We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As espected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“As espected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel seems to be an old luxury hotel, now an average one with the quality materials obviously still in place. Beautiful and clean room. Complementary toiletries and even tooth brushes. Hotel is very neat.

We had a room for 3 adults. View was other high rises, kinda nice ar night. Breakfast was a buffet with lots of options to choose from. It was delicious. The hotel seemed very busy but we never had to wait long at the front desk.

The location is ok. We walked from a metro station. It is not a short walk but doable. Once we were tired and got a cab from thr metro. Was decent.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j4mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    1,377
    567
    156
    67
See reviews for
869
716
240
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cosmopolitan for two nights in February. The rooms were little more than standard, but were definitely clean and comfortable. The service was quite good, particularly the staff at the front desk who were quite helpful. The breakfast was also quite good, with a variety of Western and Chinese dishes available. Although the location isn't ideal for tourists, they do have shuttle busses that help you get wherever you need to go. There are also many restaurants and shops in walking distance. All in all, a nice stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Esh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you are in Hong Kong for business and especially if you are attending a conference in the conference center, this is NOT a hotel for you. It appears to be conveniently located to the conference center with frequent shuttles, but it is not the case. Shuttles don't depart early enough to get to a conference center if your event starts early. Hotel was under renovation - loud during the day. It needs updating for sure - very shabby inside. During my stay, the cleaning staff broke a mirror and I was moved (unapologetically) to an INFERIOR suit across from an elevator. No apologies whatsoever and the attitude of: it is what it is, deal with it. Lacking in customer service and there was a language barrier with many of the members of the staff. Food was barely passable and overpriced. I am not a confrontational person, but I was certainly steaming by the time I left. The hotel was certainly disappointing, although passable given the cheap price. Definitely would be willing to pay more to stay at a better location next time.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a remodeled room and check what floors they are remodeling if you are to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Anna,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your experience with our hotel was less than favourable this time. While the earliest shuttle bus towards Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre is leaving the hotel at 7:15am, arriving at the destination around 7:30am, we regret to know that it didn’t fit in your schedule. We will keep monitoring the expo commencing time to ensure our business guests would not miss the early events in the future. Regarding the renovation noise, please rest assured that we have looked into this issue seriously to ensure our guests are not inconvenienced in any way during the renovation period. In the meantime, staff training will also be reinforce for the housekeeping staff to ensure high quality service is rendered to our guests at all times, we apologise for the discomfort caused. We value every guest’s feedback like yours and we hope you will have the chance to try our newly renovated room on your next visit for a whole new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe Room for 5 nights. Check-in was slow, the reception area was packed with tourists and suitcases. The room did not look as in the pictures: view on the opposite building and tiny bathroom (also, it did not smell of clean). The gym is tiny, although it is possible to go running in the Happy Valley racetrack.

Wifi is only available on the ground floor while in the rooms it costs 550HKD per week (this is "per device", so that if you want to use internet on your Ipad and computer it costs you double!). Service was average at best. The shuttle service to Central is useless: endless queues and bus always packed over the limit.

Overall a very disappointing experience. For the same rates, Hong Kong offers better solutions.

I have been able to use the shuttle service only once

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Edoardo,
Thank you for sharing with us your comments. We regret to know that service and the check-in speed were not up to your expectation this time, please rest assured that training will be reinforced to the frontline staff to ensure excellent service to be delivered at all times. We have noted your comments on the room condition as well as other hotel facilities, we are pleased to inform you that our second phase of renovation is almost coming to an end. When the whole renovation project completed, all the guestrooms will look at its finest, which including the gym room. That said though, we apologise for the cleanliness of the bathroom, we have already reminded our housekeeping to ensure all the guestrooms are in good condition at all times. Concerning the long queue for shuttle bus, it was due to high occupancy during your stay, we will definite revisit the demand and increase bus frequency if necessary. On your next visit, I’d recommend you to book via hotel website to enjoy a series of exclusive perks such as free in-room WiFi up to 200Mbps (supporting 10 devices simultaneously), 24-hour Flexi Stay (flexible check-in/out time and full 24-hour stay) and best rate guarantee. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another promising stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed a week in February and had a wonderful time. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome particularly Agnes who checked several times that we had everything we needed. English is spoken by the staff.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the top floor which was excellent overlooking the iconic racecourse. Renovations are taking place in the hotel but we heard nothing from the 25th floor and we were out sightseeing during the day. Be aware that the hotel is on the junction of several roads and a flyover so the higher the floor the further you are away from any potential traffic noise.

Comfortable bed, pillows and quilt, roomy shower with rain and hand shower heads, toiletries, cable TV, hairdryer, iron & kettle. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Bottles of water provided each day and a basket of fruit when we arrived. Needed to use air con as window doesn't open however air con was quite quiet. Not enough hangers but no problem requesting more and the housekeeper provided them straightaway.

The lifts were efficient and the breakfast room is on the first floor away from the road. The breakfast is okay. For westerners there was generally fruit juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, banana, cereal, baked beans, scrambled egg, hot dog style sausage, pancakes, waffles and toast. The toasting machine is not large enough for the size of restaurant and is very slow so sometimes a queue formed especially as the bread needed to go through twice to get any colour.

The hotel complimentary mini bus service worked well for us and we used it a lot during our stay. The location is great and we found getting around Hong Kong very easy and straight forward with a choice of bus, tram, train and ferry. The Octopus card is brilliant and can be used on transport and to pay for some attractions. You can top it up at corner shops called '7 Eleven' and then at the airport going home you can get a refund of any unused dollars.

We loved Hong Kong and there is plenty to do and see over a week. The weather was perfect for sightseeing dry, mostly cloudy and between 15 - 20 degrees We used a guide book and all the recommendations were excellent. Booked one tour to Macau at the hotel desk and the lady was very helpful. This was a great day out, interesting and well organised.

The stay at the Cosmopolitan was excellent for us and gave us a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. We would definitely recommend based on our experience of the deluxe room on the 25th floor.

Room Tip: Check if your room overlooks the racecourse. Choose higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for three nights.
Despite good rooms and location, the hotel staff ,especially at reception and breakfast room Jei High were kind of rude and not polite.

Despite my all three nights stay having been paid already, my credit card was still ACTUALLY debited for one night stay ostensibly to cover some consumption from mini bar, while in other hotels they just swipe your credit card and keep the imprint as a caution/deposit and the debit note is raised ONLY if it is needed.
Although the hotel has NOW reversed the entry but it will take one cycle for me to get refund.

No sooner you enter the breakfast room , you are hounded for the coupon (which can be comfortably collected once the guest settles down on a table ).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravinder33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. While it’s great that you found our hotel room to be comfortable and the location convenient, we are sorry to know that the service didn’t quite meet your expectation this time. Please rest assured that staff training will be reinforced for concerned department to ensure excellent service is maintained under any circumstances. Regarding the hotel deposit issue, while it is a standard practice for hotels worldwide to request deposit from the guests to cover incidental charges during their stay, those amount was not actually charged on the credit card per se, it was merely on hold in case there is any consumption, the hold will usually released within 3 to 5 days depending on the card issuing bank, I apologise if this has caused you any discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for a week recently in the club deluxe room. Fantastic location beside Happy Valley racecourse in a spacious and clean room. unlike most of the hk rooms these hotel rooms are great with very friendly and English speaking staff to help out

Causeway bay is 5 mins walk away and wanchai is close by.

My hotel safe got locked out and within 5 mins the asst. manager was in my room fixing it up. Just a great location matched by the rooms and staff.

You must make a point of going for breakfast in the restaurant....real nice food. A gym is on the 2nd floor and if you are feeling up for it ...go across the road and jog the happy valley stadium in the morning to experience HK.

Free wifi in the lobby and a cool bar next door at the cosmo

A must for any visitor to HK.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the top floor or spend a little more for a racecourse view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#138 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing