We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok.....”
Review of Travelodge Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Kowloon
Ranked #363 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok.....”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel wasn't very clean, ended up switching rooms upon check in because the shower curtain had mildew on it. Next room wasn't that much cleaner. some of the staff were'nt too friendly or helpful but that's how alot of the people in hong kong are....Some of the views were of dirty old tenement buildings but i guess that's the charm of kowloon! Area didn't feel safe or nice because you are quite a way up from the waterfront but it's extremely accessible since you're so close to nathan road and temple street. i would say the rooms looked much better online. i wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear nashirm,

Thank you to stay with us and we are always glad to hear from our guests.
With regards comment about the room cleanliness and hospitality service, we will brief our teammates for further improvement to avoid reoccurrence.

We are glad to serve you again. We pledge to do our best and we would like you to see the improvement we had made.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    125
    78
    17
    10
See reviews for
60
80
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Rainbow hotel is a few minutes walk to the Jordan Train Station.
Being near to a train station gives you flexibility on wherever you want to go to within Hongkong since the HK MTR system is already interconnected.
Mongkok is just 2 stations away from Jordan which will bring you to the shopping and Food Areas.
Going to the other side will bring you to the famous Avenue of the Stars.

Room Tip: Since most of the time, you will be out of the hotel, a fair sized room is enough to leave your thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DU1NA_VK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear DU1NA_VK4,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment. Indeed, you have captured our hotel rather well. We are really located the heart of the city, as well as various renowned restaurants surrounding us. The Jordan MTR station and public transports are just 2 minutes walking distance away, granting super easy travel in Hong Kong.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2014. Booked a superior double room located at level 4. Room was spacious (taking into consideration hong kong's standard room size).
The superior room has no bath tub but the toilet space is alright. I do not recall switching on any aircon or heater so most prob it's a centralized system. It was 6 degrees Celsius during our stay and the hotel room Is cooling all the time.
The room came with daily semi buffet breakfast where u can order a maincourse (choice of fried eggs w/ ham, fried eggs w/ sausage, fried eggs w/ mushroom etc. Corn flakes, bread, fried bee hoon/noodles and fried rice are free flow. Beverage includes orange juice, ice water, coffee tea and milk.
It's a simple but filling breakfast.

Location wise, when u take A21 frm the airport, get down at stop #10 Nathan hotel, Nathan road. Once u get down the bus, turn right and walk pass Nathan hotel then Novotel (w/ prominent SASA sign board). Turn left into Saigon street. Hotel rainbow is on your right. Very easy.
Jordan Mrt is also abt 3 blocks away frm the hotel, maybe 2-3 mins walk.

The temple street and parkes street is just across the hotel, very convenient for tourists. There are eateries and fast food like macdonalds as well.

The hotel is also located along Nathan road where u can walk to tsim sha tsui or yau ma tai. There are so many shops along Nathan road.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I visit Hong Kong.

Overall, it's a very value for money hotel stay as we have stayed in hotel much smaller than this at about the same rate or even more expensive near mtr stations. The hotel is relatively new and staff are well versed in mandarin, English and Cantonese.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindeeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear lindeeah,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment. We are really located the heart of the city, as well as various renowned restaurants surrounding us. The Jordan MTR station and public transports are just 2 minutes walking distance away, granting super easy travel in Hong Kong.

We are sorry to hear that the weather was cold during your stayed. The heater service can be provided by reception or housekeeping. Please contact them if necessary.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a family vacation over the Chinese New Year holidays, and we booked 5 rooms. Unfortunately, not all our rooms were available by 4 PM, even if the check-in time was supposed to be 3 PM. Somehow, upon our request, they accommodated us by agreeing to a late check-out of 12 NN on our date of departure, instead of the usual 11 AM. As our flight back home was in the evening, and our pick-up for the airport was at 4:30 PM, we paid HK$330 to hold one room until 4 PM. The location is the best, with quick access to Nathan Road, and only a short walk to the MTR station. As well, it had a spacious driveway that allowed our tour bus to bring us and pick us up right in front of the hotel. The rooms were very clean and reasonably-sized. Would have preferred more bathroom amenities, including hooks, though! We found the semi-buffet breakfast filling, although unvaried through several days. The restaurant wait staff were very nice, especially one Filipina waitress who attended to us. It would also have been nice if the lobby had a waiting area with sofas. My elderly mother had to make do with the steps leading to the restaurant to sit and rest while waiting for the rest of the group when we went out. Overall, we liked the hotel and would consider staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear LizzieB57,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Rainbow Hong Kong. We appreciate your feedback and comments for the room arrangement and hotel amenities, we will review for further improvement.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Due to our flight being cancelled we weren't going to arrive at Hotel Rainbow until a day later then scheduled. I quickly shot them an email to which the promptly replied they would hold our room for us. This worked out perfectly as we got in approximately 7am and were able to walk straight into our room, clean up and go have breakfast (included in the room deal).
The rooms are tidy and clean, the location is extremely handy and I'd recommend the congee for breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanmbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla_Lo, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Shanmbc,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment our teammates are friendly with clean environment in a wonderful location.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I satyed in this hotel during my trip to Hong Kong in November 2013. The hotel is well well maintained and I was upgraded to a delux room and breakfast was included. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is quite close to Jordan Road and nathan Road both very busy streets and a vey short walk to the Metro at Jordan Road. The restaurant is very pleasant and the food was very good. However, it said that wi-fi was available, but try that I did I couldnt get on line. other than that very very good for the money I paid £52 per night for the delux bouble room with breakfast. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in the 5th floor and looked over a roof top running track on the school opposite, would have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla_Lo, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jeff B,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment. You are really captured the essence of our hotel rather well. We have friendly teammates in a wonderful location with various renowned restaurants surrounding us.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Located directly opposite Novotel HK so it is pretty easy to find the hotel even so for the cabbies. Less than 5 mins walk from Jordan train station. Less than 10mins walk to Temple street from the hotel. Only dislike about the hotel is the long but narrow bath area. Had to stand sideways to shower. Only toothpaste and tooth brush provided. Neither shower cap nor sewing kit is provided. Overall the room is very clean. The beds are comfortable. Staff were courteous and helpful. Direct bus to the airport just across the street and it only cost HKD33.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarebit_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla_Lo, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Rarebit_Ong,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments our friendly rainbow teammates in a wonderful location with essential facilities and services.
With regards comments on bath amenities, we will review for further improvement.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Noble Park Hotel
Noble Park Hotel
#212 of 718 in Hong Kong
47 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
652 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#166 of 718 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#99 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,257 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Kowloon

Property: Travelodge Kowloon
Address: No.23 Saigon Street, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Hotel Rainbow Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Kowloon 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet pocket of peace just steps away from the pulsating energy of Nathan Road in Jordan, Hotel Rainbow provides the perfect pathway to, as well as an ideal respite from the colourful excitement of Kowloon.The Hotel has 126 contemporary rooms, each designed for your comfort with a practical layout and plenty of space and natural light.Step outside the Hotel and it’s just a 2 minute walk to Jordon MTR Station, making it super easy to connect to all MTR stops throughout the city. Within minutes you can explore the abundance of shops in Tsim Sha Tsui and the famous street markets in Yau Ma Tei and Mong Kok.From Hotel Rainbow you can easily experience all the colours, sights and sounds of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. And no matter how late you return, your Security Card allows you safe and easy late night access to and from the Hotel.We welcome you to our peaceful little oasis and wish you an unforgettable stay in our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chung Hing Hong Kong
Travelodge Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing