We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #112 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Cosmopolitan for 2 nights in June.
Choice had been guided by previous reviews and I was not disappointed. The hotel was good but all the staff were great.
I arrived before midday and expected to have to wait to check in but was pleasantly surprised to find I could access my room straight away. I was given a room on the top floor which yes did overlook a graveyard but that did not bother me at all. Upon returning to my room that evening i noticed a constant "humming" noise even after turning off the air conditioning and rang down to reception and someone was up straightaway to investigate, agreed there was a noise but not certain what it was but I was allocated a superior room on a lower floor (only downside was frosted window and no views) and was helped in the move by Alison (who was an excellent ambassador for the hotel).
My flight out of HK was quite late and I therefore enquired about a late check-out and again Alison was very helpful, I appreciate that it may not always be possible for them to help with early check in and late check outs and maybe I was lucky but it does make a difference.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 3,318 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late June. It is not a luxurious hotel, but not bad either.
The positives: the staff - everyone was very friendly and helpful. The king size bed - was very comfortable. The dinner in the restaurant was very nice too. Got to watch the last of the horse races on Wed night from our hotel window.
The negatives: The tiny bathroom. The noise from traffic outside. The position of the hotel is boardering on being too far to comfortably walk in the heat and humidity.
The foyer is always crowded, and the breakfast needs improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room on a higher floor. But be aware that there is street noise, or take one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessbuttercup66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Princessbuttercup,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us.

Your comments on the bathroom is well noted. In fact, our guest rooms will be undergoing renovation works by phases beginning end of July. The renovation will bring a brand new look to our existing guests rooms, which promise a refreshing stay experience for our guests. We are sure that you will also relish the changes when you stay with us again next time.

Location wise, Cosmopolitan Hotel is actually located conveniently between Causeway Bay and Wan Chai districts with the nearest Causeway Bay subway station being only 8-min walk away. In addition, we also provides free shuttle bus service taking our guests towards 15 major destinations, making exploring city a hassle-free experience.

Regarding the street noise that you encountered, please rest assured that we will look into this issue and enhance our in-room soundproof feature to minimise the noise disturbance, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. As for the occasionally crowded foyer, it was probably due to high occupancy during your staying period. We have also noted your comment on the breakfast, we will communicate your feedback with the restaurant manager and will make the necessary improvements.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back again for another pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently had my third stay at the Cosmopolitan. The staff is terrific and goes out of their way to make you feel at home. They are very attentive to repeat visitors, which is great in a world that has forgotten customer service. Have a coffee from the lobby concession, it really is quite good. Only one complaint is that I and my student group wished there was an onsite hotel store. It would have been convenient for snacks and water etc. before heading out for the day. Also, while the hotel shuttle is a huge advantage, knowing where it picked up and dropped off was a bit confusing (hint: not always in the same place :)
Will stay at the Cosmopolitan again, particularly as rooms are being updated this year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear James E,

Thank you for your repeated patronage, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us again. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and therefore our staff would go the extra mile to ensure travellers like you an unforgettable stay with attentive service.

Your suggestion for onsite hotel store is well noted. While we do offer complimentary bottled water and coffee and tea making facilities for guest’s enjoyment, our in-room mini-bar (pay-upon-consumption) also features a wide selection of tidbits and healthy snacks for guests to choose from. Furthermore, there are a few convenience stores located just 5-min walk from the hotel and there is one opens 24-hour. If our guests need assistance in relation to direction, our friendly concierge team is always ready to help.

Your comment on the pick-up and drop-off point for our complimentary shuttle bus service is also noted. We have communicated this issue with our concierge team already, and we will ensure all our guests are given a clear direction on each pick-up and drop-off point, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

James E, thank you for your comments again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we choose this hotel coz of my uncle but very bad service there i dont thing they are star hotel very bad location and after on the top the service they charges us a lot more then on net so and no free wifi so make sure before you arrives there ok

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Yogibaba,

Thank you for your comments.

We regret to know that our service didn’t quite meet your expectation this time. As guest satisfaction is our top priority, please rest assured that we will reinforce our staff training to ensure excellent customer service is delivered under any circumstances.

Location wise, we are centrally located between Causeway Bay and Wan Chai districts where public transport like bus, tram and taxi are readily available at doorstep, and the nearest Causeway Bay MTR station is only about 8-min walk away. Furthermore, our free shuttle bus service taking our guests to 15 destinations is making exploring city even more convenient and economical. We hope you had the chance to enjoy the free rides during your stay.

We also noted your comment on the charge. While we offer the best rates for bookings made through our hotel website, room rates may vary from day to day depending on room availability. Please rest assured that our daily room rates are clearly published on the website for guests’ reference before they decide to book the room.

As for free WiFi, in fact, we do offer free high-speed WiFi at hotel lobby and public areas. Guests who book through our hotel website will also be able to enjoy free in-room WiFi on top of the best rate guaranteed. We hope you will be able to take advantage of these benefits by booking through our website on your next visit.

Yogibaba, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here last year for a week's time. The staff is very hospitable and helpful.
The lobby area is tiny and is mostly crowded. Waiting to get a room can be quite painful.
I had booked a standard room and the view from it was a graveyard!! I was spooked out and kept the curtains closed at all times.

The breakfast is ordinary. I've had better ones!

Highlights : Helpful staff,cleanliness.
Lowlights : Room view (ensure you get a good view room at check-in), breakfast spead wasn't very extensive.

Room Tip: DO NOT take the rooms with the view of the graveyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMistressOfSpices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Rekha,

Thank you for staying with us. It’s great to know that you have found our professional teams hospitable which made your stay delightful.

We regret to learn that the lobby was a bit filled possibly due to high occupancy during your stay. We truly hope our staff’s efficient service had minimised your waiting time. Actually apart from the standard room that comes with the view of the historical churchyard, our hotel offers 8 room categories with most of them overlooking the amazing view of the city’s skyline and the unique view of the greenery of Happy Valley racecourse. We also note your comment on the breakfast and we will definitely review to improve both food variety and quality. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids - 11 and 7 years old) recently stayed at the Cosmopolitan. It was one of ithe few hotels in HK we found that would accommodate 4 people in 2 QS beds n one room. While tight, it was a great experience. Service was very good, the buffet breakfast (included n our stay) was xcellent, and the location was very convenient... Taxis were generally easy to get, Times Square was only a 10 minute walk, and it was a easy walk into WanChai. There was no pool, and the gym was pretty limited, but then again we weren't paying Grand Hyatt rates either, so all was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cutting straight to the FANTASTIC you must have the Wasabi Prawns at the hotel restaurant. Just trust me on that. Great service from the wait staff too.
The hotel itself is nice enough - they provided us with free bottled water every day and we had a nice view over the Happy Valley Racecourse. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It's walking distance from Causeway Bay but there is a shuttle bus that runs pretty frequently if you can't be bothered - I imagine when it's humid it could be worth it.
The shuttle to and from the airport was reasonably priced and got us back to the airport with time to do some duty free shopping.
The best bit (apart from the Wasabi Prawns - seriously, you have to have them) was the proximity to the tram. Being from Melbourne it was not the kind of tram I'm used to but they were so much fun! And they were just outside the front of the hotel - everywhere I needed to go was easily accessible by these adorable little transports.
I'll stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#150 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,452 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,572 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#108 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,585 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#46 of 729 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $98 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing