We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good situation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #112 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not sure what other guests thought about this place but for us it was ideally situated close to some good eating places,we were only on a room only basis for 3 nights but found the room clean warm spotless,beds were slightly on the hard side but had no problems sleeping.Bathroom was clean,towels soft,shower was more than adequate,cosidering the price of hotel accommodation in H.K. thought it gave good value and would stay there again if er return.Only downside to the room was our view over the local Muslim graveyard but as we only looked out the window once a day to check the weather I couldn't really give it a negative,there was construction work going on next door but the piledriver didn't start until 10.30 am and the hotel had moved us away from that side of the hotel already.
All in all we rate this hotel a 4 star for comfort,cleanliness and situation and would have hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StourbridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,179)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 3,179 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel for the first time. We made reservations online for a "family room" because the property seemed reasonably priced and well situated for Hong Kong. I am giving the property an overall 3 rating (average) even though 3.5 rating would be more accurate because I don't think the property deserves a 4 rating (very good) because Tripadvisor doesn't allow for 1/2 point ratings and my primary criteria for a hotel is the physical attributes of the room and public areas. That said, I don't want to be overly negative as the value for money for the rate we paid was pretty good.

Although the property is technically in Wanchai, it is right at the border to Causeway Bay and is a walkable distance to one of Hong Kong's largest shopping complexes -- Times Square (the walk is nothing special, but totally doable). The staff is quite good; typical Hong Kong efficiency and more friendly than some other experiences I have had previously in Hong Kong. Our rate included a buffet breakfast every day which was quite comprehensive considering it was included in the relatively reasonable room rate.

The hotel is let down somewhat by the overall condition of the property. My guess is that when the hotel was first built, it would have been a decent 4 star property, but as with many other hotels that rely on volume and offer attractive rates to maintain high occupancy rates, there is evidence of a fair bit of wear and tear throughout the rooms, fittings and public areas. The hotel would need a comprehensive renovation and new furnishings/beddings to qualify for present 4 star standards. Also, as others have noted, the wifi is spotty and the mattresses are very firm (which I don't mind) but others may find them somewhat uncomfortable.

I have stayed at a wide range of tourist accomodations (from places that would never pass a Canadian health inspection to some of the world's most renowned 5/6 star hotels) for both business and pleasure so I think I have a reasonably credible perspective. Although the stay was OK and I may stay here again, I suspect for future family holidays in Hong Kong, I may go back to booking a higher grade (albeit more expensive) hotel on the Kowloon side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedbacks. First of all, it’s great to know that Cosmopolitan’s convenient location, friendly staff and good restaurant have all made your stay an enjoyable one. While all our mattress is imported from the well-known brand Simmons to ensure every guest a good sleep, our Guest Services Team is always happy to provide extra toppers if you prefer a softer bed. Same for the wifi issue, we regret for the inconvenience caused and we do hope that you had chance to relay this to our Guest Services Team or the internet service provider on the spot for prompt assistance. Thank you again for your comments towards our hotel rooms and facilities. We will definitely review these issues with our management in order to provide the best staying experience to all our guests. Rest assured that we will always strive for excellence to deliver the greatest value of money to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed recently for 11 days and was a stay of two halves. General service, restaurant, were okay, but having upgraded to a deluxe room was somewhat let down by this perception of deluxe. Hardest bed I have ever slept in, wifi was spotty, and a deluxe room without a bath isn't my idea of deluxe. Doubtful I'll be back many better options in Hong Kong.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Howling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Howling,

It’s great to know that you have enjoyed staying with us with our warm hospitality and good food at restaurants. While all our mattress is actually imported from the high quality brand Simmons, we hope you had chance to talk to our Guest Services Manager for an extra topper if a puffier bed was preferred. Same for the wifi issue, guests are always welcome to talk to our Guest Service Team or the service provider directly for immediate assistance on the spot. Howling, we hope by next time you could also try our suite for a more spacious accommodation. Meanwhile, our bathroom’s renovation is in the pipeline and will surely give you a refreshing experience upon return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel on a business trip. Special mention for Mr. Kane Ng the guest services manager a friendly and helpful person. The hotel has an excellent free shuttle service to Times Square running every half an hour or so. Overall a pleasant experience and I would recommend this nice hotel to anyone looking to visit HK on business or holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajith_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Cosmopolitan Hong Kong. The rooms are large, the beds very comfortable, all the things you need (TV, desk, shampoo, etc.) and extremely good service at the front desk/concierge and valet. The breakfast buffet has everything you need, although it does not change much, and the dinners in the evening are well presented and very good. While the price may not be "a deal", it is very reasonable and I will go back next time I'm in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room on the upper floors overlooking the stadium side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Friendly experienced staff,Great location in Wan Chai. The hotel has a Shuttle bus that takes you
to the Hong Kong Station Airport Express Line Convention Center and into the main shopping aria. Other buses and trams available in front of the hotel.A short walk away, pass Happy Valley
Race Course, you will find amazing restaurants. My stay has always been a happy experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Oeverpriced outdated old hotel in a noisy area of hk island next to city highway nothing in real walking distance. There are much much better choices in this great city. Dont know why i booked this maybe was fooled by the website. If i not had the prepayed rate would have left right away. Next time crowne plaza down the street where i happily pay more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pulleyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Pulleyo,

While Cosmopolitan is situated right between the city’s busiest districts Causeway Bay (for shopping) and Wan Chai (for business), we always aim to bring guests a sense of oasis for a good rest at night. Having said that, many of our guests have actually given us a thumb up on the array of localized shops and restaurants around the corner. We value every guest’s feedbacks like yours and much appreciated if you could further share with us on the specific areas that we could improve at mktcom@cosmohotel.com.hk. Though all information put on our official website is updated and accurate, we will definitely strive for continuous improvement to ensure great value of money delivered. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,686 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#140 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,417 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,956 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $103 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing