We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not a budget hotel !”
Review of Hongkong MK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hongkong MK Hotel
Ranked #432 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was there between 21-25 Nov 2013. The room is extra small, we can't move freely. With a price of $180/night, it is not what I expected to get, even with the location close to lady market or crowded place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saiminr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 417 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although the rooms and the bed are small, this hotel is located in a busy and interesting quarter of Kowloon, near to the subway station of Mongkok. There were food markets and food stalls around, I had a good time talking with friendly people, drinking beer, and playing chess until the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm booking for a double bed room in MK hotel. Unfortunate, when i reach my room, my feel was like damn. The room they serve for double bed room actually is a single bed with 2 pillow.the room is super small.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Apple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Considering the price and its location, it is fairly a good deal.

The room is clean, but it is very small and just enough to provide what you need for a short term visit in Hong Kong, it does not have a table in the room and make it hard to arrange your stuff to the room.

Heater and Air conditioner is working fine as well, and it is quiet at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KwokHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are on a budget and looking for a room in HKG, MK Hotel is the one. Location is in a very good place, right in Mongkok/Yau Ma Tei Area. MTR & Airport bus are nearby. Lots of food & shopping all around.
Room is small, ( Don't expect big, at the price you are paying ) The room is very clean, bathroom is also clean ( Very Tiny space ) The price I paid @ HK$600 is considered cheap being the hotel is in a shopping area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NgGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

IT is a great place to get accommodated for backpackers. It is a great value for money and the hotel is clean and tidy.
Also the area is great with lot of food joints around it. I have experienced a great pleasure for this accommodation and looking forward for a further stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kushaal V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had to stay here because YMCA did not have any room available at the time of our visit. And this was the only hotel that allowed 3 people in one room (for the same price the other hotels were offering but just for 2 people).

Upon reading the reviews about Hotel MK, i started to get worried because people were complaining that their rooms are small and that you can hear the noise from the hall way and the street. But when I got into the room, it wasn't that bad. We were three- there were 2 single beds and we had them add another bed. Though the additional bed was blocking one side, it's really not a big deal. We still had enough space to move around. The noises in the hall, you can hear a few but it's nothing disturbing (unless you're a very light sleeper)...

Check-in is at 2 but if you arrive early (or leave later than the check-out) they have a "luggage counter where you can leave your stuff while you're not checked in yet.

Another thing, WiFi- both the lobby and the rooms had!! Each floor has a wifi connection and it's actually very fast. (YAY!) There was one day though wifi was erratic but the receptionist was nice enough to provide the wifi password to the lower/ upper floors if we were able to connect to it. After a while though, they sent someone who assisted us with trying to connect again. (Side note: I was very happy with this trip to HK as I did not have to get a roaming data plan- I survived with the hotel wifi and the free wifi they had in the malls.)

The location of the hotel is also perfect, there's a bus stop right in front, (take A21 bus, from the airport get off at Sino Center along Nathan and cross the street to Changsha) and it's in between Mongkok and Yau Ma Tei MTR. It's walking distance to the ladies market, Pioneer Center (which has affordable gadgets), and very near Langham Place (H&M!!!) There's also McDonalds, KFC and a 711 nearby if you want something 'more familiar'.

I'd definitely go back here, if you're on a budget and would want to get around easily, I'd definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em81088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#474 of 727 in Hong Kong
675 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#208 of 727 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Mong Kok
Oriental Lander Hotel
Oriental Lander Hotel
#355 of 727 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#98 of 727 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Mong Kok
H1 Hotel
H1 Hotel
#374 of 727 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
#200 of 727 in Hong Kong
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongkong MK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongkong MK Hotel

Address: No.11 Changsha Street, Mongkok, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $66 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hongkong MK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongkong MK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tatami Hampton Hong Kong
Tatami Hampton Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Tatami Hampton
Hongkong MK Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing