We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lamma Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamma Island

Lamma Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.80*
and up
A Full Day Sea Kayak Tour At North Lamma Island Hong Kong
Ranked #27 of 812 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lamma Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went there with friends, the ferry was good and efficient. We went for a walk and looked in the shops.
We had lunch at a seafood restaurant which was quite expensive but very good. A pleasant day out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne19521211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    570
    147
    40
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Only half hour ferry ride to the island. You can catch the ferry to one port, walk over the island (quite a walk, 1 1/2 hours at times quite steep) then settle in to a terrific seafood lunch and catch ferry back from the other side.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,264 reviews
523 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Beautiful day-trip/getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are living in Hong Kong island and it is so nice to get out out and experience the beautiful islands around this great city. Lamma island is one of the larger islands and is wonderful for nature lovers. The ferry is about 35min from the HK Ferry terminal in Central which is not bad and when you arrive, you are taken to a whole new world. From the small villages you can find if you explore the island to great hiking, small but nice beaches and nice local restaurants, it is worth a day trip for anyone visiting! The views are also extraordinary, both on the island as you hike and also to and from on the ferry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good for a day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We caught the ferry to Yung She Wan and started the walk from that side. We decided to have lunch before the walk and chose one but you will notice many have live fish in tanks for eating but make sure you get a price before you commit because we were quoted about $100 AUS for one fish. We declined and ordered fish dishes from the menu which were fine and reasonably priced. I don't know why the live fish was so expensive. There was a wine store there with very reasonable prices so be bought a bottle there and paid corkage at the restaurant. There were some shops there we could browse in before heading off on the walk. The walk can be done in about 1-1.5 hours at a leisurely pace. It finished at Sok Kwu Wan where we caught the ferry back home. Apparently you can do it in reverse depending what ferry you catch to get there. I thought the restaurants at the Sok Kwu Wan end were better looking and done again, I would eat at one of them near the ferry terminal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank painless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
443 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Terrific seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been to this beautiful island on a number of occasions. Each time, we try and have dinner at the Sampan Seafood Restaurant which is located in Yung Shue Wan, just up from the Ferry Terminal in Main Street. On each occasion, the local Chinese seafood has been absolutely delicious and the views from the outside but covered eating area are great. The ferry ride from Central takes around 20 minutes, and also provides a great way to see some of the views of HK. If you are looking for a even more authentic Chinese seafood, then you should also think of catching the ferry to Sok Kwu Wan which is a fishing village on the other side of the Lamma island. The Rainbow Restaurant is very popular with tourists. The two villages are connected by a walking track, which provides some great views and takes about 1.5 to 2 hours to complete. A great place to spend an afternoon..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Indy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamma Island also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Lamma Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing