We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely retreat”

St. John's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.00*
and up
Small-Group Walking Tour: Introduction of Hong Kong
More Info
$12.47*
and up
Round Trip Skip-the-Line Tram Ticket with Optional Guided Tour
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong
Ranked #94 of 824 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lovely retreat”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

beautiful stain glass and blue ceilings, nice area next to the church for a picnic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    87
    31
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Cool to see this sort of thing still in HK, when so many lovely buildings have been knocked down for shopping centres and office blocks.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank weswebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I wasn't expecting Notre-Dame or the cathedrals of Andalusia but I wasn't expecting something so boring either! A total waste of time.

Helpful?
Thank Nishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Sea of Tranquility”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

After the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, this place is good for the soul - irrespective of your religion. It's beautiful and there's plenty to look at. It's also the first Cathedral I've visited where the windows are kept open - meaning there's a plentiful supply of fresh air. It's in lovely landscaped grounds not far from the Peak Tram.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank OzzyGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well-preserved historical structure”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Among the oldest churches in Hong Kong, St. John is marvellous not just for tourists but also those working at the hectic heart of the city. Near my office at Cheung Kong Centre in Central district, there are few good restaurants, expensive or cheap. However, sitting under treeshade with a lunch lox, a sandwich or just a cup of hot milk tea at the garden of St John, which are just a 100 metres away. during lunch time always makes my day. I look forward to having a picnic or a 30-min nap here in summer. Besides, i do enjoy the peace of mind being inside the cathedral which is quiet and holy even though i'm non-believer in Christ.

Helpful?
1 Thank funkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing