We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious little pub”

The Cottage Gastropub
Ranked #718 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious little pub”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

the food was delicious and such a nice change from Chinese food. If you're staying at bonham 99 there's a 15% off discount when you make reservations through the hotel. There were quite a few choices for lunch. I ended up with the cheese burger, but others in my party had bangers and mash and fish and chips. The service isn't the friendliest and they didn't offer anything to drink (despite it being part of the menu) we had to ask for it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Burger Beer & Football on the TV”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Popped in for my dinner. Good well made and presented burger.
Draft Beer and live UK Football on the TV.
Perfectly nice and comfortable

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service, Relaxed Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in the Holiday around the corner and had our first Hong Kong meal in the Cottage. We really liked it there! The food is yummie (we had fish and chips and the hamburger), the wine is great and the service is excellent! The staff speaks perfect English and is very helpful all the way.
We went back two nights later for a nightcap and it turns out they have a table outside for smokers. Bliss! If you're in the area, it is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pleunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koolewong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bar with amazing service! Definitely worth a visit if in the area”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have been staying in the area for a week now and have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions now.

The staff members are all very friendly and speak perfect English which is refreshing from most other restaurants in the area. Orders are taken quickly and drinks are bought out fast- waitress even offering to take a photo of us both once she saw me taking one of my partner.

All in all- it's a nice little pub with a laid back atmosphere (ribs are a must!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea-LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great little find!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went here during our trip to Hong Kong and were pleasantly surprised!! We only found it by mistake as we were staying near by at the holiday inn!

It's a refreshing change to the traditional food places in Hong Kong (which of course we tried lots of) & much cleaner!

Great service, happy hour, good selection of drinks and great food!!

Cost us about £50 (500HKD) for two mains and three drinks each on happy hour!! I had ribs and my boyfriend had the burger, but lots to choose from!

Definitely recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadieparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Gastropub also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Cottage Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing