We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #62 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel in a great location”
Reviewed July 9, 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights with my partner last August on our way to Europe. Like most people, I was initially attracted to the hotel because of its Phillip Starck design, and it certainly did not disappoint on that score, but its famous designer does somewhat overshadow the fact that this is a great little hotel in every way.

We stayed in a studio, which was tiny but very cleverly designed and very comfortable. My only note is that for a fairly recent hotel I was surprised that the marble in the bathroom was rusted. But this certainly did not detract from the amenity of the room. It was very comfortable and quiet.

Staff were excellent, as one expects in HK. We ate at one of the hotel's two restaurants and it was fine. The free breakfast and afternoon wine at the large communal table in the lobby is a nice touch and does make you feel a bit more like you are in a home than a hotel. It also gives you an opportunity for fun people watching - the hotel's guests seemed to primairly be well-heeled young people when we were there.

The hotel's best point, though, has to be its location. We'd previously stayed in Kowloon and Central and they're fun, but Causeway Bay literally bustles all night long. There are lots of cheap eats and great shopping around the area, and the MRT station is just a short walk from the hotel.

Would definitely recommend it.


Helpful?
3 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    217
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
79
193
58
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

This was my second time at Jia in Hong Kong. And I loved to be back. People working at Jia are friendly and very helpfull whenever you need help. Hotel rooms at Jia made me feel being home while away...Very comfortable bed, great shower and if you want you even make your own breakfast using small kitchen unit... There are wash and dry machines available to wash your clothes. The only thing I miss at Jia is a gym ( but they do offer complimentary entrance to the gym very close from Jia self). Breakfast room is small and have small choice of food but good enought to start the day! I will be back....

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Pros - very clean newly designed rooms, great location for shopping and sightseeing on Hong Kong.there is a highly rated bar and restaurant -Opia attached to the hotel and you can get room service. Open plan suite layout was good - although quite small (but perfect as a base for a slightly longer stay in Hong Kong).Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

Cons - this is a boutique hotel so don't expect the same level of service/faciltiies (eg gym, bars etc ) that you get in other hotels. Area is not as central or swish as some of the other high end hotels in hong kong (Causeway Bay rather than central) - it is closer to serviced apartments than luxury hotel. Bathroom was a little on the small side.
Taxi drop off/pick up difficult as no cantonese name (tell them to go to Regal Hong Kong just across the road) but this is a minor issue

  • Liked — design & location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Langham Place was fully booked during my business trip to Hk last week. So I decided to go for JIA after reading so much about it. Thought it will be a nice change from large hotels.

Indeed, overall I'm very satisfied with JIA. I choose to stay in their spacious 1-bedroom suite as I like to have lots of space to move around. The suite was lovely, not in a posh way, but rather in a practical, contemporary sense. Bathroom is small and there's no bathtub but it is adequate since I don't really have time this round to enjoy long soaks in the bath.

Service was very good. Everytime I needed a cab, the concierge would go and hail one for me. Later on, I also discover that causeway bay mtr station is just a couple of minutes' walk away.

  • Liked — Spacious one-bedroom suite
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Chocolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We stayed at the Jia Boutique Hotel from January 9-16, 2007. There were four of us: 2 adults and our two sons, ages 14 and 20. We absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite -- two bedrooms and baths and a daybed in the living room. It was a perfect setup for us. Our sons each had their own space and their own bathroom.
We used the kitchen and washer/dryer on a regular basis. The hotel has the basic kitchen supplies -- I'm not sure they expect people to use the kitchen for cooking as much as we did, but we managed with what was available. It was great to be able to cook a meal and cook breakfast -- although there is a nice continental breakfast downstairs every morning.
The hotel staff and housekeeping service were wonderful. With four people and plenty of cooking, we managed to keep our housekeeper very busy -- but the room and especially the kitchen were always cleaned very thoroughly. The front desk staff helped us with many questions and when I needed to see a doctor for a bad sinus infection, they immediately set up an appointment for me with a doctor only two blocks away.
Best of all, according to the rest of my family, there was complimentary internet service in the rooms. Having 4 people and 3 laptops -- this was critical to us!!
There is some street noise to contend with, but it didn't bother us at all. You expect some noise when you are staying in a busy area of Hong Kong. Speaking of area, the hotel is very well located near plenty of shopping and restaurants and only about a block from the MTR station. We took the MTR everywhere we wanted to go in Hong Kong and it was so cheap and convenient.
We would highly recommend this hotel. It made our stay in Hong Kong memorable.

  • Liked — free internet and kitchen/laundry facilities
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jillybeansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We stayed in a studio suite and a 1bedroom apartment suite on our way to and from Europe. The studio suite was quite small but so compact and well designed with a mini kitchenette, marble bathroom and flat screen tv. It also had excellent a/c and very good value room service from Y bistro downstairs in the hotel.

On our week long stay in a 1br suite, there were a few problems. The a/c in the bedroom smelled a little foul of pollution and despite a very prompt response from the hotel management in cleaning the filter, the smell never went away entirely during our stay.

The 1 br apt is much larger and well worth the money (HKD 1995+ taxes) incl. a simple but adequate continental brekkie. The only problem being in a hotel of 100 rooms, there really wasn't enough space provided to sit down properly. There is one small dining room and a long bench with really high stools that are were uncomfortable as they were impractical.

The free cakes provided during the afternoon and a few bottles of wine (no beers or spirits that we saw) were provided for happy hr, which were nice touches.

Unfortunately the room service menu was reduced significantly when the hotel closed the Y bistro (permanently I think).

The Hotel provided great service and the rooms were always cleaned to a very high standard, however it was starting to show its age with its white (why white?) rugs on the floor appearing quite stained.
It is still an expensive choice in HongKong but provides a lovely sanctuary. Location was good with many cheap eateries like Mak's Noodles and good shopping. For bars, etc try Wyndham st in Central.

  • Liked — Good value, nice to have an apartment with full facilities
  • Disliked — The a/cond smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Call the hotel direct for the best prices
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank redmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

we stayed in the penthouse of this hotel for 5 nights. we were3 adults. it was nice. u had ur own kitchen, dining table for 8, washer/dryer, 3 lcd tv's, dvd players, and comfi beds and 2 good size bathrooms. it wasnt cheap comparing to 5 star hotels actually the same price. but u dont have pool, no view at all, simple continental breakfast( which was more then enough to start u up), no 24 hour room service. i liked that there is a place down with water and joices and some cakes all day free. the location is ok. close to metro but its in the crowded and cheap part of the town. overal ok but with the price im giving i would stay in 5 star hotel with harbour view and pool.

  • Liked — free drinks with free cakes
  • Disliked — no view, no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — dont expect a 5 start hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,404 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
474 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#18 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,203 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing