We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced and located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked a basic room and be warned these rooms are tiny. Ours was located behind the lift well which made it noisy, the windows were frosted so you couldn't see out (I realised there is a graveyard behind this place which explains the windows being frosted). However the room was clean and modern.

As we were staying for over a week this wouldn't do, so we asked to see an upgrade room.They kindly took us up and showed us a room recently renovated with a view over Happy Valley racecourse, much larger and decked out nicely. The upgrade price was very reasonable so we took it and they had our room switched right away.

The only issue I encountered was one type of pillow on the bed was quite poor and ended up giving my a sore neck, so I made sure I switched to the the other type.

All in all this place was well located, very clean, and staff friendly. I would highly recommend paying that bit more for a better room but if you don't require much space the basic rooms were very clean and fairly modern. I would come back and stay here next time I'm in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmelieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 3,282 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel offers a great price, and websites offer discounts for pre-purchase. Shuttle buses to the convention centre and other central locations all a bonus as is free wi fi in the lobby. The hotel has good check in and out, staff responded quickly to requests. However nothing prepared us for our room, 10th floor with windows that were frosted. There is Muslim cemetery adjacent and all rooms are frosted to avoid viewing of same. We felt trapped in a box and for AUD$80 a night to move to the other side of the building defeated the economic argument, given we had 7 rooms booked at the hotel. The venue is very tired. The bathroom vanity was worn and dirty looking, albeit clean. The towels were clean but all frayed. The gym - small but perfectly functioning was located on the 2nd floor - it being a smoking floor. The whole floor smelt and exercising in a gym which felt like you were inside the Dubai Airport smoking room, was no fun. It made no sense at all. Breakfast was fair in offerings but crowded and we were asked to move on while still having coffee, despite there being 6 of us at the table all paying breakfast guests. Wi fi in the room (paid internet) was limited to one user / one device - clearly not communication friendly when conducting business. For us not a good business experience.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is frosted - ie. can I see out of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Ann,

Thank you for your comments. We regret to know that the reserved room and some of the room facilities didn’t meet your expectation this time. With our newly refurbished Grand Deluxe Rooms available now, we hope you will have the chance to try it next time, which will surely impress you with its brand new spacious design, an array of thoughtful in-room facilities, and the amazing view of the city’s skyline or the greenery of racecourse. All housekeeping staff will also be reminded to make sure the amenities in rooms are in good condition in the future.

Regarding the gym room, we trust it was only an occasional incident as our staff will usually tidy it up on a frequent basis and make sure it is not filled with any cigarette smell. We hope you had the chance to relay this to our Guest Services Manager on the spot for prompt follow up, sorry for the inconvenience caused. We are also sorry to hear about the unpleasant experience you encountered during breakfast. Rest assured that we will work closely with the restaurant manager to avoid the same from happening again. Your comments regarding the in-room internet access is also well noted, which will be taken into consideration in the hotel’s future development plan. Thank you once again for your valuable feedbacks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a good deal for staying in a quite but central area of HK. Don't be misunderstood, though. You will be at a very busy intersection and you may want to get a cab or the hotel transfer to get anywhere as walking is not exactly recommended. The hotel is clean and the roomsa re average with a good view, particualrly at night. Did not try breakfast nor other food services.
I did use their tiny fitness room and its best feature is that the treadmills have Tv screens and behind it a window will give you the feeling of running towards the busy intersection. Somehow pleasant.
On a minor note, they are very strict at enforcing their no refund/no amendment policy in prepaid packages so be extra careful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank drtuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came from the crown plaza and ended up having to stay another night...due to crown plaza being full we moved over to the cosmopolitan. From the moment the taxi pulled up I knew we were doomed. Fabric ceilings., very cosquel and old looking....we did get checked in fast...we upgraded to a suite thinking maybe it will be nice as we heard the rooms would be small. We walked in and it was fish curtains , pacman styled couch and kid drawings on the wall. Am I in the twilight zone...what is this.
The staff is very professional and helpful but unless you are ok living in another dimension do not stay here.
This is a three star not a four star. It is clean enough, and comfortable enogugh but do not expect anything grand, and nothing like the Vegas hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Kristen,

We trust you had stayed in our signature Ocean Park Suite this time, which is actually among the most popular room types especially for family travellers with kids. Yet, we are sorry to know that this specially designed theme suite was not to your liking. We hope you had the chance to talk to our Guest Services Manager on the spot for a prompt room change to our usual Executive Suite. Your comments towards our hotel facilities are also well noted. We are happy to share with you that our hotel has just completed the first phase of renovation with the introduction of the newly renovated Grand Deluxe Room. We highly recommend you to check it out on your next visit to explore its new spacious design layout and a series of travel-friendly in-room facilities, which will definitely offer you a refreshing staying experience. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were on vacation and stayed at The Signature in a penthouse for 4 nights. Our room feature a balcony with a great view of the strip and mountains, (I wouldn't recommend this room for anyone with children.) Everything was clean, comfortable, and accommodating. There was a kitchenette with dishes. The glamour bath was spacious and had a tv too. Water pressure was very good. Staff was courteous and housekeeping thoroughly tended to our room each day. We ordered room service in our room once and that was effecient and well prepared. Will definitely visit again when in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I found the room very clean, practical and comfortable. Good location, only a ten minute walk to Times Square, and shopping centers. Great buffet breakfast, with so many choices from western and asian dishes. Restaurant was also very good, a bit too spicy which isn't a problem for me but could be for average people, dumplings were the best I've had so far.
All what was expected from a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toshinosukeinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Your experience at this hotel will depend on which room you stay in. The first three nights I was with a colleague and the room left a lot to be desired: tenth floor room was very small, no shelf space in the bathroom, and quite ordinary. The next two nights I was up on the 23rd floor and the room was spectacular: very beautifully appointed. The beds in the 10th floor room were extremely hard (be sure to ask for a "topper") while the King bed in the room on the 23rd floor was very nice and soft and very comfortable. The breakfast on the first floor was great and the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I did not like the attempt at charging U.S. $70 for a rollaway. Having worked in two different hotels, that charge is ridiculous.

The location is great, if a little too far east of Central. The hotel is near "Times Square" and other popular attractions. A bit of a walk to the subway.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the 23rd floor if it's just you or if you're traveling with a spous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reddzone,

Thank you for your comments. It’s great to know that our newly renovated Grand Deluxe Room has offered you a delightful stay with its Victorian and Oriental design elements, upgraded mattress and other in-room facilities and the spacious room layout. Your compliments are definitely encouraging and the makeover of all guestrooms is actually in the pipeline to ensure every guest a enjoyable stay like yours. As for the supplement charge for the rollaway bed, we appreciate your understanding that it is set along with city-wide standard as other international hotels do. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#148 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,443 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,859 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#47 of 730 in Hong Kong
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $96 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing