We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #111 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Located opposite the Happy Valley Stadium and within 10-15min walking distance of Times Square this hotel is a must for those travelling to HK but can't quite afford luxury hotel prices. Staff were faultless in their customer service, from the very helpful bellboys to the Hotel Manager Ronald Cheung, who even provided complimentary chocolates for our room for Chinese New Year and gave comprehensive information on the best restaurants in the area.

In short, the positives:

* Excellent and helpful staff at all levels
* Decent sized room with excellent pillows and bed quality (size and comfort)
* Bathroom was clean, decent shower and all toiletries provided
* Excellent breakfast with just about every choice imagineable (dim sum, congee, continental style pastries, breads, meats and cheese, cereals, english-style cooked breakfast, waffles and pancakes)
* Good location within 10-15mins walk of Times Square (and metro links)
* Didn't use the complimentary shuttle bus but this was always around and timetable clearly labelled in lift lobby

The not-so-goods:

* Our room didn't have a bath - that said, some rooms may do and if that is important then contact the hotel as some rooms may have

* No free wi-fi in room - only free wi-fi in lobby/restaurant which is a shame. That said, this is common in HK and in some luxury hotels it is not free at all, so credit to the Cosmopolitan for offering it free in some areas.

* Could have done with a slightly bigger wardrobe area/some drawers for our clothes (a minor quibble)


My tips:

* Get a room with a Causeway Bay view - the view is impressive and rear-facing rooms (i'm told) have frosted windows.

* Pay the extra in advance for the breakfast, which for us was worth it.


Conclusion:

Great mid-budget hotel close to the action and transport links. Clean, efficient and attentive service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

While appreciating your kind comments to us, I am also delighted to respond to some improvement space which has been mentioned. As a 4 star contemporary hotel in town, Cosmopolitan Hotel offers 8 different room types including bath in the selected shower room, to allow our guests have better understanding before check in, an floor layout, in room facilities are all noted on the our official website. I am also delighted to share that the shower bath room will be renovated in selected guest room in order to provide better accommodation environment to our guests in late of 2012.

Free WiFi is available in all public area including lobby, tourist desk, 3T bar and its patio area, and hotel restaurant. although the guest room internet access requires access fee which is priced in lined with Hong Kong hotel standard, we do provided exceeded 50 mbp ultra high speed internet services which is 7.6 times faster compare to general city hotels in town, furthermore, the hotel also provide 100 percent money back guarantee to ensure our quality commitment. I am looking forward to your next stay and to experience our exceed accommodation service again in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,178)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 3,178 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Decent size rooms (for Hong Kong) however we were in the rooms which faced the graveyard (but the hotel covered this with opaque blinds so you couldnt see anything out of the windows - couldnt even open for fresh air!). Apart from this, our stay was a pleasant one, good for travellers who wish to stay on the hong kong island side. Although there was a free shuttle bus service to Times Sq it was actually quicker to walk there rather than wait and queue for the bus. We stayed for 10 nights with a 6 month baby and it was a great location for us. The baby cot we requested took some time to arrive in our room and the baby linen was very used and dirty (so if you have young children, bring your own sheets like we did). The maid who cleaned our room was very friendly and polite as were the rest of the hotel staff. Overall, a great place for a good price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmasters8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments. by locating on the interaction of Causeway bay and Wan Chai, Cosmopolitan is advantageously surrounded by a piece of Oasis. Despite of the historical churchyard and the upscale residential south Hong Kong, the hotel also embraces the magnificent skyline with greenery Happy Valley view. with international travelers in mind, we do respect guest from different cultural and heritage, therefore, partial guest rooms of south side are offered both clear window view and fashionable frosted window as option. for your information, the window are required to be locked 24 hours for safety issue due to most of Hong Kong buildings are skyscrapers.

Cosmopolitan is named as one of the family friendly hotel in town. that says we provide the most needed family amenities from kids robe, slipper, toys to the designate kids box are tailor made for our beloved children visitors. I however apologize that you had found the unusual dirty baby linen when requested it, for that matter we have detail-briefed our housekeeping yet control all linen quality for all guests. it is also my kind advise to our guests to always contact our guest services manager which is 24 hours on shift so that also allow us to act for immediate adjustment.

The complimentary shuttle bus contains 5 routes to 15 destinations, all schedule are fixed in time table which is easy for our guest to plan for a day. you are correct, it is also short walking distance to Causeway Bay, I am looking forward to your soonest return and experiences our other hot spots such as Wan Chai, Admiralty and Central. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here for an MBA study abroad trip with my university for 2 weeks. The rooms were very small but nice. The room categories really matter, so choose accordingly. The bathrooms were solid, the water pressure was great, and the pillows were very soft. I only had breakfast in the hotel lobby and it was a mixture of traditional Chinese and international flavor, all served in a buffet style. They will seat you with strangers - which I enjoyed. The hotel is right across the street from the Jockey Club but is hard to get to from the Times Square area - lots of steps (which I enjoyed but others may not). Its close proximity to Wan Chai district is what I enjoyed the most - as there are many good restaurants, night markets, and shops in this area. Also, bus stops are right outside the hotel and will take you anywhere you want to go on the island. MTR stations are about a 15 minute walk either way.

There is a cemetery that is very beautiful at the back of the hotel so if you don't like this feature, you may not want to stay here. There is free WIFI in the lobby and the service is really good, including the housekeeping staff. One other comment - it can be very noisy as the walls are very thin. Just be aware of these things before you go.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side of the hotel if you want any kind of view at all - on the south side...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brejen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Cosmopolitan Hotel offers 8 room types including the cozy standard room with clear window view and fashionable frosted window, for guests who speaks spaces, our Executive Quad Room and Executive Suite which measures a spacious 48 square metres / 520 square feet, each suite has a separate dining and living area, pantry with a microwave oven and a bathroom with separate bathtub and massage shower cubicle. our Deluxe Course View Room on the other hand offers a magnificent skyline with greenery Happy Valley view.

I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast, the arrangement of joining our guests at the same table would only due to high occupancy, which will also be arranged when agreed by our guests as well. we otherwise would always advise our guests to join our breakfast later when shorter queue. Although a sleepless city like Hong Kong might caused inconveniences noise, we do encourage our guests to contact our Guest Services Manager if disturbing the quality of stay.

Last but not least, the hotel is well located on the interaction of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, which says the walking distance for both 10 and 8 minutes to each place. To pamper our guests, a complimentary shuttle bus scheduled every 20 min to Times Square is also available. not to forget our other destination from Wan Chai, Admiralty to Central. stay with us, you are staying at 15 destinations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was where me and my friends stayed during the barclays premier asia trophy,in the summer. Fantastic hotel,just had a standard room,room was very comfortable and very clean.
Downstairs there was a separate desk to book excursions for all the attractions in and around hk. The buffet breakfast each morning was great only mistake i made was not adding that to the price of the room as it made it way cheaper that way! Gym was fantastic hardly used by other people and you got a city view when you worked out. Nice little cafe/bar outside to sit and watch everyone rush by. Lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: standard rooms either come smoking or no smoking. Make sure you add the buffet breakfast to your co...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Being aware of how small rooms and bathrooms are in Hong Kong hotel, I was expecting the worst. I was very surprised, the rooms were a great size and the bathroom was an average size which I did not mind.

Chic decor, and the ipod dock was very handy. The replacement of bottled water daily was extremely appreciated in the humidity of HK summer. The location of the hotel was also great, as taxis were cheap to and from Central HK.

The only downside of the room was the blocked window. Apparently the room faced a cemetary so we couldn't see out of the window. But the room was so perfect this did not bother me.

Great hotel for a short break in Hong Kong! Considering staying here again for an upcoming trip in February, but rates have increased unfortunately!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiran_a123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind comment to us. whilst delightfully learning your satisfaction on our rooming facilities and services, I would also like to introduce you the hotel which categorized in 8 different room types in order to meet guests’ needs. aside from the cozy standard room that you stayed in, we also offer the Deluxe Course View Room which embraces the skyline and the breath taking greenery Happy Valley view, one of the most popular Family Quad Room which can accommodate up to 4 guests at the same time, and the Executive Suite measures a spacious 48 square metres / 520 square feet. Each suite has a separate dining and living area, pantry with a microwave oven and a bathroom with separate bathtub and massage shower cubicle. to achieve the goal of being flexible for our guests, rooms face to the south beauty Hong Kong side and historical churchyard is offer with both fashionable frosted window and clear window view as option for our Standard Room guests.

For your information, Cosmopolitan is known as one of the most reasonable price hotel in Hong Kong, with our best rate guarantee online promotion, we encourage our guests to visit our official website and look for the most suitable package for your stay.

I am looking forward to your soonest return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was a last minute trip with little planning. Hotel price was most important as well as closeness to HK Convention Center. My room was exceptionally small but adequate - everything worked fine and it was clean. Hotel restaurant food and service were very good but expensive. Major issue was convenience of hotel to immediate attractions such as other restaurants and shopping - nothing close by. Very conveninet free hotel shuttle was terrific and easy to use. Hotel personnel were very nice as well.

Room Tip: My corner room was exceptionally small and the bed was too hard for my liking.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffreyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for your comment. Cosmopolitan Hotel offers 8 different room types to meet guests’ needs. to avoid from negative surprise, a room dimension as well as floor plan of each room type is specifically showcased on hotel official website for guests’ reference. the cozy standard is design in comfort for guest of two while our family quad room is capable to accommodate 4 guests at the same time, speaking of spaciously, our executive suite measures a spacious 48 square metres / 520 square feet. Each suite has a separate dining and living area, pantry with a microwave oven and a bathroom with separate bathtub and massage shower cubicle.

The newly opened He Jiang restaurant locates at Cosmopolitan Hotel serves Sichuan and Huai-yang cuisines, the restaurant is give price in line with standard 4 star hotel in Hong Kong, but definitely give you a 5 star dining and serving quality in return.

With international travelers in mind, we do understand how important a quality sleep could bring a good memory down the road, to that end, all hotel mattress are specifically chose in high quality from famous Simmons, in order to meet guests’ preference of mattress softness, an additional toppers are always available for our guests on requests.

For your information, by locating on the interaction of Causeway bay and Wan Chai, Cosmopolitan advantageously locates embraces the rare quietness in the city spot. Only 8 minute and 5 minute walking distance to both locations where the major shopping and dining area locate at. as you’ve mentioned our courtesy complimentary shuttle bus services contains 5 routs to 15 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, admiralty to Central, stay with Cosmopolitan, you are also stay in 15 destinations. I am hoping to welcoming your soonest return and to discover more possibility for your accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

HDTDC paid for the room, my only charge was incidentals. Internet is 133 HK 24 hours day. Its much cheaper to get a prepaid card, for 24 HK$ a day. Nice clean room, lots of small cool eateries in the area. Everything in HK is overpriced now.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your comment. while appreciate your positive comments to our guest room and location, I am also delighted to share our internet services which is offering 50 mpb ultra high speed access which is 7.6 times faster than normal speed. the internet charge is however in line with Hong Kong hotel standards, with our commitment, guest could even received 100% money back guarantee if found lack of internet quality. in addition, guest could always enjoy free WiFi service in all public area surrounding the hotel including the lobby, restaurant and 3T Bar. I am looking forward to your return in the near future and allow us to provide you a more in-depth Cosmopolitan experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,683 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#140 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,417 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,952 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $103 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing