram, another extra 5 min to IFC/HK station. (But since it's on the hill, it's easy to go down but difficult to go up, especially in a hot humid day in HK.. walking is not very recommended..). By taxi it takes less than 5 min to IFC(25HKD), and also there is a bus going to central in front of the building.
The room was spacious(by HK standard of course) and clean, and the view from the room was fantastic. Cheap room service option. Kitchen was nice and had amenities I needed for the simple cooking.
Bishop Lei International or Garden YMCA are similar to this one. While Bishop Lei is better located(very close to the mid-level escaltor, easily walkable to Central or IFC) and has a swimming pool, Two Macdonnel has better rooms(btw there are no twin bed rooms here).
Overall, it was a pleasant 2 days in Two Macdonnel, good value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutchutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    63
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
46
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights. The accommodation was clean and well serviced every day. Slight irritations: there was no toaster or grill/oven in the kitchen. We also struggled to open a window: when it's cold inside with air con, you want to open a window to feel the outside air temperature to know what to wear! Also, the beds were a little hard and small. Given I'd booked the 'family suite' one tiny double and a single was all we got. I have three children and did this trip as a 'reckie' and would struggle to see this even fitting a family of 4. Other than that, we were very happy with the views, location, helpfulness and discreetness of staff. For those wanting a serviced apartment I'd wholeheartedly recommend this one. It is expensive for what you get, but in comparison to everything else in hong kong it is fair.

Room Tip: Don't go buying lots of bread hoping to have toast in the morning - there is no toaster! Likewis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madelainesaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at 2 Macdonnell rd for a month. What we love the most about this place is the location. Its so easy to get everywhere, The bus stop is only two steps away and theres always a bus coming in every 10 minutes. never had to wait long for a cab, the staff can always stop a cab for you with pleasure. Plus shuttle bus is available every morning and afternoon to take us to central which is only 10 - 15 mins away by walking.
There is a supermarket At Coda plaza across the road from the hotel where you can get almost everything you need. There is no wifi on the room but you can get a small travel router, so we always has a reliable wifi. The staff always smile, says hello, and get us anything we want so quickly. So far, this is the best accommodation we had in Hongkong, and we def will be back!! We miss living in 2 macdonnell rd, and hope to come back again soon!! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ummnabeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just come back from 10 days in HK. We chose 2 Macdonnell Road as it had a 2 bedroom unit marketed as a "Family Suite"... when we arrived the extra bed (we have 2 children) was wedged in between the dining table and the sofa in the living/dining room... I knew it would be tight space wise (this is HK afterall) but was disappointed as I was led to believe 2 single beds could fit in the second room... they sorted it out by taking the desk out of the second room and squeezing it in but it meant there was no space even to open the cupboard...

The location is great. Buses from central stop right outside, as do most taxis. That for me was the best point about it.

They could do better but having things such as washing up liquid and a sponge, perhaps sugar sachets, salt and pepper... this is self catering... even the most basic B&B these days offers such like. The prices are equivalent to many top hotels so I felt short changed.

There is a good supermarket 2 minutes walk down the hill too for all essentials.

Beds were rock hard, and very small... if you are over 5 ft 8 you feet will hang off the end.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better as quite a lot of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here for a month in December in a Deluxe Suite (2 rooms), while my colleague stayed in a Standard Room. Both had lovely views. The staff is friendly and the place is right near a supermarket, and the park. Even nicer is that right above it is a wonderfully magical walk along Bowen Road--it hugs the mountains but is flat and affords you incredible views through the canyons of buildings, yet you are in the forest. A nice respite from the tough walks during the day! The beds are hard, though. Towels are changed every day, except the weekend, and bed linens are changed every other day. The monthly rate makes this a better choice than the Y across the street. The gym is small but the view is great. Internet is free in your room, but if you need to use a computer, the business center has one for $HK25/30 min.

Room Tip: Sometimes the birds in the park are a bit noisy so higher floors would be better. If you want space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babzkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I actually lived in this place for 7 years before their big renovation. 75% of their guests were long term residents. Friendly front desk staff, same housekeeping maids assigned to a few floors, I know they keep a memo of each long staying guests special needs = personal touches!
After the renovation, I returned to be a short term guest. Hotplate in kitchenette changed to induction hob - boils water in minutes! Free lan internet, direct phone line number. Clean and OK spacious - for it's price in HK it's already spacious. All kitchen utensils provided. Nice view in most rooms. Even the ones facing buildings are of a good distance. They didn't change the bathroom, so still the old ones, but well kept. Down side - 2 bedrooms suites has only 1 bathroom. Lower floor harbor facing rooms might get the mid-night cries from the monkeys in the zoo.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is good for long term stay solo travelers, 01 is a corner room with excellent natural l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocket4rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our second time staying here and both times we enjoyed it. Rooms are clean and the service is fantastic! Both times we had great views of the city!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browniemdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#150 of 716 in Hong Kong
660 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#151 of 716 in Hong Kong
947 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 716 in Hong Kong
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#30 of 716 in Hong Kong
291 reviews
Central
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
#165 of 716 in Hong Kong
644 reviews
Central
Butterfly on Wellington
Butterfly on Wellington
#42 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two MacDonnell Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two MacDonnell Road

Property: Two MacDonnell Road
Address: 2 Macdonnell Road | Mid-Levels, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two MacDonnell Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hong Kong Island, Two MacDonnell Road enjoys a commanding position in the sightseeing, restaurants, shopping hub of Hong Kong. Situated only 1.2 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The facilities and services provided by Two MacDonnell Road ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like disabled facilities, airport transfer, car park, business center, coffee shop. The hotel features 213 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including television, microwave, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access - wireless, satellite/cable TV. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including fitness center, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Hong Kong, make Two MacDonnell Road your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Two MacDonnell Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Macdonnell Road Hotel Hong Kong
2 Macdonnell Road
Two Macdonnell Road Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing