We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive pizza restaurant there”
Review of Lamma Island

Lamma Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.45*
and up
Full-Day Lamma Island Sea Kayaking and Hiking Tour from Hong Kong
More Info
$366.99*
and up
Private Tour: Hong Kong Day Trip from Guangzhou by Bullet Train
More Info
$98.45*
and up
A Full Day Sea Kayak Tour At North Lamma Island Hong Kong
Ranked #29 of 824 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive pizza restaurant there”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My bf and I stayed in Yung Shu Wan for a month for vacation. We rent a place which is 10 mins walk away from the pier, and also 15 mins walk from the beach, we went swimming a lot, and sometimes we did easy hiking. Beautiful sea, beach and fresh air, the only problem we found there is food. There are only few restaurants there, those big and famous one we guess they only target tourists because they charge very expensive price. Therefore, seafood restaurants and sea view bistros definately not within our budget. Then we found some local chinese and thai rest, but still we missed western food. There were only 2-3 restaurants selling pizza, the one located in the main street "Pizza Milano" was not a good choice. Around HKD200 for a "large pizza" which was just slightly enough for us, consider that pizza is basically italian peasant food for the masses and the fact that this is an outer island, at these prices, its not a cheap option anymore. Then we found a Turkish restaurant "Best Kebab" which may need to walk a little further from the pier surprising they had quite filling pizzas with cheaper price and taste good, friendly turkish boss and staffs there made us feel warmy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cocolofted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    599
    150
    43
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A breadth of fresh air”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We landed in Yung Shue Wan and walked towards Sok Kwu Wan. It was a great escape from the skyscrapers and hustle and bustle of Hong Kong proper but bring insect repellent. I was quite negligent and ended up with 137 bites! And the itch lasted several days. Still it was worth it. I went with young children, so we spent about 2 hours at the beach. The crickets were very loud even in the middle of a very hot day. The seafood dinner was not exceptional. If you like hiking, it's a good place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SGBudgetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“take the walk between the villages”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I took the ferry to Sok Kwu Wan and walked to Yung Shue Wan. I was a little hesitant b/c I an 59, overweight and it was HOT. But it wasn't a problem, and I think most everyone could do it. It was fun. I rewarded myself with a beer in Yung Shue Wan. Then took the ferry back to Central. There are some spectacular views. It's a great get-a-way from the hustle of HK.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank niffermc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Terribly touristy !!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

overpriced seafood, terrible ambience, much better seafood in HK, very touristy and quite a rip-off!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytripper1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Mellower side of Hong Kong”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If the steely skyscrapers and acres of tarmac on Hong Kong Island have you wanting to hug the nearest tree, the perfect escape is just 20min away by ferry, Lamma Island.
Hong Kong is often cited as one of the world's great metropolis', and it is, however, with over 80% of the Hong Kong region carpeted in greenery, it's a shame not to explore the city's mellower side. One of the best places to get a taste of laid back Hong Kong is Lamma Island.
This 13sq km island is home to just 5000 residents and is popular with western hippies, revolutionaries and drop outs. Covered in a thick rug of jungle, the draw for tourists is the handful of relaxed villages, superb seafood restaurants (must try Andy,s as it is the best) and stretches of empty golden sands. It's also a great place to take a breather from the frantic pace of life over in Hong Kong Island and Kowloon. Have a drink in 7th Avenue, and relax.
If you need proof at the gulf in lifestyle between Lamma Island and Hong Kong proper, on arrival from the ferry you are met by a the long line of bikes next to the Lamma ferry pier. This is due to the fact that the Island has no cars.
Bigger than Hong Kong Island, Lantau Island has some of Hong Kong’s biggest and best sights. In a Lantau Island Tourist Guide you’ll find out about the mighty Big Buddha, the amazing views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car, the thrills and spills of Hong Kong Disneyland and a favourite, the blushing pink dolphins. In fact, aside from the Ngong Ping and Big Buddha which can be combined in a single day, each of the activities will require a full day. There is, however, no need to base yourself on the island. Regular ferry connections and the MTR mean it is quick and easy to reach Lantau and you can return for each of the activities separately.
If you're exploring Lamma Island itself, don't forget about it's excellent beaches which boast wide stretches of golden sand and clean(ish) water. Hong Kong seafood is famous and although Lantau can't quite match the excellence of neighbouring Lamma, the seafood restaurants here are excellent and shouldn't be missed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy4939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamma Island also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Lamma Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing