We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #114 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Overall, this hotel was a good experience for me and my daughter. Upon arrival, the concierge and frontdesk staff were all very friendly and we were offered an upgrade to a superior room as our room was not ready. It was fine as we were famished and decided to head out for some makan before checking into the room. Though the standard room we had was small, it had a cosy feeling. The bar fridge was not working on our 1st night but the hotel staff had it replaced within 10 minutes. We enjoyed the walk to Wan Chai MTR approx. 5-10 mins and along the way, there is a corner stall selling curry fishball and octopus sticks which is my daughter's favourite. We dropped by every night on our way back to the hotel. On our last night, we had dinner at the hotel's chinese restaurant..if i remember correctly, the name's He Jiang. The food was good especially the braised pork and it was nice sitting by the window and looking out at the night street traffic. I guess the only thing is the queue for breakfast..it gets a bit of a wait past 830am.

Room Tip: Might want to consider the deluxe room with city bay or racecourse view as the standard room comes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,668 - 1,674 of 3,249 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is clean, efficient and helpful. The price is excellent for its location opposite the race track. One is only 10-15 minutes away from Central HK by taxis which are plentiful at any time of day. I would highly recommend you stay here if you need to be close to the city centre but don't want the sky high mid-town prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I lasted about 4 hours at this hotel. I upgraded to a deluxe room and was given a room on the 21st floor, when I got to my room there was a loud drilling sound coming from the 18th floor apparently from renovations the hotel was undergoing. None of this was mentioned to me at the time I booked or checked into the hotel. (not to mention the room was disgusting) I asked to be moved to another floor, I was then moved to the 10th floor, my king bed was now a double that was rock hard, I complained and they sent in a blanket to put underneath the mattress cover. After looking around the room and taking photos of the yellow stained toilet, scum in the shower, a rusting fire extinguisher and an exposed electrical wire need the shower I decided to check out and move across the road to the Crowne Plaza which was amazing.

In addition to this I met another couple in the lift who were also checking out the same day they arrived, my two other friends stayed one night and checked out the following day to move to the Crowne. Don't believe the photos as they're photoshopped or 20 years old.

Only good things to say are the location is ok and the staff in the lobby were very nice and attentive however when I checked out no-one seemed to care that after numerous complaints they didn't want to make any comment about the hotels condition or attempt make any attempt to address my concerns.

Stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for your valuable time on bringing your recent unpleasant experience to our attention. First of all, please accept our apology regarding the renovation noise you encountered during your stay. While guest letters were put in every guestroom to inform guests about the possible disturbance, we are sorry about the inconvenience caused. We hope our Guest Services Manager has arranged the room change for you promptly and we trust the extra topper put on our Simmons mattress has made you a puffier bed as requested. Having said that, we are also regret to learn about the occasional scenes in the guestroom as mentioned. Though regular maintenance is carried out for each guestroom, rest assured that we will look into these situations seriously and ensure all hotel facilities and rooms are well-maintained.

While we provide accurate and detailed information on our official website, our guests are always welcome to contact our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Team for any concerns or enquiries. Please also be ensured that all front line staff will be reminded to render exceptional services under any circumstances. Matthew, our rooms will be renovated soon, with a facelift we hope to welcoming you back for a promising experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is in a nice spot across from the Happy valley racecourse, right on the tramline and a short walk to causeway bay MTR station. Plus they run regular shuttle buses to the MTR station and also to Hong Kong MTR/airport express station.

Rooms were a bit small, but it is HK! Service was generally pretty good, although the hard sell on the room upgrade at check-in wasn't that pleasant. They didn't even want to offer a discount for a week.

I'd stay here again, but I'd also look around as well before deciding to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a view of the cemetary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The best option here, for us, is always a De Luxe room with Causeway Bay view. Forget the 'Standard' rooms. We walked into one once and walked straight out again.
The Guest Services Managers (I think I'm in love with Agnes), Bell Captains and room attendants are all very willing and capable.
Breakfast has a wide selection (both European and Chinese), but do stay away from the bacon - unless you prefer yours boiled, stringy and tough.
The hotel's shuttle bus services to Times Square (Causeway Bay) and to Admiralty/Central (inckuding the Airport Express train) are a definite plus, although an extension to Star Ferry (Central) would certainly be welcome.
The Cosmopolitan has an "individual" flavor all its own, and it is one which suits me, and many other people, admirably.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestschmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is located right between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, everything is within easy reach. Most importantly, there is free shuttle bus!
I took it almost every day to get to Causeway By MTR station, super convenient!
The service is very good too, staff is always wearing smile on their face, which makes me feel like home. I did enjoy staying here very much and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katemoss31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in The Cosmopolitan from 5-8th February 2013 and were very pleased with the accommodation and service. We had an executive room with racecourse view on the 16th floor, very clean and impressive. Reception were very helpful and efficient, particularly Alison, who arranged for my wife's bag, which she left on the airport shuttle, to be retreived that same night! We were also able to delay our check out, without difficulty, to accommodate a late evening flight. We had breakfast in the hotel, which was good although the buffet dishes were not always as hot as the should be, but this was more than made up for by the excellent, made to order, omlettes!
The hotel is central, close to public transport and with its own shuttle bus service.It was clean,well staffed and has an air of efficiency.I would happily recommend The Cosmopolitan to anyone travelling to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iannitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,433 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,810 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,521 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $99 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing