We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just So So”
Review of Hongkong MK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hongkong MK Hotel
Ranked #432 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Actually it's been at least two years since I've stayed at this place. While the location is great along with the price the room is quite small and windowless. I recall seeing pipes all over the ceiling of my room. But then again I've lived in China for several years now. Nothing fazes me anymore.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tanyujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 417 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

Whatever you do, dont, dont ,dont, dont ,do not even entertain the thought of booking this hotel.

There are Baghdad hotels in better condition than this place.

Other than the location which is good but in a really shaddy but atmospheric area this place does not have even a single redeeming quality.

Where do I begin?

The bed had one blanket, the shower towel was tiny, the shower and the toilet were in the same area. There was a big hole in the window and it was dark, cool and noisy. Tiny, unclean and expensive for what you get. I think this place cost 30 pounds a night! It not even worth 3 pounds!

Unless you are into some kinky role playing please spend a little more money and get a better hotel or have another look round for something better.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James_attree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Great location; the reception area may fool you; the lifts are ok; the corridor gives cause for concern; but the rooms are your worst nightmare :-(
Bathrooms have exposed plumbing, poor fittings and faulty blinds, the bedrooms are cramped and furniture shoddy. None of the ceilings are lined, all services are exposed overhead. The decor is a revolting combination of mismatches.
The reception staff may at first seem friendly and helpful, but only until you hand over the money. Then they become belligerent and rude. The cleaners were the hotels saving grace, but they have little to work with.
Any savings you are offered are merely false economy, there are much better hotels at similar prices.
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and the worst value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sag_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Its a few years since I stayed here and surprised to hear its got worse, if that was possible. We left it too late to get somewhere nice and unfortunately this was really the only place within our budget. It wasn't unbearable but the rooms were tiny, service nonexistent and the area is grubby. Fortunately we only stayed for a weekend so it didn't spoil the experience badly.
I've since learned that the best thing to do is stay on the other side of the harbour even if it means going out a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

This is the worst hotel i have ever been! Room is small, dirty and smell moldy. The bathroom is even worst; There are molds everwhere, toilet bowl is dirty, curtain is extremly dirty and you have to bath right beside the toilet bowl. The staffs are unfriendly and not helpful at all. We only stay 1 night at this hotel because we don't have choice (our airplane landed very late). We walked 3 hours in the morning trying to find another hotel to switch.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chatlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel due to it's location, which I will say is good, but thats all it has going for it. The smallest rooms I have ever seen, The Largest forest of FUNGIS growing on the wall of the bathroom, and we had friends travelling with us also had the same problems with filth. After a full day out, we returned to find all our things had been gone thru and many items stolen. Trying to report to staff was more trouble than it's worth, first half an hour of sudden "No speak English" to Manager not available! I'd rather have slept in the street!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WorldTravller-CHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

So terrible I dont know how to begin! I only booked for 1 night as the hotel I intend to stay for the period is fully booked for the 1st day, so I had no choice but to look for somehwere just to stay 1 night... but I really made a serious mistake! Staffs were neither friendly or rude, but thats not the main issue.. When I stepped into the room, OMG! Its like "Prison"! The bed fills the room, with only 2sq ft of moving space left! And the toilet is like those hollywood movies u saw, rundown and dirty, blinds that doesnt work(which is very important because the buildings are so close to the next block, and u could be seen from the outside at night when u switch on the lights!).. I didnt stay for the night, decided to carry my luggage and looked elsewhere.. So please take my advise, DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mazda_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#473 of 726 in Hong Kong
675 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#208 of 726 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Mong Kok
Oriental Lander Hotel
Oriental Lander Hotel
#376 of 726 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#93 of 726 in Hong Kong
679 reviews
Mong Kok
H1 Hotel
H1 Hotel
#379 of 726 in Hong Kong
61 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
#204 of 726 in Hong Kong
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongkong MK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongkong MK Hotel

Address: No.11 Changsha Street, Mongkok, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $65 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hongkong MK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongkong MK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tatami Hampton Hong Kong
Tatami Hampton Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Tatami Hampton
Hongkong MK Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing