We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pleasant place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #71 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2006

A stop for a honeymoon trip, pleasant and peaceful atmosphere. THe rooms a rea really convenient. It is exactly like if you had your own appartment in the center of HK. The decoration is really hype, good atmosphere, you can go with children as the room are quite spacious (at least the one we had). We recommend

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SoEtFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 596 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2006

THE AREA
Jia Boutique Hotel is a short walk from the Causeway Bay subway station as well as some main streetcar lines, so it's easy to get to from the "central" areas of Hong Kong. Particularly after work hours, the hotel's neighborhood teems with HK shoppers. We found a Citibank ATM a block away, which was useful.

One reviewer wrote in Sept. 2005 that "the hotel is relatively new so a lot of cab drivers don't know where it is." Well, one year later our taxi driver hadn't heard about the hotel either. After you check in the hotel gives you a handy card with directions and locations written in Chinese to help you find your way back. It would be useful if they provided a scanned copy of that card on their website so you could print it out before your arrival. (Hotels and ryokans often do that in Japan, which helps out taxi drivers there.)

THE ROOM
Despite the heat and humidity outdoors (it was August), our room maintained a decent temperature (which we adjusted as necessary). Our queen-sized bed was firm but not uncomfortably so, and the quilt was pretty warm, so we actually turned up the air conditioning to avoid feeling overheated in the middle of the night. We were on the fifth floor and did hear light traffic noise below us on occasion but it didn't bother us enough to consider changing rooms. The important thing is that during the evening, the streets seemed quiet enough for us to get plenty of sleep. (It might be a different story if I tried to catch some shut-eye during the middle of the day.)

Our room was small (about 450 sq. ft.) but with the desk, cabinets, and shelves recessed in the walls, the floor space was big enough to walk around without bumping into everything. The only problem was finding room to place our two suitcases; but that's a problem with all small hotels.

The bathroom is all marble and indirect lighting (not the best for applying makeup or shaving) but the shower pressure was strong and the robes quite delightful.

The LG flat-screen TV was a nice touch, as was the DVD/CD unit. The front desk offered English-language DVDs for borrowing, and the selection wasn't half-bad: a mixture of mainstream and art-house movies. Hong Kong television (or at least the room's cable TV) is pretty good anyway, and a lot of it is in English, so we didn't miss out on our entertainment needs.

THE KITCHEN
Other reviewers have commented on the free beverages available in the lobby -- there was free water in the room too. We loved our little kitchen. Take-out from Y's restaurant next door was delivered within 30 minutes and they didn't charge the typical arm-and-leg prices that hotels charge for room service. Y's range of Asian, Indian, American food was pretty impressive: coconut grilled stingray, wonton soup, spicy green mango salad, roasted Mediterranean vegetables, beef or veggie burger, wasabi beer battered fish with dashi chips, pizza, fried rice, green chicken curry, etc.

We ate the food on the hotel's wonderful, square-shaped china dishes. They packed a lot into that kitchenette: two-burner electric stove, microwave oven, and a set of dishes, glasses, wine glasses, silverware, bowls, etc. for (in our case) two people. We stored leftovers in the small fridge and then reheated them later. It was somewhat challenging to balance the dishes on our laps or the small coffee tables in front of the couch, but we managed.

BREAKFAST
The complimentary breakfast was pretty good for "continental breakfast" fare, although after a few days, the same starts to get old -- but that can happen anywhere if they don't change what they offer. Still, they had a good selection of yogurt, fruit (strawberries, apples, bananas, kiwi, grapefruit -- not sure how I'd have eaten a grapefruit), cereal, toast, juice, and jam. Lots of coffee and hot water for tea, too. Hard-boiled eggs would be a nice addition to the menu, if only to provide some protein amid all the usual carbs. Free newspapers (International Herald-Tribune plus some Chinese papers) were an added bonus.

Even though this did not bother us personally, the breakfast serving area in the lobby is quite cramped. I don't know how a dozen guests would be able to navigate that area at once, let alone find a place to sit down to eat breakfast. By luck we pretty much had the place to ourselves, besides a couple other guests. Once or twice we carried food to our rooms for variety's sake (trays would have helped, as carrying plates and cups/glasses into the elevator invites certain disaster).

We were usually out when they had their free afternoon wine service in the lobby but a couple times we were there to enjoy the wine, which was actually quite good.

SERVICE
The customer service was excellent. We asked them many questions about where to eat, how to get to places, etc. and they always answered us with a smile and a determination to provide us with the most complete, helpful information. The staff was always impeccably dressed too (uniforms designed by Shanghai Tang, our Frommer's Guide informed us). We had informed them beforehand of our early arrival (8 AM) and they were very accommodating. A room was available immediately. When we left six days later, they held our luggage for several hours after check-out until we departed Hong Kong later that day.

ONLY COMPLAINT
This is fairly minor but the lobby's background music became tiring after a while because it was so repetitive. It's a very hip, modern collage of techno lounge music (probably not the most precise description) and they play it seemingly 24/7. The same tunes, and loudly. (You can play the same music in the room too, thanks to the CD they provide, available for purchase.) It's OK stuff, but it would have been nice to enjoy a morning of quietude now and then. There was a table in a small side room to sit down at and watch TV but the lobby's soundtrack overpowered the broadcast. At first we were pretty impressed by these decorative trappings, but after a few days they started to give us the feeling of perpetually being on stage.

But this quibble doesn't prevent me from recommending Jia highly to others.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank StefanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2006

After business in Kuala Lumpur, I decided that I needed some serious R&R and catch up with friends in Hong Kong. I hadn’t been there for about four years so I really needed to get reacquainted with the local scene.

I chose JIA because of a few points. Firstly, as with most Asian Pacific cities, the hotel scene is dominated by the big chains so it’s refreshing to try out a smaller, independent boutique hotel. Also, there have been some glowing reviews on this forum and I had never been to a Philippe Starck establishment before.

Location:

JIA is bang in the middle of Causeway Bay, an exceedingly busy entertainment and shopping district on Hong Kong Island. Think Shibuya in Tokyo. To get to Causeway Bay from the airport, take the Airport Express to Hong Kong Station (HK$180 return, valid 1 month). From the station take a taxi to the hotel. Tell the driver “Tung Lor Wan (Causeway Bay), Yee Wing Gai (Irving Street)”. The ride should only cost max HK$60.

Hotel Exterior:

The building is very unimposing, it looks like any other commercial or residential building in the area. Since it’s all covered by tinted glass, you may have trouble finding the entry, as a guiding point, it’s opposite the Regal Hotel.

Public Areas:

The lobby is very Starck, very eclectic choice of furniture and decoration. It’s quite small by hotel chain standards but JIA has only got 54 rooms so it should be more than adequate. In the evening there is a quite lively cocktail hour where you can mingle with other guests.

There is an open air podium on the 2nd floor which you can hire out for a private party or if it’s free just chill out on one their chaise lounge with a nice cool drink.

Room:

I stayed in a one bedroom suite and as you can see in the pictures, it’s all about functional elegance, no chintz, no old world glamour here. The living area is very spacious with a sofa and a home cinema system provided. Behind that is a reading/ relaxing area by the window. There are lots of cupboards and storage space in a allready large suite. The bathroom is very small, it has no tub. The shower is very powerful but the shower head is not moveable which was very frustrating. The décor is very tasteful though with plenty of marble. Also, the toiletries provided were quite nice, especially the olive oil shower gel.

The bedroom is quite small but has a very comfatable bed and a very powerful air con system.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at JIA, it’s a calm oasis in the middle of a very bustling area. I don’t usually go for establishments with links to a famous architect/designer but I’m glad I did this time. This is Hong Kong’s first proper boutique hotel and it has been executed very well. The staff and service is efficient but not fussy and I think this sums up the whole concept of JIA. I thoroughly recommend JIA and will definitely for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank bladerunner168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We stayed at the Jia for our week's vacation in Hong Kong and absolutely loved it - rooms are spacious, white and cool with funky touches (loved the hotel's CD). Breakfast buffet is good and the adjacent Ys 'bistro' serves great Asia/fusion food. Staff are friendly and helpful plus the location is just great - Causeway Bay is non-stop shopping and restaurants, plus the MTR station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. If you're a Malmaison fan you'll find this a home from home!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

We stayed at the Jia for 4 nights with our 6 year old son. We had a suite, which was more of a bijou apartment, with a kitchenette and plenty of storage.
We had a wonderful stay and thoroughly recommend it - funky, friendly & charming with simple but stylish decor and very thoughtful attention to detail.
Grab the small "Luxe Guide to Hong Kong" in your room - tells you everything you need to know!
We ate at "Y" which was relaxed and casual but "Opia" does not accept children.
Simple but plentiful buffet breakfast and excellent takeaway-style room service.
We have previously stayed in the big, bland 5star business hotels in HK but preferred Jia for a more authentic experience. There are still more Gucci concessions than can be healthy within moments of the front door so shopaholics will not miss out.
Do go to Disneyland - small but perfectly formed and in a beautiful setting.
We found this hotel via the excellent Tablet Hotels website (--) highly recommend it for more of the same.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank !!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Rooms are too small, breakfast is boring, location is so-so and for the same rate you can get much better options.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Beautiful lobby, beautiful rooms, great amenities, could plug our ipod into the tv/ surround sound system and chill out. Loved the free soft drinks all day plus cocktail hour - free wine - always good!

Staff extremely friendly, couldn't ask for more. Our room on 9th floor was a bit noisy from buses etc below and they changed us to a quieter higher floor with no quibbles at all. Room service from the ground floor restaurant was great and i think their food was better (and much cheaper) than the rated ozzy chef, ? restaurant (cant remember name) on the 1st floor.

we would definately come back here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,438 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#90 of 723 in Hong Kong
482 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#100 of 723 in Hong Kong
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#18 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,234 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#120 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $150 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing