We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #112 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

No, I don't mean us. The room and was filthy. We upgraded (ourselves) to a suite because the regular room was so tired and dingy. It was better but I was shocked at how rough it was. First, let me say that we have lived in HK so we know the range of cleanliness to expect and we are well travelled, so this is not an exaggerated comment. We loved the complimentary water next to the dried noodles stuck to the wall and sink.
We also took issue with the poor quality food at breakfast. It was the same thing that you can warm up in the 7 eleven microwave. In Asia, let alone HK, this is not acceptable.
Finally, the location. Can't believe we made this mistake. Yeah you can walk to the MTR but what an unpleasant start to your morning and if you have a family as we did or have appointments, good luck getting a taxi.
To sum up: it's cheap! but consider the drawbacks. Nuff said.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Anna,

We trust the upgrade to a suite room with a little extra cost has given you a far more spacious and enjoyable stay for your family. While all guestrooms are well-appointed with an array of amenities and facilities, we thank for your valuable feedbacks and will further review with management to ensure good sanitization and cleanliness in all rooms in the future. Regarding the breakfast, thank you for your comments as well and we will definitely continue to improve food variety and quality to give all travelers a delightful morning.

While Cosmopolitan Hotel is located amid city centers – Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, we hope you had tried our complimentary shuttle services which bring guests to 15 major attractions including the Causeway Bay MTR station and shopping malls like IFC and Pacific Place. Having said that, our Concierge team is always happy to arrange taxi for our guests upon requested. We sincerely hope to serve you a much better stay and deliver you the greatest value of money in the soon future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 3,202 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

First of all if you get it with a price with a special 7 days deal -30% off with breacfast and wi fi ( but it's wi fi is not free i found- you have to pat even if it's free 12HK $ anyway, not much but ..) it's a good deal for HK!
It's located not bad , close to the center of everything, but if you want and like to walk around and use an mtr or bus it's not a very convenient by walk. Actually they offer a shuttle service , but we used it juct once to the HK station. So by walk it takes for about 20 min to get to Causewaybay mtr station with using subway with lots of stairs. The breacfast was ok, not bad,but not many choices and if you arrive after 9am there was a line , better to come before 8:30am, not many people and better choice of food. Our deluxe city view room was a decent size, big and comfortable bad, good city view, complimentery water, sleepers and bathrobes, all needed stuff in bathroom. But the room was a little dated, the bathroom was really tiny and the floor was slippery when it's wet.
They don't offer early check in if you arrive earlier than 2pm. They try to ask you a deposit +50% of your entire amount of stay bycash or card even if you offer them to pay the full amount in advance.
Finally it was decent hotel for the price we 've got, not bad location and service compare the price, nothing so bad.
I can reccomend it if you find a good deal for money.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe city or court view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Kristina,

We are glad to know that you found our hotel value for money with special promotional packages including free wifi and breakfast. As for the free wifi service, appreciated your understanding that the HK$12 service charges are charged by the internet service provider instead of the hotel. While Cosmopolitan offers guests convenient access to major destinations including Causeway Bay MTR station, Admiralty, Central and Hong Kong station for airport express etc. through free shuttle services, we hope you have also found the series of local restaurants and shops worth visiting during the short walk towards Causeway Bay MTR station.

Regret to know that it took you sometimes waiting for breakfast due to high occupancy during your stay, we would like to thank you for comments on food choices and will definitely make improvement on it. Same for the early check-in (which is normally at 2 pm), we also appreciated your kind understanding that we were not able to accommodate that probably due to tight hotel situation on your day of arrival. As normal check-in procedures, we ask our guests for deposit only to guarantee any extra charges like mini-bar usage during their stay. Such deposit will only be charged upon actual consumption at time of check-out, if no consumption is made, the deposit will be refunded. We hope you had talked to our Guest Service Manager on the spot for clarification. Regarding the guestroom, it’s great to know that you love the room view and amenities we offered. Meanwhile, what we are going to share with you is that our bathrooms’ renovation is actually in the pipeline now and will surly give you a promising stay upon return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 7am after a 14 hour flight and as expected, there was no room available. Reception gave us towels and access to the health centre where we had a very welcome shower. We then went out for a walk and breakfast and our room was ready on return. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and had a great view over the racecourse.

Breakfast was buffet style and covered both eastern and western tastes very well. The coffee was freshly ground and very tasty.

The only thing i did not like was in order to access WIFI you had to go down to the lobby or face paying a ridiculously expensive amount to have it in your room.

All in all a very clean, centrally located comfortable hotel.

1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located on Hong Kong Island and less than 5 min by taxi from Star Ferry terminal this hotel is a good base for your Hong Kong visit.

PROS:
- Good,clean and affordable rooms
- Free shult buss to nearby Time Square (Shopping mall) and also to other locations such the Airport Express train station (the far best way to get to/from the airport. You can check in already at the train station when leaving)
- Even Chinese only speaking taxi drivers can find the way to the hotel if you also tell them to drive to 'Happy Valley' (the racing track across the street from the Hotell)
- Small gym.

CONS:
- Internet connection not free and a bit difficult to connect. Come on guys!
- Annoying houskeeping staff knocking on all doors in the morning. Make sure to put up the 'Do not disturb sign'
- Breakfast about average and a bit on the pricey side

Room Tip: On each floor there are one (at least) very small room very close to the elevator. Avoid these if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Lars,

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable with us! We are sure you had a great time here in Hong Kong with our well-appointed rooms and convenient shuttle services. While our Housekeeping staff always offer prompt services to guests upon requested and room replenishment on daily basis when there is no “Do Not Disturb” sign, all of them will be reminded to pay more attentions to individual guest’s preference so as to avoid possible over-disturbance. Thank you for your comments on breakfast as well and we will make continuous improvement on food choices and quality to deliver great values of money.

While flexible daily/ hourly internet rates are available for in-room high speed internet access, guests can now enjoy this service for free through booking via our official website. We are also working on the upgrade on internet speed for an even more promising online experience. I hope you had the chance to relate this Internet speed issue to our Guest Services Manager for immediate assistance on the spot. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed from the 21 Sept 12 to 9 Oct 12 on the 19th floor.(smoking). I paid extra for a BAY view but even on the 19th floor there was no view of a bay, only the city skyline. had I had a room on the other side of the hotel I could have had a wonderful view of the HK cemeteries.
The room was fine and certainly large enough. service was good. The restaurant was Chinese fare only and on the occasions that I used it the food was excellent but but very few patrons.
The "Bar" was pathetic, a hole in the wall with only the chairs in reception to sit and relax. Unfortunately these were filled with people using laptops and ipads.
A steady walk downhill takes you to the Wan Chai district, busy most days and occasionlly frantic at night. Tram access to all areas was good.
I might stay there again for a short visit but would look further for anything over 3 days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Taffemag,

Trust you had a great stay here with our well-appointed guestroom, excellent service and good food offered. Apart from the Deluxe Causeway Bay City View Room, Deluxe Course View Room with a beautiful view is also available at Cosmopolitan to ensure a feast to the eyes. We hope you will book this room on your next visit and be impressed with it.

We believe you are talking about our 3T bar located in the lobby which offers guests a quick drink on daily basis. Regret to know that the seats are a bit filled due to busy hotel situation during your stay. Alternatively, Nooch Bar at our sister hotel Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong (which is just few buildings away) are available for a perfect chill-out venue and award-winning cocktails. Taffemag, we hope our convenient location has brought you easy access towards different entertainment spots in Wan Chai and other areas. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope you will have chance to take our free shuttle towards 15 major destinations in Hong Kong too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Cosmopolitan Hotel is the best... i find Cosmopolitan hotel is one of a kind hotel experience in my travels in Asia. There are a lot of good experience you can't forget. kind staff, good services, nice breakfast, shuttle bus services around the city is one way to save money in transportation. Job well done. Keep it up guys! Cosmopolitan Hotel... "Ikaw na!" famous tag line in our country meaning: You are the ONE!

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosManalansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

PROs: very friendly hotel staff, the relatively good price.

CONS:
- the hotel is right by a huge intersection of suspension bridges and so you have unobstructed view of the heavy traffic (which I don't remember anyone mentioning)

- Incredible small and badly plan shower booth. Not only does it barely fit a person (western size), but it also has a cloth shower curtain which makes it very difficult not to splash water all over the bathroom. Additionally, the bathroom sink soap comes in a very unfortunate form: it's liquid and comes into one of those tiny bottles (the way the shampoo usually does) which makes it very unpractical to use. Suggestion: put a soap bar, no matter how tiny.

- very badly organized breakfast - no matter what time you arrive, the breakfast room is always full, which the hotel staff "fixed" by providing additional sitting into a "VIP" room. The problem is that the VIP room does not hold at any time any breakfast items, not even coffee, which means you'll constantly have to pace between the two areas to get food while trying to navigate between the people that are either standing in line for breakfast themselves or waiting for the elevator, people who don't necessarily get out of your way. (I guess this says more about the kind of people that stay there than the hotel itself, but I think this could be avoided with better organization on the hotel part). Oh, and don't forget to bring your breakfast vouchers with you (they are provided upon check-in) otherwise, even though you might have the breakfast included in your room fare, you might end up being charged for it.

- average or below average breakfast, and I don't necessarily mean the variety, but more toward the quality. There's always a huge line for a hot omelet, and the scrambled eggs - the scrambled eggs that were offered as an alternative, were cold and totally unappetizing.

- extremely expensive fee for a Chinese VIsa (there is a travel desk in the hotel lobby). The quoted price for a one-entry visa was 1,560 HK dollars. Even considering you get it in 24h, it's still a very prohibitive price. There are other places in Hong Kong that can get you that for less money (I remember seeing an agency on Nathan road doing it for 350 HK dollars)

- slow and crowded elevators

Room Tip: Higher floor room, although even that it's not what it's cracked out to be (our Deluxe Cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freudestrahlend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Romania,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Apart from the room that comes with the view of city skyline and avenue, we hope you will give our Deluxe Course View room a try next time for a breathtaking greenery view of Happy Valley racecourse. On the other hand, well noted your feedbacks regarding the bathroom and we’re happy to share with you that its renovation is in the pipeline right now. We will take your advice on bathroom amenities for possible improvement together with the new face of bathroom which will definitely offer you a refreshing experience upon next return.

Regret to hear about your unpleasant experience during breakfast. In order to cater high demands during breakfast time, we have thoughtfully arrange additional venues in addition to the restaurant itself. While extra tea and coffee making facilities are available at these rooms, appreciated your kind understanding that food counter is kept in the restaurant to ensure fresh and hot food items. Having said that, we value your comments on food quality and we will seek for continuous improvement on it. Same for the elevator issue, we apologize for any inconvenience caused to you due to high occupancy during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,726 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#142 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,421 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,469 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $106 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing