We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #4 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

You expect nothing less than excellent service when you stay at a reputable hotel brand such as the Four Seasons. This was not the case during our most recent stay.

1. We stayed a total of two (2) nights and on our second night, our turndown service was not done before arriving at our room past dinner. I had to request housekeeping for our turndown which was a little disappointing.

2. There were no bedside chocolates during our whole stay. Again, I had to call housekeeping about this which they gladly sent to us only after my request. I remember during my last stay at the Four Seasons Hong Kong, chocolates were always left by your bedside as a standard operating procedure.

3. I requested for a late checkout the night before our departure. I was told that this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. What came as a surprise to me was that upon mentioning to front desk that we had five (5) rooms booked for my entire family, they decided to change their minds and gave us a 1 pm checkout time. Did I really have to mention the number of rooms before agreeing to our request? I felt a little offended.

Everything becomes much worse knowing that we all paid approximately USD 900/night for each of our five (5) Deluxe Peak View rooms. It is only natural that one becomes a bit more demanding with the details of excellent service especially if you are billeted at the Four Seasons.

To end on a positive note, rooms are large and very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SXMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimiCheung_FSH, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Saxmax,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us in this TripAdvisor review.

We were very concerned with the several deficiencies in service you had experienced during your recent stay with us. We have noted your comment in regards to the housekeeping service. We constantly look for ways to improve upon our service and are sorry that you had to call to request for the turndown service and amenity.

Whenever possible, we will try our best to accommodate late check out requests. It had been a busy month in December with the hotel running high occupancy most days which made this a challenge for us and we sincerelt apologise that this was not well handled by the staff.

We are sorry that on this occasion, our staff did not meet your reasonable expectations. Please be assured these matters have been addressed with the departments concerned for improvement. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Four Seasons in the future and thank you again for your taking time to write the review. Meanwhile, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,

Mimi cheung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,488
    273
    53
    14
    15
See reviews for
629
827
191
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was our first time staying at Four Season Hotel.
We loved it so much! The bar,room service,spa...
Other then the location and trying to get a cab in
such a long line, everything was so perfect!
We will definitely stay here in Four Season Hotel
again when we come visit Hong Kong!

Room Tip: i personally think that the corner suites are larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the new year's eve and this was our first stay at this hotel. We stayed at other FSs so our expectation leve was high.

We got a Deluxe Harbour View room and I was very happy about my choice. The view from the hotel was spectacular. The wet room has a TV monitor on the wall so that you can watch a TV while dipping yourself in the bubble bath. My son loved that!

The hotel location is very convenient. It is connected to the IFC mall, to the Central station (thought you need to walk 10 min to get there) and to the Hong Kong station.

It was a full house when we stayed there. We requested for an extra bed but it did not come until we called a housekeeping service. Still this was nothing compared to great services shown to us during our stay. This hotel became my favorite hotel in HK!

Room Tip: Harbour view is something you cannot miss in HK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnf1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It’s one of the best hotels i have stayed in.

The service was excellent and everything was ready in my room before I have arrived,

1- I have requested for a connecting room the room was the ready without any delays like most hotels do.
2- I have requested baby bed, and it was in the room before I came including all baby stuff like shampoo and soap for Johnson and Johnson brand and a small gift toy from the hotel for the baby to play with. Usually when you request for a baby bed it’s not their when you arrive and you should call to remind them about the bed.

The room was perfect and the view was excellent.

You can access one of the big malls in Hong Kong through the hotel itself which makes it more easy for you.

the Hotel staff are very welcoming and give you a great service.

My baby requires to eat special baby fresh food so the kitchen helped in preparing something for her specially every day which is not part of the menu but they provided the service for us specially, I was very happy about that, and if you tasted the food its exactly what a baby required as if the chief has done it for his own child.

On the way back to the airport the hotel car was excellent and the hotel representative in the airport assisted us in every single step at the airport until we have reached immigration and they stamped our passport. This what you call excellent service where you will never find it in most countries, this is what you call luxury service.

Room Tip: even though its expensive but you get the return in the best service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdulla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family just returned from a 6 night stay at the FS Hong Kong over the New Year. This was our 2nd stay at the FS; Our last stay here was exactly 2 years ago in December 2010, also over New Years, and our experience and service rendered by the FS was up there with the best! this was from the excellent, Guest Experience representative, Vivian (and also some others), who handled all my countless emails prior to our arrival.
Staying with children at the FS is always great as they always do the little things which make you feel appreciated and looked after. from the 3 different sized bathrobes and slippers for our 4, 8 and 11 year olds... daily cookies or candies, etc...
To be honest, we expected this from the FS and even when you expect it from them, they still manage to provide service beyond your expectations. The concierge, especially Mandy and Terence, were also very very helpful in making prompt reservations, making suggestions to help our family enjoy our vacation.
Thank you to the FS for providing the complimentary birthday cake for my father in law on his birthday, when we had the dinner at the Lung King Heen restaurant...
My dear wife and i tried the signature couples spa treatment and found it excellent! The treatment room was beautiful with a view of the pool and the Harbour! wish we could stay there longer!
Even after checkout, and arriving at the airport, the service provided by the FS airport staff was excellent and made us feel at ease and stress free.
Overall, it was again a memorable family vacation and we recommend anyone who has never tried the FS before.... you wont be disappointed. The only reason i gave 4 stars for value was only the fact that Hong Kong is quite an expensive place to visit, when compared to other countries and the other Hotels and resorts we have been to.
Hope to stay with the FS again in the future!
Thank you to the whole team!

Room Tip: obviously the harbour view rooms are the ones to pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in September 2012 for 4 nights. Had a beautiful room overlooking the harbour. Service around the pool wasn't great and trying to get a cab from the front was a bit of a nightmare with a long line each time, but otherwise a beautiful stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: The harbour front rooms are worth the extra $$ although a high floor not really necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimiCheung_FSH, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear SophieBee,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us back in September.

We are delighted that you found our guest rooms beautiful and that you enjoyed the view of the Victoria Harbour. It is the goal of all the staff at Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong that guests receive the best possible service and we are very sorry to read that we had failed on your visit to the pool. Your feedback regarding this matter has been shared with the manager and colleagues in that area so that they can review to ensure there is no repetition. We are also sorry for the inconvenience brought to you by the long taxi queue.

Many thanks for sharing your valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mimi Cheung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

when i go to Hong Kong i always stay in Four Season, unique decor, touch of Asia mixed with west,and i love it. hotel location is perfect, right in the center. hotel stuff, restaurants and spa can't be more perfect then they are..it well worth the money, and really great experience of Eastern hospitality and Western luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrakadabra69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,624 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.8 Finance Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking Victoria Harbour and the financial district, Four Seasons redefines luxury and excellence in a city renowned for exceptional accommodations. As part of the prestigious International Finance Centre, it offers unrivalled links to Hong Kong Station, with the famed Star Ferry steps away. In a city known for great dining, Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong is home to two Michelin starred restaurants - two-star French restaurant Caprice and Michelin three-star Chinese restaurant, Lung King Heen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Four Seasons Hong Kong
Hong Kong Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing