We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff were very helpful, generally were efficient and were cheerful. We were there at a very busy time but nothing was a trouble.
We arrived quite late at night and were surprised to open the blind in the morning to a view of the cemetery. After the initial shock, we rather liked it - lots of greenery. We meant to go and have a wander around but just didn't make it.
The hotel is very close to the tram and not far from a train station so it's very easy to get around.
We ate at the hotel twice - once for dinner and once for breakfast. Dinner was pricey but very good - didn't mind paying the price. Breakfast wasn't a highlight! We asked for a continental breakfast and were told we could have breads and cereal. The breads consisted of white sliced bread and very very hard rolls. The cereals were corn flakes and something similar. However, I asked if I could have yoghurt and fruit instead - which they agreed to. We had much better (and cheaper) breakfasts out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and at the back of the hotel as they are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    1,409
    580
    162
    72
See reviews for
906
733
251
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel beginning of September. The staff, from reservation to check-out were very efficient and friendly. Clean room, good breakfast. There is a tram stop just across the street and they offer shuttle bus to strategic points of the Island. Room rates are reasonable. I intend to go back to Hong Kong in the future and I will not hesitate to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariLise05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Exceptionally helpful and welcoming staff. Nothing too much trouble. Clean, very comfortable rooms with super air-conditioning (particularly welcome in summer). Wide range of food for breakfast, well-cooked and served. Pleasant breakfast room. Would not hesitate to stay again and happy to recommend to family and friends. Would suit business or leisure trips. Good location for exploring HK.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Hong Kong Racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks, England
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here with hubby at the end of our asia trip - celebrating our 4th Wedding Anniversary.
Arrived Monday 10th September 2012 - 2 nights stay at the hotel.

Taxi to hotel in about an hour from the airport – arrived about 8:45pm and we got one of the best greetings from the guest services manager, Louis Chan. Our bags were whisked away and on asking whether we had eaten yet we said we hadn’t – so Louis printed out a map to get to the best dim sum place in town – proved to be very right (and cheap) indeed. Not sure what the travel agent told the hotel – they knew it was our anniversary – as I emailed them to let them know. But we got another upgrade to a Deluxe room with Race Course view. It was a corner room – and there was a bottle of red wine waiting for us. How wonderful.

Bed was very comfy - plenty of storage - not that we really unpacked for 2 nights- coffee making facilities, hair dryer, etc.

Great view of the dual carriageway below - no really - fascinating to watch in rush hour at night - 11 floors up - so could not hear anything. Could also see the vast racecourse across the road too.

The breakfasts were a mix of western staples and chinese - dim sum and noodles etc and very filling.

All front of house staff were helpful when we asked about how to get places, booking taxis, and were even able to help us when we lost the e-tickets for our flights home - and helped with online check in and printing off new tickets - saving us a lot of headache at the airport later.

Tuesday we did the Peak on the tram, the escalators in the mid-levels - star ferry to Kowloon and Avenue of Stars.

We ate at View 62 - will be reviewing that properly soon - but it's an incredible experience. On the same road at the hotel - about a 10 min cab ride. 62 floors up - revolving amongst the HK skyline at night - WOW! and that's just the view .,... the food --- well see my review - if you like innovation and fun....

Wednesday - our flight was at 00:45 on the Thursday - so in theory we had another full day - and the Cosmopolitan was VERY accomodating. We had a late check out at 2pm --- so enough time to have breakfast - pack - visit the noonday gun - check out and leave our cases with the concierge.

We explored central, more of kowloon and at 8pm saw the skyline come to life from the Avenue of Stars - looking back to Hong Kong Island. It's 10 mins and the lights and lazers are good fun to music. Film it if you can. We got there 7pm - and it was worth waiting - as the crowds do build up. Wednesday night is also the night it's narrated in English - pinpointing the buildings.

We returned to the hotel via star ferry and cab ride - 9pm - and were allowed to use the gym and changing room to freshen up, shower, and change clothes before we headed to the airport. I left a note for Louis and his great team and thanked him for the welcome, help with dinner that first night and the assistance we recieved with the late checkout etc.

For HK Island - it's in a mix of busy location - not quite central - but the green of Happy Valley gives it a sense of calm too. Shame we did not have time to see the first races of the season!

Would reccommend this hotel for business & couples.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room with a Race Course View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I liked this hotel. We had a family room with 2 queen beds. It was tight but adequate for a family of 4. Staff were friendly and efficient. 2 things to comment on. Our package included free Internet allegedly. When I tried to login, the browser advised there was a 'service charge' of 12 HKD per 24 hours per device. Guys - this ISN'T free. This is a nominal charge, but nevertheless a charge. Restaurant was good for breakfast. We were going to have dinner there one night but there was no child menu and it seemed pretty pricey. This isn't a complaint - obviously how they are marketing it which is no issue, just didn't suit what we were after.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoInSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear JolnSing,

Thank you for your feedbacks. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us at our favorite Family Quad Room. The Family Quad Room measures a spacious 32 sq. meters, accommodating up to 4 adults or 2 adults with 2 kids altogether in one room, which save guests a lot in reserving 2 separate rooms! It is also delightful that you have received great hospitality from our professional guest service team during your stay, Cosmopolitan Hotel has actually been awarded Tripadvisor’s Certificate of Excellence in 2012 for its outstanding services. Regarding the internet issue, while the internet is free, the service charge is actually imposed by the internet service provider but not the hotel, for this we appreciate your kind understanding. On the other hand, It’s great to know that you found our breakfast delicious. Thank you again for your comment regarding the food choices for child, we will review and keep on improving on food quality and variety to deliver great values to our guests. We look forward to serve you a better stay upon next return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The real reason for writing this is to comment on other reviews that implied that some hotel rooms have a view of a cemetry and this is a bad thing,
My room did indeed have a view of the cemetry - to these British eyes, though, the style was alien and actually made for an intriguing view. One of the better views from a city hotel I've had.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMattCarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. In additional to the historical churchyard view, Cosmopolitan Hotel actually comprises of guestrooms of great views of city skyline and breath-taking greenery racecourse views, which have been given a thumb up by many of our guests as well. We highly recommend you to try one of these upon your next return for a different experience with us. Don’t forget to visit our official website for exclusive offers like free wifi at guestrooms and free breakfast for future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Room is a nice size with a comfy bed, breakfast included was a buffet with a nice selection of east and west dishes to choose from. many windows have film instead of a view. Free wi-fi is only in lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachyl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Rachyl,

Thanks for your comments. Cosmopolitan comprises of 8 categories sizing up to 48 sq. meters giving our guests a comfortable accommodation. We use high quality Simmons mattress in every guestrooms to ensure our guests a good sleep especially after long flights. Although some of the rooms come with frosted window for a design touch, most of our guestrooms offer great views of our city skyline and the greenery of the racecourse for different guests’ preferences. To cater international travelers like you, our breakfast not only combined both east and western selections of dishes but also offering an cook-to-order eggs services every day. We are happy to s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,644 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#142 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,409 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing