We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I bargained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Ranked #66 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
576 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Much better than I bargained”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Location: Western end of Wanchai, not far from Admirality and Central, close to Causeway Bay
Hotel: 18 floors, roughly 10 rooms a floor, very good restaurant in-house
Room: Much bigger than I expected, good sized bed, writing desk etc, decent size washroom
Positives: Location, bigger room than I expected, clean, great for the price
Negatives: WC area a bit too small, foul smell from outside, room had horrible view
Ranking at time of writing: Ranked #87 of 595 hotels in HK

I had to spend a night in HK and opted for Metropark at Wanchai primarily due to its location between Central and Causeway Bay and its proximity to good restaurants and bars with live music.

I was promptly checked in, given a room on the topmost floor, but my room had a horrible view of the back side of our own building and nothing else. The room also had a foul smell when I entered, but later realized that the smell was emanating from outside (because the room service had left the bathroom door open). Once I closed the bathroom door, all was good. They have a dehumidifier in the room, which kept the room cool and dry. One -ve was that they didn't empty the water during turndown service and hence when I got home in the night it was full. Apart from that the service seemed good. The bed wasn't a problem, in fact I saw a small piece of information which offered several types of mattresses and pillows, guess there's one for all types of sleepers. As for me, as long as it doesn't squeak, I'm fine.

The bathroom wasn't super big, but not too shabby at all, was very clean; though the WC area was a bit cramped, but can't be changed, so got to live with that. The toiletries were of good quality and adequate, probably better than what one would expect in a 3 or 4 star hotel.

The hotel also houses a well known Spanish restaurant, didn't have the opportunity to try it, but rated pretty highly on TA. Skipped breakfast too as I went to Flying Pan down the road.

I was pleasantly surprised by the room and the hotel. Try to get a better facing room for yourself and management must instruct the cleaning staff to keep the bathroom door closed to avoid any unpleasant odour in the room. I requested for a late check-out and was offered a reasonable hour, but their per hour rate for extra stay didn't make sense - simply cause if I stayed 6 hours, I would end up paying an entire day's rate, so I think that they should drop those.

Room Tip: My room #xx10 didn't have a great view and may be due to its location relative to the other buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    528
    150
    36
    14
See reviews for
129
212
141
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Wan Chai and walking distance from Causeway Bay. The restaurant is great and the service is top notch. The only problem is the bed is hard as a rock. If you have jet lag...good luck trying to sleep. It is very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freejoe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOperations, Manager at Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member – Freejoe5

Thanks for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.com and your good words about hotel restaurant and service.

We have taken note of your comment about the bed and regretted that the option of soft mattress was not brought to your attention as a notice depicting the choices of soft mattress and pillows is on the bedside stand. However, the comment would still deserve our attention and consideration in order to bring more comfort of stay for our guests.

We are looking forward to the chance of providing you more pleasure of stay in future and you may contact us at doo.hkwh@metroparkhotels.com, then we will have your profile updated of this arrangement.

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was supposed to be upgraded by Amex, but when it came to check-in I was given a basic room. No complaints though as the room as very nice. Clean, contemporary wooden furniture and lots of mirrors. Plus - the designers seem to have actually thought about what a business traveller wants - a comfortable king-sized bed and pillows, a power shower (it was the most powerful spray I've experienced for a while), strong Wi-Fi connection in the room, the ability to turn off all the lights from the bed, a mini-safe big enough for your laptop computer, a TV showing good international channels, black-out curtains and a desk with power supply.

One gripe (common enough) is that there's no power plug by the bed so if you're charging your phone overnight and you set the alarm (there's no bedside clock), then it'll certainly make you get out of bed and walk over to silence it. The shower is over a bath, by the way, so it may be a bit tricky for some.

Service was brisk but friendly. The doorman will get you a taxi once he realises you're not going away without his help. There is a pricey restaurant (I didn't use it), a small gym and a downstairs cocktail bar which is also pricey and charges a lot for mediocre bar snacks. It's also very noisy and a bit garish for a pre-dinner business discussion. The lobby is small and no good for meetings either. So I recommend you avoid all this stuff as you're in a vibrant area surrounded by restaurants, bars and cafes in the surrounding streets. You're close to buses and trams, and the local MTR station is an easy two minute walk.

All in all then, an ideal place to rest after a long day at work, but get out and enjoy the area at night because the hotel restaurant and bar are not really that great.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade your room as the "Executive" one just has a free minibar and a jazzy ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeBizTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOperations, Manager at Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member – SingaporeBizTravel

Many thanks for your good words about our hotel and please let me recap the Amex upgrade would be offered for booking from our hotel official website and select the Amex Exclusive Offer. Hoping that this is not mistakenly interpreted.

We have taken note of your comment and concerned departments are required to look into any alternatives that may provide more comfort of stay rightaway. Our Executive level rooms are way much spacious than the basic rooms and for Executive package, apart from the daily replenished free minibar, it also comes with free flow of coffee & tea at the Parlor from 8am – 6pm, discounts on laundry and dinner consumption and the bathroom is also equipped with quality amenities. Hoping this piece of information would provide more insights of the value of the package whereas photos of our different Executive level rooms (Executive, Executive Spacious & Executive Studio) are displayed at our hotel official website that reflects a real layout and furnishing of the rooms.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel and the chance of being of service to you again. Should there be any assistance or service required, please feel free to contact us at doo.hkwh@metroparkhotels.com..

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I went a few days ago to The Parlor, the bar in this hotel with some friends. A very nice waitress called Amaia stopped us on the street and offered us a free pincho voucher. We had a really good time, Amaia was super friendly to us and pinchos were very tasty!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anadgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Last weekend I was with some friends in Wanchai when Amaia, a very friendly girl invited us to go into The Parlor, the bar in Metropark hotel, with a free coupon for a Spanish tapa, so tasty!! We had a very good time there, the treat was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very close to metro, clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. close to convention centre, star ferry, close to central, the peak one train stop away. Kowloon is easy to get to change trains at central. Great place to stay if you wanted to be on HONG KONG ISLAND.

Room Tip: Street food by the Wan Chai Station. Octopus card is good way to get around on the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadweller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I recently returned from a week-long business trip to Hong Kong and am glad that I chose to stay at the Metropark Wanchai. It offers many benefits to the business traveller, without the hefty price tag, and while maintaining a nice boutique feel.

I stayed in room 1211 on the "SHE" floor, exclusive for female travellers. This room was a larger executive room (and the bathroom was large enough to contain a full tub and shower combination), and cost about $1500 HK/night (roughly $210 Cdn/night). This was a bargain compared to other business hotels, such as the Conrad, Shangri-La, etc. While not as posh as some of these other hotels, it had a very nice boutique feel to it, and is located at street level in the Wanchai district, meaning one can feel very much part of city while there.

Others have mentioned the perks of the executive package, including full breakfast buffet, free mini bar, etc. All of these were wonderful to take advantage of while I was there. I enjoyed the buffet every morning, with freshly brewed coffee, traditional Chinese items such as congee, as well as Western staples like bacon and eggs.

I also found other items to be very helpful, including slippers and kettle in the room, and a large desk with bright lighting and a comfortable chair. The desk had a built-in compartment with several plugs, and a plug adaptor, which was a brilliant touch. There was also an in-room safe, as well as air conditioning and a de-humidifier. The room was very clean, and kept that way daily.

The only item they seemed to have overlooked was a chest of drawers or something similar for clothes storage. There is a decent-sized closet, but no drawers. The closet only had 3 regular hangers in it when I arrived, and 3 hangers with clips for pants or skirts, but I called down and extra hangers were delivered promptly and with a smile. As for clothes and items which I would normally store in a drawer, I simply folded these and laid them on top of the safe.

Service was very efficient and friendly. There was always someone to help me with luggage, or to hail a cab or provide directions.

The lobby is a bit small, but the one time I met with someone at the hotel, we were able to sit in The Parlour, a sitting area which serves drinks and snacks during happy hour.

The location was also hard to beat, less than 5 minutes walk from the Wanchai MTR, and perhaps 12 minutes to the Convention Centre via covered walkway. There were many interesting things to explore in the neighbourhood, such as Hung Shing Temple and The Pawn.

Others have complained about neighbouring construction noise, but I never found this to be a problem. I was up quite early most mornings, but even when I returned to my room for an occasional rest, the noise never bothered me.

I would definitely recommend to others, especially if staying for business.

Room Tip: Upgrading to an executive room is worthwhile. Staying on the SHE floor is nice for female travellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
101 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#74 of 718 in Hong Kong
925 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#122 of 718 in Hong Kong
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,964 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#136 of 718 in Hong Kong
369 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#67 of 718 in Hong Kong
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Property: Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Address: 41-49 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Metropark Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal accommodation that is both central and accessible, Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong (Formerly Metropark Wanchai) is situated in the heart of Hong Kong's luxury commercial, shopping and entertainment district. In great proximity to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre as well as the Mass Transit Railway Station, making it a breeze to get around the city that never sleeps. Each guest room showcases contemporary design with clear ambition for innovations and are equipped with LCD TV, Free Wi-Fi connectivity, electronic safety box, mini bar, central air-conditioning, spacious working desk and more. Our recent innovative installation is the multi-function handy smartphone which provides unlimited 3G data connectivity and also local and international calls for free during your stay. Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong (Formerly Metropark Wanchai) beckons as a homely and stylish accommodation option so that your experience in Hong Kong will exceed your expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing