We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and (relatively) Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and (relatively) Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a sporting event at Happy Valley, so for me it was insanely convenient. If you're going to HK to sightsee, though, know that it is about a 10-12 minute walk to the nearest subway station. But that 10 minutes will also take you to Times Square and almost to Causeway Bay, so if you're blessed with nice weather (I wasn't), its not a bad walk.

The room was comfortable, the shower pressure was amazing, and the air conditioning was blissfully cold. The front desk and concierge are very helpful, and there's a nice back entrance where they'll call a cab for you at any time.

The only things that bothered me: rooms don't come with free internet (you have to upgrade a few levels to get breakfast or WIFI), but there was free WIFI in the lobby. Also, the windows in the standard/superior rooms don't open, which can be frustrating if a monsoon hits and you have heaps of soaking wet clothes.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor, because we heard it was noisy on the lower levels. We spend on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBloomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    1,364
    556
    156
    66
See reviews for
851
705
240
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel has the potential, and is trying very hard, but it's just not a quality hotel. It's the small things that let it down. I was on a completely non-smoking floor, however someone in the room across the hall was smoking, and it was in my room - I called reception, and was told basically there was nothing they could do and to just turn my air conditioning up to circulate the air in my room - not good enough, especially when we were told very clearly that smoking will have a fine, rooms are checked daily, etc (so assuming they have a problem).

I had booked a 'valley view room' - however all I was able to see was the back of the grandstand (on level 15!) charged a premium for pretty much nothing

Breakfast was very poor - it's held in a restaurant that does not have the seating capacity nor ability to service a buffet breakfast. We were waiting in line with about 2 groups in front and 4-5 behind - when a couple were leaving, noticed their colleagues were waiting at the end of the line - then proceed to usher them in, and sit them down at the table they were vacating, in front of the staff who said nothing.

I would not return to this hotel and unsure why this hotel has the high ratings it does

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcss_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. First of all, we regret to learn about the smoking issue you have encountered while you are staying on the non-smoking floor. We believe our Guest Service Team had suggested you to turn your air conditioning up to have better ventilation in the room as an immediate action to ease your concerns. At the same time, all our guestrooms are checked daily and penalties will be applied upon noticing similar incidents. We apologise for the inconvenience caused in this occasional case.

On the other hand, we are also sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience during the breakfast time. Your feedback is well noted and we will seriously review the seating arrangement and service in the restaurant to prevent the same from happening again. Though many of our guests have actually given us a thumb up on the unique greenery view of the racecourse, most of our rooms also come with the amazing view of the city’s skyline that worth trying upon your return. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I checked on TripAdvisor before booking this hotel and the photos looked excellent, the bedroom might even have been the one that we stayed in however the picture must have been taken years ago. Everything was shabby, the carpets dirty and marked, the furniture also covered in old ring marks from drinks.

From the moment we arrived in the extremely noisy lobby we realised that this just wasn't for us. Really disappointed. Even though we were on the 25th floor we could hear the traffic from down below. The air conditioning was set at very cold, according to the duty manager, it was centralised and couldn't be altered!

It was obviously a cheap hotel as there were lots of children. The breakfast was adequate.

So pleased we were only staying two nights.

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiehobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for staying with us. We regret to hear about the occasional room condition you have encountered this time. Though all our rooms are tidied up on a daily basis, rest assured that our Housekeeping team will be reminded on their attentiveness to avoid the same from happening again. We also appreciate your understanding that the lobby was a bit filled upon your arrival possibly due to high occupancy on that day. While our hotel is well-equipped with soundproof facilities, your comments are well noted and we will definitely review for continuous improvement.

On the other hand, please accept our apology on the miscommunication arose regarding the air conditioning in your room and the inconvenience caused. Actually every room is equipped with a thermostat control that allows our guests to alter to the most suitable temperature. Continuous training will be reinforced to the front line staff to ensure accurate information is given to our guests under any circumstances.

Jackie, we truly hope the single staying experience this time will not prevent you from staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable four days at the Cosmopolitan Hotel, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong. We booked online quite a few months in advance and I was impressed with their quick follow when I emailed them with a couple of questions, and with their four day weather forecast sent prior to our arrival. We arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome from Ronald Cheung, Front Office Manager and his team. After two weeks in Europe their genuine warmth was refreshing! Throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome by the cleaners, doorman, concierge, and waiters - every member of staff! HK is a wonderful city and our stay at the Cosmopolitan was the icing on the cake. When next in HK I will definitely be returning to the Cosmopolitan and recommend it highly to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradGatehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is well situated near Wanchai, Times Square, and Happy Valley. The bus stops for Stanley Market and the Peak are one block away. It has a great view of the horse racetrack. It is on a very busy corner with much vehicle traffic, however. One drawback, it is a good walking distance from a MTR stop (subway) and the across-town tram line (excellent old streetcars). You must also use an underground pedestrian walkway to cross the nearest street or otherwise walk uphill to another crosswalk. Therefore it may be challenging for persons with mobility issues. Otherwise I think it offers a good value.

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed with Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong from 8-11 Jun 2013.
Truly impressed with their service and a crew of dedicated staff!! Thumbs up!
Heartfelt thanks to Guest Service Manager, Kane Ng that had made our stay special and memorable. Very thoughtful of him for arranging a high floor overseeing the Hong Kong jockey club and the small gesture on our special date.
You are truly a gem of the organisation!
The room is clean and the night scenery is charming. Feels relax and cosy during our stay there.

They have shuttle service to and from the nearby shopping areas. It is pretty frequent and operates till 10pm. If you have missed the bus, you can always take the MTR to either Wan Chai or Causeway bay and walk the subway back to Hotel.

The only downside is the elevator. It can be relatively slow.

Once again, thanks a lot to Kane Ng, Louis Chan and fellow colleagues of Cosmoplitan Hotel that had made it a memorable trip!

Hope to visit Hong Kong soon. :o)

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe room- high floor overseeing the jockey club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helensvale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Cosmopolitan in Late April.
We found the hotel to be very good.Position of the hotel (across the road from Happy Valley Racecourse) was excellent.
We only ate there once for breakfast , and food was good and service helpful.
Our only complaint was the bed.The bed was very hard and extremely uncomfortable.
That is when we met Agnes Yau.A very pleasant and helpful person.
She did what she could to improve the bedding for us.Possibly it may have been better in another room but also maybe this wasn't possible.Anyway she did what she could and it did improve to a satisfactory point.
I must thanks Agnes on all her help.She was courteous and so efficient.All hotels need an Agnes.
All in all a good stay (but do try and fix the beds-we weren't the only ones complaining!!) .
I travel to Hong Kong consistently and will give the Cosmopolitan another chance , due to Agnes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#134 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing