We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lamma Island”
Review of Lamma Island

Lamma Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.75*
and up
A Full Day Sea Kayak Tour At North Lamma Island Hong Kong
Ranked #29 of 815 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lamma Island”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lamma Island is one of our daughter's favourite places in Hong Kong and I can understand why. Lamma is the closest island to Hong Kong Island and here it would be possible to live a peaceful lifestyle yet be close enough to the city for work, or just some general hustle and bustle when you felt the need. A fact very much in evidence by the number of bicycles at the ferry pier of the main settlement of Yung Shu Wan when you dock. Always worth a visit if you are in Hong Kong longer than a few days, somewhere to relax, walk and enjoy good food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LindyLouMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    581
    148
    40
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A charming break”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love Lamma Island and have visited several times over the course of my stay in Hong Kong. You simply get the ferry from central pier number 4 and after 25 minutes you will arrive in the main village, Yung Shue Wan. This village consists of a main street which is lined with lovely little cafes and food shops, and is slightly decayed in an endearing way. For breakfast the Bayan Tree Cafe offers a full American to set you up for the day, while Green Cottage offers vegetarian breakfast options including waffles and mango sorbet. Shelly's Cake shop does delicious cheesecake and the Bookworm Cafe is lovely for a vegetarian lunch (I can particularly recommend the hummus and pitta).
The walk from Yung Shue Wan to Sok Kwu Wan is clearly signposted (walk along YSW main street, then turn left on to YSW back street and follow the signs) and takes around 1 hour 15 minutes. The path is concreted the whole way and can be done in flip flops easily. However it is quite hilly and I would seriously advise taking a LOT of water and suncream. There is a small shop at the halfway point to grab an ice lolly and a coke if you fancy it. There are lots of benches and oppurtunities to rest along the way.
The beach (about 20 minutes walk along the aforementioned path) is not incredibly clean but is a great way to spend a morning paddling and laying in the sun. There is a large rock formation which is a great place to perch with a book for an hour or so. Many people complain about the presence of the large power station but I truly think it adds to the unique character of the beach.
Sok Kwu Wan is not really a village, more just a row of seafood restaurants (including the excellent Lamma Hilton where a "small" plate of fried salt and pepper squid will leave you in a food coma). For a day trip to Lamma I would recommend spending the morning having breakfast and doing a little shopping in Yung Shue Wan, followed by a small lunch (or piece of cake) somewhere in the village and an hour or two on the beach, and then a late afternoon walk to Sok Kwu Wan followed by a slap-up seafood feast and the ferry home from there.
For a stay of a few days, for budget travellers I recommend the Kathmandu guesthouse. You can't book online but once you're on lamma just rock up there (it's on YSW back street and is very clearly signed) and I managed to get a private room for three nights at just 100 HKD per night (and they also have dorms). Clean and basic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Abby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Love the tau fu fa under a little hut near the beach. Love the hike from yung shue wan to sok kwu wan. For tourists, you guys should follow this route as it offers more scenic view. And more ferry options from YSW than SKW. There are many sundry shops along the route before reaching Hung Shing Ye Beach. Your hike starts once you reach the beach. For those fancy sunset/rise views, try Concerto Inn located just in front of the beach

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rkk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“That's what makes HK beautiful”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

One minute you're surrounded by Central's skyscrapers, the next one you're in the timeless Lamma island. My boyfriend and I spent there a wonderful afternoon of relaxation.
The ferry from central is easy to take and lasts around 30 minutes - though i still haven't figured how to distinguish the fast one from the slow one - which you'll enjoy looking around.
The town centre is very pretty, feels like a forgotten Hong Kong, where people take their time, have pets walking around and no cars... There are lots of westerns who moved there and opened their international restaurants.
You can hike to any point of the island; some parts are a bit tiring but although i wasn't in my best shape i made it so you can make it too! The spots people recommend to see, such as the caverns ecc are no big deal but the whole walking around is very pleasant.

Don't miss the home made tofu on the way out of the town centre!

Lamma island is not what i'ld call special, but very very nice! Put me in a very good mood for a few days!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margherita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

According to trvel books, we expeced a nice island with some fish/seafood restaurants. The food might be excellent, the look was everything but appealing to us - so we went back to the city and had great food there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank McDonnellDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamma Island also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Lamma Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing