We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch”

Upper Modern Bistro
Ranked #168 of 12,877 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Description: Light, fresh and modern French restaurant by Michelin star chef Philippe Orrico. Innovative cross-cultural dishes. Ideal venue for private events!
Reviewed December 8, 2018

I really enjoyed our trip to Upper Modern Bistro for brunch a couple of Sundays ago.

Everything was delicious, as a table of 4, we all ordered different main courses (of which there were 4) which is a clear testament to how delicious everything appeared to be and we were not disappointed at all!

Friendly team, delicious food and reasonable prices, very happy Sunday lunch!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Herriotcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyK3525, Public Relations Manager at Upper Modern Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear Herriot,

Thank you so much for taking the time on writing this review. We truly appreciate your kind words and positive feedback towards our restaurant. Happy holidays and we hope to see you again very soon!

With kind regards,
Upper Modern Bistro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 172 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Nice restaurant with fine presentation of the dishes. Service is fast and kind and the food is good but too overpriced for what you get. Decent with selection.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JCagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyK3525, Public Relations Manager at Upper Modern Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear Stefano,

Thanks for your honest review. We are really sorry to read that you found our prices expensive, we only cook with premium quality food brought all the way from Europe to Hong Kong (plus taxes).
We have a great Set Lunch Menu from Monday to Friday from 248HKD for two courses though!

We hope you give us another chance,
Regards,
Upper Modern Bistro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

This time we were two Fine Diners to Upper Modern Bistro. For me, the nearest MRR station is the Sheung Wan one.

There was a promotion at the Upper Modern Bistro on the day we went.

The promotion content

1) say, if we are two Fine Diners and each of us order one salad (same salad or different salad at around HKD160 is OK)
2) then we need to pay just for one main course (around HKD280) and we have two main course (must be the same main course).

Wow!

However, since we had targeted for its set dinner of HKD788 (before 10 percent), we went ahead and order both variations in the set menu.

There are two set menus and we chose both. Since I could not swallow raw oyster in the starter, the chef kindly offer another lovely starter.

The servicing team here seems to speak only English. They are friendly too!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LT_Fine_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyK3525, Public Relations Manager at Upper Modern Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear client,

Thank you so much for writing such a long lovely review! We are glad to read you enjoy our buy one get one free meal promotion available on Mondays, from 6pm onwards only.
We do speak cantonese too but depends on the day, as some staff are western too.

We hope you had a safe trip back to Singapore,
Regards,
Upper Modern Bistro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Fancy menu with a fancy casual interior, we enjoyed the raised sharing table near to the entrance and the view it allows us of the dining area and kitchen. Impressive selection of food and the wine went down well, we had a good night and the service was up to par.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank E4732JOjonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Guest Relations Manager at Upper Modern Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Jon,

Thank you so much for your accurate and positive review! We love that particular table, specially for afterwork drinks or Happy Hour too. We are glad to read you enjoyed our food selection and please do come back soon,

With warm regards,
Upper Modern Bistro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Delicious cheese selection and some of the best food I've had in Hong Kong so far, a bit hidden gem in the middle of Sheung Wan. Love love love the Brunch!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank LaliAB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Guest Relations Manager at Upper Modern Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Lali,

Thank you so much for your review full of light and positivity!
We do hope you come back again really soon,

With warm regards,
Upper Modern Bistro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Modern Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Upper Modern Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing