We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and value (for HK)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Ranked #67 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value (for HK)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

A small, simple hotel which is perfectly located as a base to tour HK and Kowloon. Excellent public transportation access - tram (just across the road), bus (2 mins walk), MTR (6 mins walk), ferry (wan chai pier). Lots of restaurants on Lockhart St (behind the hotel... between Hennessy and the Convention Centre). There are several convenient stores, including a supermarket, nearby.

The rooms are well proportioned (I got an upgrade), large bathroom with all the amenities. Was pleasantly surprised that they even provided complimentary toothbrush, razor (since it's a 3 star hotel). A safe in the room is also a big plus. Not noisy at all (but maybe because my room was not facing the main road). Modern decor and kept very clean.

Staff and service are very good. They even have a turndown service!

Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location, Service, Price
  • Disliked — -
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    511
    144
    34
    14
See reviews for
121
205
133
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

The hotel facade is non descript, the small lobbly area clean and sharp. The staff were efficient and helpful when necessary. The room had all the basics and was suitable for my needs. The bed was firm but I didn't mind and heard very little noise given the location. The shower worked well and the room safe was handy. The hotel was clean, immacualte actually and the location was just right, access to everything.

Pros
Near MTR - 5 min walk
Close to Pacific Place Dept store - 10 minute walk
Not so seedy bars and plenty of restaurants nearby
Catch bus to Stanley markets
Near Computer building, 3 levels
Catch the Trams to - cheap as chips and more convenient than the MTR, stops on next road across, 1 min away - excellent!

Con
N power points at bed head or by th side.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No luxury, lol
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilzonwheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

I tried out the Metropark at Wanchai after the mostly positive reviews, but was unfortunately a little disappointed. That said, there were some positives:

- good location: while the hotel is a block from the red light district, you wouldn't notice it if you stay on Hennessy Road. Wanchai is not the most glorious location in HK but it's exceptionally convenient for MTR, buses and trams and would get you to most places on the island in a flash for a fraction of the price of the hotels at Admalty.

- service: the staff at the hotel do seem to pride themselves in providing good service to their customers. While it was disappointing to be given a twin bed room (having made a reservation 2 months in advance) they did managed to change it to a double bed on the 2nd night.

Having experienced two rooms, I would say one's experience in the hotel depends on the room one's given. For what is a reasonably new hotel the twin room we stayed in earlier had an awful damp smell and was very small and dark (okay, I know this is not a 5 star hotel). The double room we were given for the next night was much better, although the shower curtain still give out an awful smell.

As I said, I think the hotel is okay, but for the price there are lots of better alternatives in HK.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in Oct 08 - primarily as a shopping stopover. I booked the basic room, but on my arrival (which was 3 or 4 hours before normal check in), not only did they have the room ready, they upgraded me to their new product (their words not mine) called the Lady Only room. Well I was on my own and female so I guess I qualified! Room was really big, views over Hennessy Road, I'd say the hotel had recently been renovated as the bathroom was pretty swish. The usual hard bed as is to be expected in China. The only thing I could fault was that the bathroom lighting over the makeup mirror was a bit dark, but on the upside a fan in the bathroom so no foggy mirrors. And there were scales in the room - not that I wanted to weigh myself mind you, handy though to make sure all bags are below the luggage allowance! Breakfast was standard buffet. There are a few mcdonals in the area if a cheap quick breakfast is what you are after! The hotel was near the Wanchai MTR and I walked to Pacific Place (about 10 minutes) before it got too busy. Very helpful reception. Oh, I nearly forgot - a pillow and blanket menu if you don't like what they've provided!

  • Liked — Large room, very clean, great location, value for money
  • Disliked — Bathroom lighting bit dark
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minka19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

Stayed here for a night only after spending 3 nights at Excelsior. Room is spacious. Was told by the front desk we were upgraded to a deluxe room. We were expecting a queen size bed but was given a twin bed. We were also given discount voucher for their breakfast and dinner buffet but didn't avail it. They don't give extra buffer with their checkout. Should checkout exactly at 12pm or key won't work and had to ask front desk to open it again.

Location: Its near the red light district. MTR is just a few minutes walk. Across the street is the Empire Hotel which is very convenient if you're taking the Airport Express since the H1 bus stops there.
The nearest MTR is also close to the Wanchai Computer Center. Wellcome and 7 Eleven is also nearby. Other than that, don't expect much especially shopping around the area.

Room: Room is clean and spacious. LCD TV, safe and minibar.

Would stay here again but because of their exact 12pm checkout policy, we will try other hotels on our next visit.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Check out policy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. It was very nice and gives a good impression right from the lobby and it doesn't fail to impress in the rooms and the service as well.
The price was fantastic for what we got and the area is great to stay in. The tram stop and MTR station are only a couple of minutes walk.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank menina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

I went to Metropark Hotel Wanchai for a short business trip and stayed there for 3 nights total. The main reason for me to visit this hotel is the convenience location. It just took me few minutes walking to the subway and to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. The relatively low price of the hotel also engages me so much. After I get into the hotel, I found the value of the hotel is much higher than the price. In addition to very clean and tidy rooms, the modern design of the rooms and the extremely helpful customer service impressed me a lot! The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and were eager to help any way they could, if needed.

There are also some local authentic places to eat just around the corner from the hotel. Last but not least, those big shopping malls such as Time square and Sogo can be easily reached by subway. It just fit for the shopping lovers like me!

  • Liked — Clealiness and service rates first class and is fantastic for a budget inn.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gillian_kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#122 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#125 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#118 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#108 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Property: Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Address: 41-49 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal accommodation that is both central and accessible, Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong (Formerly Metropark Wanchai) is situated in the heart of Hong Kong's luxury commercial, shopping and entertainment district. In great proximity to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre as well as the Mass Transit Railway Station, making it a breeze to get around the city that never sleeps. Each guest room showcases contemporary design with clear ambition for innovations and are equipped with LCD TV, Free Wi-Fi connectivity, electronic safety box, mini bar, central air-conditioning, spacious working desk and more. Our recent innovative installation is the multi-function handy smartphone which provides unlimited 3G data connectivity and also local and international calls for free during your stay. Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong (Formerly Metropark Wanchai) beckons as a homely and stylish accommodation option so that your experience in Hong Kong will exceed your expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing