We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a convenient part of Hong Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Plus Hotel by YOO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #64 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent service in a convenient part of Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife and I spent 4 days in Hong Kong and while the haze/pollution wasn't co operative we still managed to squeeze in as many sights,sounds and tastes of the island. We opted for Jia to receive a little more personalized service and were not disappointed. We were allowed to check into our suite ( which we highly recommend in spite of the extra cost) at 7:30 am which was great after our 15 hr flight. It was like getting an extra day and we were even offered breakfast. We could see that some breakfast times were crowded but somehow we managed to avoid them. The assortment of food was more than adequate. The evening complimentary wine was always a good start to our night out. The staff was extremely quick and helpful whenever we had questions or needed directions and there were no hitches with our complimentary internet service. If we had one concern it was that our bedroom had a slight musty smell - likely due in part to the 90%+ humidity throughout our stay. The location in Causeway Bay gave us easy access to the MTR a wide range of restaurants and markets . In addition my favourite street in the city (Jardine's Bazaar) was right across the street. We used the door to door bus service from the airport on arrival and a taxi and MTR airport express for departure. Both methods cost about the same (approx. $35.00 total for 2 people). If we were to return to Hong Kong we would definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niagaranomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    204
    53
    18
    12
See reviews for
75
184
54
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Having just returned from a week in Hong Kong and 6 nights at Jia in Causeway Bay, I felt compelled to write a review for fellow travelers thinking of staying here.

Don't think twice, just book it.

Much like the Claska in Tokyo and the New Majestic in Singapore, the Jia is an individual, styled boutique hotel slap bang in the trendiest part of town. If you are familiar with Phillipe Stark, this is another of his creations (akin to the Hudson Hotel in New York).

From the minute the taxi pulls up with our luggage, to the minute we are packed back in one again, the staff and the service are exemplary. The Lobby is the first main talking point; very Stark and very inviting. Here they serve FREE 24 hour fresh juices, water etc, FREE continental breakfast each morning, FREE afternoon cakes and coffees and FREE evening wine. Please note the word FREE, because what other hotel (particularly the monstrous corporate chain ones) would ever offer anything for free? Along with the FREE broadband access, FREE local calls, FREE gym passes, FREE DVD library, FREE entry into top nightclubs, bars, harbour cruises and discount dining - they should have renamed this hotel FREE.

You may get the impression that I enjoyed my stay here. That doesn't even come close. I could not find fault with one thing. Having enjoyed all the above, I only paid for the daily rate on check out and no hidden extras. Try that at the Hyatt. It saved us a fortune.

Yes the rooms are compact, but they are cleverly laid out. This is Asia, where floor space is at a premium. If you want a bigger room, that's a worry. Hong Kong is such an amazing place you should not want to sit in your room!

The bed was heavenly comfortable (that might also have something to do with my beautiful companion!), the home theatre system was a nice touch and the toiletries (which are constantly replenished) luxurious.

The friendly staff were always there to help navigate around the city, suggest and book restaurants (note, Hutong at 1 Peking Road for incredible views and authentic top class Chinese, Dragon-I for the best in stylish clubbing and Top Deck at Jumbo for the best sundowner in town). The hotel is undoubtedly situated in the best part of the city; right in the middle of Causeway Bay on Hong Kong Island and 3 mins walk to the MTR. There are amazing local eateries on the strip to the underground and lots of boutique style shopping around the side streets. Make time for G.O.D and certainly have brunch in their cafe next door (Habitu), when you need a change from noodles and dim sum.

Jia is home from home but also cool enough to feel like you are staying somewhere special. So much so that a love was reignited at exactly half way.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adamedwardwalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Jia for a whole month! We rented one of their one bedroom suites and worked part-time while we were there. I can’t think of a better place to plug in my laptop :-) This boutique hotel is gorgeous, with eclectic furniture and marble surfaces in a laid-back and cozy setting, with a warm, yellow glow enveloping the whole place.

The people who work there are friendly and welcoming, yet very attentive, accommodating and professional, all sporting stylish black uniforms.

There are plenty of added bonuses in this place, such as complimentary Wi-Fi (you usually have to pay extra for this in HK), breakfast, afternoon cake, wine and prosecco in the evening, soft drinks and coffee all day long, self-operated washing machines (they even come with detergent) and DVDs and umbrellas for rainy days! We were there for Christmas and New Year and they surprised us (and other guests) with elaborate holiday breakfasts next door at the Madera restaurant, which I highly recommend for tapas and wine!

We enjoyed spending time in the room, working and hanging out. It was also a nice and relaxing place to retreat to after a hectic day of sightseeing. It felt like a home, hence the name “Jia”. The maid service was very good and flexible. Sometimes we wouldn’t leave the hotel until early evening, but we always came back to a tidy room.

We also stayed in one of their studios, our first two nights. They are small, but very well laid out and brilliantly illustrates how Hongkongers manage with very little space. Our original plan was to rent an apartment somewhere else in HK, but we instantly fell in love with this place and decided to spend the extra money to get an unforgettable experience, which we indeed got. Jia was everything I expected from a boutique hotel and more!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Having read some good reviews here, expectations were on the high side and we were not let down. A stylish and modern hotel in a great location. Rooms were spotless and very well appointed. My best advice if you want a bit more space is to spend a little more and get the one bedroom suite as we did. Perfect for two or even one person who just needs a litte more room. There is a little bit of street noise in the early hours but I didn't find it a bother at all.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly, without being over the top or pretentious in the slightest. This is the best kind of service: understated but friendly and efficient. The complimentary things such as umbrellas (and we needed them!) DVDs, the afternoon wine and fridge stocked with Juice, water and so on are a great touch. Often things that you would simply not get at larger hotels without paying extra.

Top tips:
- Be sure to try the brilliant - and new - tapas bar\restaurant right next door called Madera. Great service and the food was sublime. As good as I have had in any tapas bar around the world!!

- Sometimes the breakfast area at the hotel is quite busy and taking things back to your room is tricky. But if you want to skip that and go out for breakfast, the Soho district in the mid levels is not far away and full of great breakfast spots. Don't expect breakfast service much before 10\10.30 in Soho however.

Overall, I would definetely stay at Jia again. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

For a hotel that cannot offer much in the way of extra services, this place is still a gem. Smack in the middle of Causeway Bay, minutes walk to Victoria Park, with easy access to public transport, the Jia has a really nice atmosphere. It is a little oasis in the middle of a very busy place. The rooms are small but cozy and well-laid out. The beds are comfortable. The TV works, the internet access is solid, and I've enjoyed each visit. If you want to use a gym, you can go running in Victoria Park or go to California Fitness five blocks away (the hotel has a complimentary use pass for this). Each room comes with a little hotplate/kitchenette and a well-stocked mini-bar. After work the hotel offers free wine-tasting and snacks in the lobby, and in the mornings, continental breakfast. In all, for a business traveler who wants something different from your standard big brand hotel, it's a nice change.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank earthjaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Jia is a fine example of turn-of-the-century interior design. It has Phillippe Stark whimsy is sprayed all over it and makes for a good photo spread in a coffee table book. However, the three-dimensional reality is another matter. Staying at the Jia is a forceful reminder that the ‘less is more’ philosophy has considerable merit, especially when small spaces are involved.

A small L-shaped room plus a desk, a chair, two coffee tables, a day bed, a television on a unit (in the middle of the room), a double bed, two bedside tables, slim cupboards, lots of lamps, a curtainy room-divider, two average sized humans, two average sized suitcases, and two average sized cabin bags adds up to one big Chinese Puzzle or game of Tetris. Sure, this is fun at first. It quickly becomes wearisome, especially if your companion insists on moving around the room at the same time you do.

If you do visit, bring ear plugs: in our room the air conditioning unit was just above the bed and cheerfully rattled all night long. And if you are afraid of small dark places – like coffins – plan to avoid the elevators.

On the up side, the lobby is pretty and airy and the free food and drinks (albeit limited in variety) are a nice touch. The reception staff seemed well versed in the art of avoiding people - they spent a lot of the time doing busy things behind sweeping red curtains – and so you can have the lobby pretty much to yourself.

And the location isn’t bad; it is just five minutes from Causeway Bay MTR and shops.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JXJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at JIA for 5 nights in Dec 2009-Jan 2010 based on local friends' recommendation.

The hotel was very good: great location near Causeway Bay MTR station, good shopping and eating possibilities next to the hotel.

The decoration is very "boutique like" in the lobby and in the rooms - I loved all the small details which made the place so "hip"! The floor plan of our room, 1001, was probabaly not the best one as the room did not feel very spacious, at least compared with rooms in many other major cities. Everything was, however, carefully planned so it really did not bother us, and in Hong Kong space is expensive so we knew that the room will not be a huge one.

The room was clean and well maintained throughout our stay. We found the temperature in the room a bit cold (A/C maximum heating on) so two evenings we used the separate heater which was in the room. The floors were quite cold, especially in the bathroom.

There are only 3 - 4 rooms / floor. Still, when anyone was walking / talking outside our room, we could really hear everything they said so the door does not keep the noise outside the room very well.

The temperature was the only thing that was a bit disappointing, otherwise the hotel was great, and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finnish_female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#19 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#115 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing