We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #112 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The main attraction here was the good deal for the four of us. The hotel itself is fairly standard and the refurbishment it is undergoing will lift the look of all rooms. For Hong Kong Island, it's a good choice on cost and it's not that far away from Central district via tram, taxi or MTR. If the horseracing is on at Happy Valley across the road, it's worth going and you couldn't be better placed. Breakfast was good and plentiful but can be very busy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpudWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 3,319 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Honk Kong last month for several days with my lady.We have booked this hotel trough "booking". The service was great, the reception was welcome to help you at any time giving you halpful answers thanks to those we succeed to visit almost everything nearby.
The room was a little small, I think it was not the one I booked before, I guess there has been a room changing, as letter of fact the reception asked us if we wanted tondo the room upgrade, with 150 honk Kong dollar more per day we could get the breakfast and a room with WiFi.
Anyway i suggest this hotel to people who wanna have a no worries about how to get to the places they are looking for..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giu_seppe_04p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of Cosmopolitan Hotel especially Louis Chan and Agnes Yau whose help was invaluable on our recent stay in Hong Kong. Unfortunately my husband was taken ill with a back problem and Louis immediately organised a visit to the hospital.The hospital staff were brilliant and the care and support from Louis and Agnes after enabled us to fly home without delaying our journey. Many thanks again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse. The views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is extremely inconvenient relative to MTR and taxis.
The room was old and shabby.
The room was as small as I have experienced to the point of not having a place for my suitcase out of the way.
The shower floods the bathroom
The movie access was flawed and I had a hard time canceling a movie I did not request.
Free Internet in the rooms is a common expectation for business travelers and gouging for such is a turn off.
All in all I will not return

Room Tip: A different hotel. And don't go to the Cosmo which is down the street and worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Zhudog,

We are sorry to learn that the experience was less than favourable this time. We do hope our daily complimentary shuttle bus service has brought you immense convenience and saved your travelling time to some of the major tourist destinations.
In regard to the room condition, in fact, hotel renovation work is underway. Phase one renovation which involves four guest floors is due this week, guests can now look forward to a whole new experience in our newly refurbished guest rooms. We are sure you will value it greatly too if you check into one of those on your next visit.
The shower problem that you mentioned has been checked. Though our housekeeping team has confirmed the drainage was running smooth, they have been reminded to ensure all the guest rooms are well maintained at all times and no small detail should be overlooked, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.
We would like to apologise for the flawed movie, too. While our team has immediately waived off the movie charge upon noticing your concern, we will look into this problem with IT team to ensure the same problem will not happen again in the future.
At present, we do offer free in-room WiFi for guests who book via our hotel website. We hope you will also take advantage of this on your next visit. Not only that, online booking will also entitle your to a series of privileges such as 24-hour check-in/out and best rate guaranteed etc.
Zhudog, we sincerely hope this will not stop you from visiting us again and we all look forward to welcoming you soon at Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel Good
Wifi in the lobby area
though Small Rooms Canno expect bigger in HK City Side.
Not Expensive as per HK Standards. Shuttle Services are good.
Stayed here a spam of 5-6 days for the past 3 years

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarshilJhaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel that has the standard provision. Clean and tidy. Has 2 queen beds.Location is a bit off but hotel provides shuttle to major shopping centre.Price was not too steep as I remembered - was back in 2009. Did not have much difficulties getting around on our own.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitehairmonstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed between 25-29th July 2013.

Initially booked 1 room for 3 people but the room was very tiny so we paid extra and upgraded to the osim suite on a higher floor. They brought in a roll in single bed for the 3rd person and this was situated behind the couch.

The room itself was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The only real issue i had was with the bathroom. Great that there were 2 showers however the shower closest to the toilet constantly smelt like urine (on the very first day). I'm not sure if it is due to the toilet not being cleaned properly or from what looked like a drainage sewage pipe in between the toilet and shower. I ignored it and waited the next day to see what it was like. I just assumed it was from the drain so ceased using the extra shower. WOuld have preferred the second shower to be outside of the bedroom for our 3rd guest to easily access.

It was a great chance to try out the osim (deluxe massage chair) and also their massage saddle (this was interesting to watch.., not sure what it is supposed to massage??).

The cosmo is supposed to be very close to the wan chai mtr but i found all the other ones around except for the actual wan chai mtr!

There is a free shuttle bus to take you around the area.. just as you leave the hotel on your right is a cemetery.......... which i was no aware of.. I'm happy that my view was not of the cemetery though!!! Kind of scary at night i would think.

Coming from Hennessy Road towards the hotel, we stumbled upon a brilliant tapas/bar tucked in the corner. http://hk.dining.asiatatler.com/restaurants/catalunya-hong-kong
Catalunya served the best cocktails and food. For 3 of us, we had 5 cocktails, 4 beers, 2 spirits and 3 tapas dishes which came to under $1000HKD which is about $120 Aus !! I was stoked. THe atmosphere was perfect, dimmed lights and great chilled out music. Decor was perfect to my preference too.

There is also a shop called Alice Fashion in Central on 63 Wellington st that i recommend. After mexican dining on the same street (delicious!) i stumbled upon this boutique.. open til 10pm!! WOOHOO. Being kind of tipsy a beautiful friendly lady selected dresses for me to try on. I bought 3 for about $400aud. I loved that shop and angela (the assistant) so much that I had to come back before i left.. and the bf gifted $600aud on 8 items. 2 blouses, 2 coats, 3 dresses. Perfectly sexy yet very classic and demure. The bulk of my shopping was here and not the markets actually!

What i disliked most was that in our original room, despite having "Free wifi" there was a service charge of 12HKD per day per device. To be honest in aud it's not that much but the principle is "Free wifi..." so once we got upgraded that was waived. It's odd that everyone was just sitting around the lobby (already not being that big) as you walk through, but i was aware they were just using free wifi with no extra charges.

Also once we upgraded we of course paid the difference. Friend "A" used his c/card and we assumed that was it. Friend A left before us and when we checked out they asked us to sign off for friend "A's" payment as they were "holding the transaction and hadn't yet processed". It was a huge hassle and in the end we paid and our friend had to wait for 2 weeks to be reimbursed as on his side as the transaction had already gone through according to Australian bank's internet transaction record. So i'm not sure what they were trying to do as they reassured us it hadn't gone through....

The complimentary breakfast was annoying. They gave vouchers but with 3 people for a few days that was a lot of vouchers and it was easily misplaced (we did find in the end). You could not just quote your room number which was annoying. The breakfast was not that flash. The bacon was very mediocre. At least the tropical fruit variety made up for it. Even the scrambled eggs weren't all that pleasant.

The friendliest staff was Hugo Chou. He was great help and English was very good. Benjamin Shum was another friendly face.

I have now stayed at both the Cosmo and Cosmopolitan in Hong Kong (different locations) and unfortunately will most likely not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Thu C,

Thank you for your time in sharing with us your recent staying experience. First of all, we have checked the mentioned room condition and believe you are talking about the occasional damp smell from the shower cubicle curtain. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and the Housekeeping staff has already been reminded not to overlook any details when cleaning up the rooms in the future. At the same time, our guest rooms are undergoing a complete makeover now and we do hope the new face will impress you on your next visit.

In regards to the subway station, actually both Wan Chai and Causeway Bay subway stations are within 10 minutes walk from our hotel. Our Concierge is always happy to suggest you the shortest route towards your destinations, and we hope you could take advantage of this service next time. On the other hand, we are happy to know that the view of the city’s skyline and racecourse in our signature OSIM suite was to your liking. We also believe you had a great time exploring the various restaurants and boutiques in our neighbourhood.

For the free Wi-Fi issue, the service charge was imposed by the internet service provider instead of the hotel, and we would like to seek for your kind understanding on this. Your comments on the breakfast vouchers and food quality are also well noted. We will consider your suggestions and further review in the management meeting for future improvement.

Lastly, we regret for the confusion made to you regarding the upgrade charges. Due to security reason, we will usually require the cardholder’s signature for actual payment during check-out. Therefore payment was arranged directly with you though your friend’s credit card was used to guarantee the payment upon arrival. To further clarify, the amount shown in your friend’s bank record was only hold for guarantee purpose, in which no actual payment transaction was made. That said though, the bank will usually take less than 2-week time to release the said amount and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. We hope this could ease your concerns and you are welcome to contact us anytime if further explanation is needed.

We hope this single staying experience will not prevent you from staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#150 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,452 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,573 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#108 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,586 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#46 of 729 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $98 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing