We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, surprising food”
Review of Serge et le Phoque

Serge et le Phoque
Ranked #138 of 9,692 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $83 - $153
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: Forget about your expectations when arriving for dinner at Serge et le phoque; we are offering our take on French fine dining. - La Food: best highest quality ingredients from all across the world. “A la minute” cooking (nothing is pre-cooked or prepared in advance). Minimal cuisine in which traditional French layers are removed. - Les Wines: mostly French and naturals. - Le Service: causal but attentive. - Le Space: raw and yes our toilets are in the carpark but they are ours and they are clean. - Les menus: a shorter menu, Le Petit Serge at $650 and a larger one, Le Grand Phoque at $850. Both of our menus are at the chef’s discretion; meaning that we choose for you and make sure you’ll enjoy the ride. We, of course, adjust to any food restrictions or to whatever ingredients you do not feel like eating tonight. Add on a la carte for the cote de boeuf, the oyster or the japenese Prawns.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

In HK there is a lot of choice of restaurants and I have tried already many. From very expensive to very cheap. I believe that Serge is one of those truly value for money. The wine card is great and not to crazy priced. We had a fantastic Chassagne Montrachet 2011 which is one my favorite white wine and it was as always great. Food was just great. Good mix of french products but more interesting prepared, loved it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Eveline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The food , the service and the atmosphere .. 3 key ingredients to a good night out .
Combination of French and Japanese flavours , with lots of choice in the set menus. Each course was just yummy; attentive and informed service. Good to sit at the table at the back and view the dining room and scene through the mirrors .
.... And save space for the desserts !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank CMM5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went there with a group of french friends on a weeknight. Arrived at 8pm.

This place is not your usual French restaurant, its a surprising mix between french products/ japanese products and the way to prepare food from these two countries.
The restaurant is in a remote part of Wan Chai (close to the Wan Chai Market) which is slowly becoming the foody paradise in HK with a new high end restaurant opening in this area every week.

The dining room is a little bit cold and soul less to be honest, looks more like your HK canteen than a French or a Japanese restaurant. Its not a big problem but there is nothing that makes this place special, appart from the food (which is what we would look for in a restaurant right?).

Anway, we had a very good time there. Service was excellent and very helpful (we did have a lot of questions!) and the wine was good. The food was very good and very surprising at times (be prepared) but always a pleasure for the eyes and taste.

Just two comments:
- I saw on other websites people complain about the size of the portions, don't listen to them, there are many small things to be eaten in between the main dishes and all in, you will not be hungry when you leave.
- The whole 4 courses dinner takes quite a lot of time, so start early if you dont want to finish after 11 like we did (we had a good time so that wasn't a problem).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Zion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles P, Owner at Serge et le Phoque, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Zion51,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening with us and that we were able to surprise you.
Looking forward having you back.
All the best from Serge et le Phoque team.
Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Offering a fixed-price French/Japanese fusion in a Wan Chai sidestret, Serge et le Phoque (means Serge and the seal - for some reason) is a relative newcomer to Hong Kong's French restaurant scene. It's very welcome, but I probably won't go back. While the service was good and the menu imaginative, the quality left something to be desired. Our edamame beans as a 'free' offering were watery, the hens egg in truffle was cold, the lamb with rock hard sea snails was bland though properly bloody, and the wine list ridiculously expensive. The only first-class offerings were the deserts, their pastry chef obviously knows a thing or two and they were fabulous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank neilwadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed Serge's lunchtime set menu ($250HK or $32USD for 3 courses) while on holiday in HK. We were certainly not disappointed! I chose the Hen Egg in Bellota Bouillon as my starter and it was light but full of flavour and the chicken I had for my main was melt-in-your-mouth good.
I should have opted for the dacquoise as my dessert (they are delightful) but instead chose a beetroot sorbet with caramel sauce - while interesting, it was a bit too weird for my palate.
Quick service, nice atmosphere and decor - if you're in the area, definitely check Serge out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serge et le Phoque also viewed

 

Been to Serge et le Phoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing