We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home out of home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #62 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely home out of home”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've stayed in Jia 2x this year. First was in March in the Suite room and the second stay was a month or two after in the studio. One of the many reasons why I chose to stay here for the 2nd time was because of my daughter of 5 y/0. She was happy and contented, feeling at home as we can bring take away from any restaurant nearby and eat in as if we were at home and she could play to her delight. She loved going down to toast her bread in the morning as breakfast is served at the lobby, family style. Jia was inviting due to the location (nearby restaurants and shopping - SOGO, and many other shops were a stone's throw away) and cozy touch. Although the rooms were good, we find it a bit too dark and the bathrooms were too crowded. Although bed is comfortable, it is too small. The concept of having free flowing breakfast, fruits, snack and drinks is great and enticing. Since it is located in the busy area of CWB, naturally there was no view from the window which is understandable. Although staff looked nice, they were not the typical very warm and friendly type unless you start a conversation running perhaps. They are not bashful but just ok and efficient. I've recommend this hotel to my friends and would not hesitate to come back if the price is right. I feel it is a bit overpriced especially this season!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. THe ambience is meant to be romantic and cozy so the rooms are not too bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Hello Youricat,Thank you for your mainly favorable comments of J Plus. I was so pleased to know you and your family especially your 5 year old daughter enjoyed staying with us.
We look forward to have you and family back with us.

Warmest Regards,
Eunice
Maketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    217
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
79
193
58
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stay here for one night while in transit. Booked into a suite and first impression when I walked in was WOW! I've stay in various hotels in HK before, but this one sure blew me away. The staff were friendly and knowledge able of HK. Location of hotel is another bonus, sitting in the center of Causeway Bay with an MTR exit F that is less than 5 mins away, can't go wrong with that! Great restaurant all long the way back to the hotel, and an 7-11 right across the street that offer hot food!
The hotel offer a very relax and laid back environment. I would definitely book into J Plus again on my return trip.

Room Tip: Getting a suite makes a big different compared to the regular room. Higher floor is better to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h3k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello h3k1,

Many Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience at J Plus.
I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting your positive service experiences throughout the hotel.
I am especially pleased that you appreciated our helpful and professional service.
J Plus and our whole guest relation team look forward to see you again .

Warm Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for a week at the J-Plus hotel and had a fantastic time. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, they were all extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They make you feel like you are part of a big family. This is also apparent in the little 'extras' that they offer in the lobby each day including a continental breakfast, coffee/tea, soft drinks, cake and wine from 6pm to 8pm each evening. The set up and furniture encourages you to relax in the lobby with the other guests, like you would in your own lounge room.

We had a one bedroom suite, which was perfect with our 6 month old. The room included a kitchenette, lounge and dining area and there was ample space for the three of us. It was more like an apartment than a hotel room. The kitchenette had all the basic items if you wanted to cook.

The location is also great. It is very close to the Causeway Bay MTR station and is surrounded by quirky local eateries (including a Din Tai Fung across the road), cafes and fantastic shopping, whatever your budget!

If you are staying with children, the hotel also offers a very reasonably prices baby sitting service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello MBen79,

Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor.
We pride ourselves on being able to effectively deliver on our guests services and our team are committed to providing our guests a pleasant experience .
I was also pleased to learn that you enjoyed this chic “home to home” experience and your sastisfaction means a lot to us and is giving our team great encouragement to do better.
Look forward to see you and your family again soon @ J Plus.


Warm Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Fantastic location down the street from causeway bay mtr station the SOGO Department store just a minute away. The staff was very helpful. Room is neat and clean.
Next trip to HKG, I surely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Many Thanks to Sutbear for your positive feedback
I was glad to know that you had a pleasant experience with us.
We are looking forward to have you back with us @ J Plus.

Warmest Regards,Eunice Chung Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We loved the laid back atmosphere of this place, and the small and intimate feel. we'd definitely return if we came back to hong kong. Fantastic location down the street from causeway bay mtr station (F) and just across the street from the great restaurant Din Tai Fung, make sure you sample the pork dumplings ! Free wifi was a nice touch as were the complimentary hot or cold drinks in the lobby, there was also cheesecake in the afternoons ! Breakfast was included and was a casual affair and enough to get you on your feet in the morning.

For the price we paid I thought this was excellent value for money and a quirky place that certainly was a million miles away from the large corporate hotels that are extremely bland and forgettable.

Make sure you take a morning walk in victoria park nearby and sample some local life early morning, tai chi etc

The tip to take a taxi to the Regal hotel and then find it on the opposite corner worked perfectly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbadosJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello Barbadosjax,

Many thanks for your review .I was so glad to learn that you enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and all “extras” we offered.This chic “home to home” style is only @ J Plus.
We look forward to welcoming you back at J Plus soon.

Best wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you travel reasonably frequently - when was the last time you could remember many details about a hotel room many months after your stay?

I stayed at the Jia earlier this year - when it was still the Jia - and still remember it very clearly. Just as the name suggests (Jia is home in Mandarin) the rooms are more like your downtown pied-a-terre than a faceless hotel.

It isn't the easiest place to find - as the external signage is very subtle - but the location is great - just minutes walk from the shops and metro at Causeway bay, and even better, just across the road from the fabulous Din Tai Fung dumpling restaurant.

The rooms are a little bigger than usual hotel rooms, and ours had a small living room area and kitchen. Yes the sofa cushions could have done with a wash and yes the blinds in the shower were past their best, but it felt comfortable - a pleasant place to retreat from the frenetic energy of downtown HK. It also felt quite cosy - somewhere that deviated from the blandness of so many hotels.

What contributed to the relaxed feel was the laid back lobby area where wine was available for guests to help themselves for much of the day. Breakfast worked on the same principle - you just help yourself to the coffee, rolls, fruit etc in the small kitchen.

If you like the perfection of a super high end polished hotel, this might not be for you, but if you want somewhere convenient and just quirky enough that you'll remember it in the future - then it's definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi Anya,

Many thanks for your informative and positive feeback.
We are so pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay in HK @ J Plus and enjoyed the ambience of our lobby area with our complimentary evening wine.
We look forward to see you again at J Plus Boutique Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel was our first stop in our 14 day honeymoon in hong kong (and then Bali) and although we had a hard time finding it its a welcoming and clean spot. The staff was very helpful ESP. Since we arrived quite late in the evening(10 pm). Anita at the front desk helped us find a place to eat. Things close earlier than expected- unlike NYC. We enjoyed a suite on the 22 floor with a kitchenette, sitting room, spacious enough bathroom. Free wifi was also a plus! The AC worked well and were pleased. We only stayed one night but would reccomend this hotel (which was recommended to us by our friends). It's a short(2stop train ride) to Central or 10 min cab. if you're looking for a reasonable place to stay don't hesitate to book this hotel!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hello PH,

Thank you for your positive feedback via TripAdvisor, especially about the friendly and attentive service you’ve received @ J Plus. Please rest assured that Anita and the Teams you have mentioned will be recognized for their care and assistance.

We look forward to have you back again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,404 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
474 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#18 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,203 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing