We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I liked this hotel. We had a family room with 2 queen beds. It was tight but adequate for a family of 4. Staff were friendly and efficient. 2 things to comment on. Our package included free Internet allegedly. When I tried to login, the browser advised there was a 'service charge' of 12 HKD per 24 hours per device. Guys - this ISN'T free. This is a nominal charge, but nevertheless a charge. Restaurant was good for breakfast. We were going to have dinner there one night but there was no child menu and it seemed pretty pricey. This isn't a complaint - obviously how they are marketing it which is no issue, just didn't suit what we were after.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoInSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear JolnSing,

Thank you for your feedbacks. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us at our favorite Family Quad Room. The Family Quad Room measures a spacious 32 sq. meters, accommodating up to 4 adults or 2 adults with 2 kids altogether in one room, which save guests a lot in reserving 2 separate rooms! It is also delightful that you have received great hospitality from our professional guest service team during your stay, Cosmopolitan Hotel has actually been awarded Tripadvisor’s Certificate of Excellence in 2012 for its outstanding services. Regarding the internet issue, while the internet is free, the service charge is actually imposed by the internet service provider but not the hotel, for this we appreciate your kind understanding. On the other hand, It’s great to know that you found our breakfast delicious. Thank you again for your comment regarding the food choices for child, we will review and keep on improving on food quality and variety to deliver great values to our guests. We look forward to serve you a better stay upon next return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

The real reason for writing this is to comment on other reviews that implied that some hotel rooms have a view of a cemetry and this is a bad thing,
My room did indeed have a view of the cemetry - to these British eyes, though, the style was alien and actually made for an intriguing view. One of the better views from a city hotel I've had.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank TheMattCarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. In additional to the historical churchyard view, Cosmopolitan Hotel actually comprises of guestrooms of great views of city skyline and breath-taking greenery racecourse views, which have been given a thumb up by many of our guests as well. We highly recommend you to try one of these upon your next return for a different experience with us. Don’t forget to visit our official website for exclusive offers like free wifi at guestrooms and free breakfast for future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Room is a nice size with a comfy bed, breakfast included was a buffet with a nice selection of east and west dishes to choose from. many windows have film instead of a view. Free wi-fi is only in lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachyl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Rachyl,

Thanks for your comments. Cosmopolitan comprises of 8 categories sizing up to 48 sq. meters giving our guests a comfortable accommodation. We use high quality Simmons mattress in every guestrooms to ensure our guests a good sleep especially after long flights. Although some of the rooms come with frosted window for a design touch, most of our guestrooms offer great views of our city skyline and the greenery of the racecourse for different guests’ preferences. To cater international travelers like you, our breakfast not only combined both east and western selections of dishes but also offering an cook-to-order eggs services every day. We are happy to s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 7 nights from 16th of September 2012. Room with city view also overlooking Happy Valley. Convenient for races on Wednesday evening, 8 minute walk to Times Square, MRT Causeway Bay, Bus stops outside and Tram over the road. Shops and Market 5 minutes walk. Room was well serviced and clean (Fresh Linen and Towels daily along with replacement water and toiletries) Not the best breakfast we have had, but a good selection of Western and Chinese food. The only downside to breakfast was the food in the baymaries was often cold. All in all a good value hotel for Hong Kong would stay again.

Room Tip: Chose High Floor with City and Racecourse view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The standard rooms are very small, however as we did not plan on staying in our room for any length of time we did not upgrade to a superior room with a view over the horseracing stadium across the road.

The hotel staff were really helpful and there was an excellent choice of courtesy buses (5) which took you to the most popular destinations on Hong Kong island.

Although the hotel is located at the junction of 2 major roads, there was very little noise to be heard at night. we really appreciated that the hotel was not more central as the noise would have been a problem.

Housekeeping wasn't up to scratch, but was put right when mentioned to the concierge.

The standard room didn't have any decent storage space, but had an adequate ensuite bathroom with bath and shower.

Room Tip: if you plan on spending time in your room (rather than just sleeping there) ask to be upgraded to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghShoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A very very very good ( best ) place to stay in Hong Kong. Service is the best, good food, warm staff, good location very near the " OCEAN PARK ". All you need in a hotel is very much available and their service is very fast.

Room Tip: Course view is good cause aside from the " Happy valley " you can see the city from a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good locatoin in Wan Chai part of town. Very clean and comfortable hotel that is also a very good value. The front desk staff and manager provided excellent, friendly serivce and made an extra effort to please you with all your needs. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_Vegas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,807 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,521 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#116 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $98 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing