We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a little out of the way - queue early for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and seems to be popular with all age ranges.
The rooms are very nice and we had a decent view. Very friendly staff.

One note of caution - queue early for breakfast! We queued for around half an hour to be seated - we saw others walk in, grab some food and take it to there rooms, so that option may also be worth considering. The breakfast itself is a reasonable buffet, nothing out of the ordinary.

The hotel is in a decent location, with the hotels shuttle bus leaving around every 30 minutes to some main destinations. There is also a bus stop a few minutes walk from the hotel which will get you to all of the main hotspots with 20 minutes - also very cheap.

Victoria peaks cable cars - queue early, unless you want to queue for hours. Another option is to take the bus, which you don't have to queue long for at all.

Big buddha - It's worth visiting, but get there as early as possible. We got to the queue around 12pm, and got on the cable car around 2pm - depending on the time of year, you may also want to wrap up warm as the queue is outdoors. We opted for the bus ride back down because we didn't want to queue again!

Try to walk away from main roads and experience some of the smaller streets for some authentic living - you'll also get some great photo ops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

we stayed recently with our two young kids (3 & 5 yo). fantastic experience. staff were very friendly. kids received welcome pack on arrival (snacks, drinks etc), had their own (kid sized) bath robes & slippers in room, etc. breakfast was fantastic. i would highly recommend this to any family with young kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The senior guest service manager of cosmopolitan is very sincere and helpful, once she found out that i requested shower curtain cleaner, she called and asked how everything was, then she search and moved us to a new room, her concern is genuine, thank you so much.
the free shuttle service is great, the shuttle is always on time, the concierge and the front desk are so helpful in giving out information, like bakeries, groceries, good restaurants and how to get to the peak, the concierge suggested the bus and so glad that he did, it's cheaper to take the bus than the train, it's easier too, there is no queue and the bus stop is so close to cosmopolitan hotel. I have recommended my relatives and friends to stay there because the people who works there are genuinely concern and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the race course, if you're like us, we like to look out the window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank be b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Hong Kong! The Cosmopolitan Hotel is in a very good location with the added bonus of the hotel shuttle bus that takes you to a selection of places! The staff were very attentive, always helpful and smiley! Our room on the 22nd floor was bay facing, we had an amazing view of the ever changing Hong Kong skyline! The room was very nice, newly refurbished, clean, and a very comfy bed! pillow menu with 11 different choices, and even chandeliers in the bathroom! Totally impressed! The staff in the foyer are always quick to get a taxi for you and will happily tell the driver your destination in chinese! We had breakfast each morning and this is the only thing that lets this gem of a hotel down.. its a 4 star hotel with a 3 star breakfast! Limited choices, toasters that didnt work, tinned fruit, and pvc tableclothes! The lady who made the omelettes always wore a face mask...but that aside this hotel is wonderful, we will certainly use it again when we return to Hong Kong next year!

Room Tip: spend a little extra and have one of the upper floor rooms- the views are worth the extra money, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhod and Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked a deluxe room facing the racecourse for my 5-day stay in HK. I was staying in the normal deluxe room for the first two nights the view was amazing considering HK is a concrete jungle, on my third and fourth nights I was offered a newly renovated room by the super kind hotel staff, the room was facing the same view but on a higher floor. It was absolutely beautiful with lots of decorative details like the fleur-de-lis overhead board, glitzy marble writing desk, vintage TV frame, the room décor was heavily Victorian-inspired, couldn't have loved it more.
I was told the room has just completed renovation and only a handful of new rooms available at the moment, eventually all the rooms will adopt the new, so I guess I was lucky to be the first batch of guests to be able to experience it firsthand! Strongly recommend one to try it out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staying in Cosmopolitan for the 3rd time and the service is always welcoming as before. Special thanks to the Guest Services Managers for their attentiveness during my stay, I feel so warm to be recognised once stepping into my second home and they were very helpful when needed.


They have also arranged me their newly refurbished room this time. As a business traveller, I particularly like the extravagant work desk there. It’s made of some mixture of shell (looks truly luxury), and I think it’s quite functional for me to work with my laptop and various documents. Also, though I don’t usually iron my shirts myself, I do think the new built-in ironing board is a thoughtful touch for others. Not much difference in other aspects. Overall, it’s again a comfortable stay for me.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Anderson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and I honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic there is a 'pub' within walking distance that offers a wide range of meals at really great value for money. I have always been given a room with views of the Happy Valley Racecourse which makes for fantastic viewing whilst sipping a glass or two!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,807 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,521 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#116 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $98 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing